UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Zoology Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Arthropods | Birds | Fishes | Mammals | Reptiles and Amphibians

Major Reference Works

General Zoology

Animal Identification: A Reference Guide (3 volumes)
REF Z 7994 .I34 .A54

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America [Remote access - UVM only]

Dictionary of Zoology [Remote access - UVM only]

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity (5 volumes)
REF QH 541.15 .B56 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (20 volumes)
REF QH 302.5 .E525 2002

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (17 volumes)
REF QL 3 .G7813

International Code of Zoological Nomenclature, 3rd edition
REF QL 353 .I57 1985

Latin Names Explained: A Guide to the Scientific Classification of Reptiles, Birds and Mammals
REF QL .G68 1996

Source-Book of Biological Names and Terms, 3rd edition
REF QH 83 .J3 1955

Synopsis and Classification of Living Organisms (2 volumes)
REF QH 83 .S89

Arthropods

American Insects: A Handbook of the Insects of America North of Mexico
REF QL 474 .A76 1985

Arthropoda: Habits, Functional, Morphology, and Evolution
QL 434 .M36

Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Insects and Spiders
REF QL 473 .M54 1980

Biology of Crustacea
QL 435 .B48

Butterflies East of the Great Plains
REF QL 549 .O64 1984

Classification of Insects: A Key to the Living and Extinct Families of Insects, and to the Living Families of Other Terrestrial Arthropods
QL 1 .H3 vol. 73

Dictionary of Entomology
REF QL 462.3 .L43 1976

Encyclopedia of Butterflies
REF QL 541.5 .F44 1993

Encyclopedia of Insects
REF QL 462.3 .E53 2003

Field Guide to the Moths of Eastern North America
REF QL 551 .A75 .C68 198

Insects of the World
REF QL 463 .W876 1984

Birds

Audubon Society Encyclopedia of North American Birds
REF QL 681 .T43 1980

Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Birds: Eastern Region
REF QL 681 .B77

Avian Biology (9 volumes)
QL 673 .A9

Bird Tracks and Sign: A Guide to North American Species
REF QL 681 .E42 2001

Birds of North America
REF QL 681 .B625
Index

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Ornithology
REF QL 672.2 .C36 1991

Check-List of North America Birds: Species of Birds of North America from the Artic through Panama, Including the West Indies and Hawaiian Islands
REF QL 681 .C52 1998

Dictionary of Scientific Bird Names
REF QL 677 .J55 1991

Distribution and Taxonomy of Birds of the World
REF QL 678 .S54 1990

Field Guide to the Birds: A Completely New Guide to All the Birds of Eastern and Central North America, 4th edition
REF QL 681 .P45 1980

Field Guide to the Birds of North America
REF QL 681 .F53 1983

Howard and Moore Complete Checklist of the Birds of the World
REF QL 677 .H75 2003

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Birds: The Definitive Reference to Birds of the World
REF QL 673 .I45 1990

Fishes

Atlas of North American Freshwater Fishes
REF QL 625 .A84

Field Guide to Freshwater Fishes: North America North of Mexico
REF QL 627 .P34 1991

Fishes: A Field and Laboratory Manual on Their Structure, Identification, and Natural History
QL 639 .C218 1996

Fishes of the World, 3rd edition
REF QL 618 .N4 1994

Freshwater Fishes of the Northeastern United States: A Field Guide
QL 628 .N92 .W47 2004

List of Common and Scientific Names of Fishes from the United States and Canada, 4th edition
REF QL 618 .L57 1980

Multilingual Dictionary of Fish and Fish Products
REF QL 614.7 .M84 1995

Regulatory Fish Encyclopedia (RFE)

Mammals

Asdell's Patterns of Mammalian Reproduction: A Compendium of Species-Specific Data
REF QP 251 .H33 1993

Encyclopedia of Mammals, 2nd edition
REF QL 701.2 .E53 1998

Field Guide to Animal Tracks, 2nd edition
QL 768 .M87 1974

Field Guide to the Mammals: Field Marks of All North American Species Found North of Mexico, 3rd edition
QL 715 .B8 1976

Handbook to the Orders and Families of Living Mammals, 2nd edition
REF QL 703 .L38 1979

Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Mammals (5 volumes)
REF QL 701 .G7913 1990

Mammal Species of the World: A Taxonomic and Geographic Reference
REF QL 708 .M35 1993

Mammals of North America, 2nd edition
REF QL 715 .H15 1981

Mammals of the Eastern United States, 3rd edition
REF QL 719 .E23 .W49 1998

Orders and Families of Recent Mammals of the World
REF QL 703 .O73 1984

Walker's Mammals of the World, 6th edition (2 volumes)
REF QL 703 .W222 1999

Wild Mammals of New England
REF QL 719 .N35 .G63

World List of Mammalian Species, 3rd edition
REF QL 708 .C67 1991

Reptiles and Amphibians

Amphibian Species of the World: A Taxonomic and Geographical Reference
REF QL 645 .F76 1985

Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Reptiles and Amphibians
REF QL 651 .K56 1979

Biology of the Reptilia (19 volumes)
QL 641 .G3

Dictionary of Herpetology: A Brief and Meaningful Definition of Words and Terms Used in Herpetology
REF QL 641 .P4

Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians, 2nd edition
REF QL 641 .E53 1998

Field Guide to Reptiles & Amphibians: Eastern and Central North America
REF QL 651 .C65 1998

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Biological and Agricultural Index [Remote access - UVM only]

Biology Digest [Remote access - UVM only]
Indexes articles from a group of journals covering health, medicine, botany, zoology, life sciences, and environmental science. The journals are chosen for their non-technical writing and their appeal to a general audience. Article contents are presented in length summaries.

BIOSIS Previews [Remote access - UVM only]
This database includes the full files for Biological Abstracts and the references to meetings, reviews, books, and monographs from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings).

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) [Remote access - UVM only]

Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide [Remote access - UVM only]
Indexes literature on mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, and their habitats. It covers all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management, including endangered species, habitat management, and population ecology.

Zoological Record [Remote access - UVM only]
Indexes articles from all areas of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology, evolution, genetics, and others.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Aquaculture and Fisheries

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Natural History

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Zoology

JSTOR [Remote access - UVM only] Full-text Databases
JSTOR provides an electronic archive of scholarly journals in biological sciences. Users can browse the journals or retrieve articles via full-text searching.

Top

Recommended Web Sites

General Zoology

Animal Diversity Web
http://animaldiversity.ummz.umich.edu/site/index.html

BiologyBrowser
http://www.biologybrowser.org/
Managed by BIOSIS, BiologyBrowser contains free, searchable resources such as the Nomenclature Glossary for Zoology and the Zoological Record Thesaurus. Also contains a science discussion forum and an international science conference calendar and archive.

Center for Conservation Biology Network
http://conbio.net/

Electronic Zoo
http://netvet.wustl.edu/e-zoo.htm

Integrated Taxonomic Information System
http://www.itis.usda.gov/

International Field Guides
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/bix/fieldguides/main.htm

IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
http://www.iucnredlist.org/

Mammal Species of the World
http://nmnhgoph.si.edu/msw/

NCBI Entrez Taxonomy Homepage
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?db=Taxonomy

Science.gov: FirstGov for Science
http://www.science.gov/
Developed by a government interagency working group from 11 major science agencies, this website includes information on biology.

Tree of Life
http://tolweb.org/tree/phylogeny.html

Arthropods

ArachnoWeb
http://www.arachnology.org/

Insect and Spider Collections of the World
http://hbs.bishopmuseum.org/codens/codens-r-us.html

Insectclopedia
http://www.pedagonet.com/other/insct.html

Insects and Related Arthropods of North America
http://www.npwrc.usgs.gov/resource/insects/insect/insect.htm

Iowa State Entomology Index
http://www.ent.iastate.edu/list/

Birds

Bird Checklists of the United States
http://www.npwrc.usgs.gov/resource/birds/chekbird/chekbird.htm

BIRDNET: The Ornithological Information Source
http://www.nmnh.si.edu/BIRDNET/index.html

Ornithological Worldwide Literature (OWL)
http://egizoosrv.zoo.ox.ac.uk/owl/

Ornithology.com
http://www.ornithology.com/

Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
http://elibrary.unm.edu/sora/

Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center
http://nationalzoo.si.edu/ConservationAndScience/MigratoryBirds/

Where to Bird: Vermont
http://www.birding.com/wheretobird/Vermont.asp

Fish

FishBase: A Global Information System on Fishes
http://www.fishbase.org

Ichthyology Web Resources
http://www2.biology.ualberta.ca/jackson.hp/IWR/index.php

NOAA Fisheries Service
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/

University of Washington Fish Collection
http://artedi.fish.washington.edu/

USDA Fish and Aquatic Ecology Unit
http://www.fs.fed.us/biology/fishecology/

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
http://www.fws.gov

Mammals

International Species Inventory System (ISIS)
http://www.isis.org/

Mammal Species of the World
http://nmnhgoph.si.edu/msw/

Mammals of Vermont
http://www.mammalsociety.org/statelists/vtmammals.html

Reptiles and Amphibians

Amphibiaweb.org
http://amphibiaweb.org/
Taxonomic information for every species of amphibian in the world. It included descriptions, life history, conservation, references, photos and range maps.

Center for North American Herpetology
http://www.naherpetology.org/

Checklist of Amphibian Species and Identification Guide
http://www.npwrc.usgs.gov/resource/herps/amphibid/index.htm

EMBL Reptile Database
http://www.embl-heidelberg.de/~uetz/LivingReptiles.html

Scientific and Common Names of the Reptiles and Amphibians of North America Explained
http://ebeltz.net/herps/etymain.html

Top

Professional Organizations

General Zoology

American Institute of Biological Sciences
http://www.aibs.org/index.html

Animal Behavior Society
http://www.animalbehavior.org

International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature (ICZN)
http://www.nhm.ac.uk/hosted_sites/iczn/ICZNhomepage.htm

Zoological Society of London
http://www.zsl.org

Arthropods

American Arachnological Society
http://www.americanarachnology.org/

American Entomological Society
http://www.acnatsci.org/hosted/aes/

Crustacean Society
http://www.vims.edu/tcs/

Entomological Society of America
http://www.entsoc.org

Royal Entomological Society
http://www.royensoc.co.uk/

Birds

American Ornithologist's Union
http://www.aou.org/aou

American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists
http://www.asih.org/

Association of Field Ornithologists
http://www.afonet.org/

Cooper Ornithological Society
http://www.cooper.org/

Wilson Ornithological Society
http://www.ummz.umich.edu/birds/wos.html

Fish

American Fisheries Society
http://www.fisheries.org

American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists
http://www.asih.org/

Mammals

American Society of Mammalogists
http://www.mammalsociety.org/

Mammal Society
http://www.abdn.ac.uk/mammal/

Reptiles and Amphibians

American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists
http://www.asih.org/

British Herpetological Society
http://www.thebhs.org/

Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles
http://www.ssarherps.org/

Top

Style Manuals

Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 6th edition
REF T 11 .S386 1994

Short Guide to Writing About Biology, 5th edition
QH 304 .P43 2004

Top

Last updated: July 31, 2006
By: Elizabeth Hassemer
   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home