UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Women's and Gender Studies Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Black Women in America (3 volumes)
REF E 185.86 B542 2005

Dictionary of Women Artists (2 volumes)
REF N 8354 .D53 1997

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America (3 volumes)
REF HQ 76.3 .U5 L43 2004

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures (2 volumes)
REF HQ 16 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender(2 volumes)
REF HQ 1115 .E43 2001

Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cutlures (3 volumes)
REF BP 173.4 E53 2003

Feminism and Psychoanalysis : A Critical Dictionary
REF BF 175.4 .F45 F462 1992

Gay and Lesbian Atlas
REF HQ 76.3 .U5 G355 2004

Historical Dictionary of Feminism
REF HQ 1115 .B65 1996

International Encyclopedia of Sexuality (3 volumes)
REF HQ 21 I68 1997

International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports (3 volumes)
REF GV 709 .I58 2001

Lesbian Histories and Cultures
REF HQ 75.5 .L4395 2000

Penguin Atlas of Women in the World
REF G1046 .E1 S4 2003

Reader's Guide to Gay and Lesbian Studies
REF HQ 75.15 .R43 2000

Reader's Guide to Women's Studies
REF HQ 1180 .R43 1998

Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism and Postfeminism
REF HQ 1115 .R68 2000

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women (4 volumes)
REF HQ 1115 .R69 2000

Women in the Third World: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues
REF HQ 1870.9 .W6548 1998

Women's Studies Encyclopedia (3 volumes)
REF HQ 1115 .W645 1989

Biographical Resources

A to Z of Native American Women
REF E 98.W8 S65 1998

African American Women : A Biographical Dictionary
REF E 185.96 .A45 1993

American Women in Science : A Biographical Dictionary
REF Q 141 .B25 1994

Biographical Dictionary of Congressional Women
REF JK 1012 .F57 1999

Native American Women : A Biographical Dictionary
REF E 98.W8 B38 1993

Notable American Women,1607-1950 (3 volumes)
REF CT 3260 .N57

Notable American Women : The Modern Period : A Biographical Dictionary
REF CT 3260 .N573

Notable Black American Women
REF E 185.96 .N68 1992

Notable Hispanic American Women
REF E 184.S75 N68 1993

Notable Latin American Women : Twenty-Nine Leaders, Rebels, Poets, Battlers, and Spies, 1500-1900
REF CT 3290 .A33 1995

Notable Twentieth-Century Latin American Women : A Biographical Dicitonary
REF CT 3290 .N68 2001

Who's Who in Contemporary Gay and Lesbian History
REF HQ 75.2 .W46 2001

Who's Who in Gay and Lesbian History :From Antiquity to World War II
REF HQ 75.2 .W47 2001

Top


Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Primary Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Gender Watch [Remote Access-UVM Only]
A full-text database of publications pertinent to the study of gender from an international perspective. Particulary useful for locating the full-text of articles from small magazines. Coverage 1974 - present.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and essays (some with abstracts). Scholarship in the areas of women, sexuality, and gender. Coverage: 1994 - present.

Gender Studies Database [Remote Access-UVM Only]
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and books. Coverage 1972 - present.

ViVa
ViVa: A Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals is produced by the International Institute of Social History in the Netherlands. Coverage: 1975 - present.

Women in Politics: Bibliographic Database
Indexes journals, books, and book chapters on all aspects relating to women in politics. International perspective. Coverage: 1940 - present.

Secondary Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Expanded Academic ASAP Full-Text Database [Remote Access-UVM Only]

Academic Search Premier Full-Text Database [Remote Access-UVM Only]

Top


Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

Electronic Journals

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Women's and Gender Studies

Dircetory of Open Access Journals: Gender Studies
http://www.doaj.org/ljbs?cpid=123
A collection of full-text scholarly journals that are part of a movment to publish quality scholarship online and provide access to these materials at no cost.

Project MUSE Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM Only]
http://muse.jhu.edu/muse.html
Another collection of full-text scholarly journals. Search the entire collection or browse titles by subject. Includes titles in Women's, Gay and Lesbian Studies, and Sexulaity as well as History, Film, and more. Coverage: 1999 - present.

Electronic Texts

African-American Women Writers of the Nineteenth-Century
http://digital.nypl.org/schomburg/writers_aa19/
Full-text collection of fiction, poetry, essays, speeches, autobiography and more. Includes biographical material on all featured authors.

Celebration of Women Writers
http://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/
Part of the Online Books Page from the University of Pennsylvania. Large collection of books online. You can search for works by author, title, time period, geographic location, or ethnicity or browse by the same categories. In addition to the online books there is also biographical and critical information on many authors.

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/wlm/
An online archive of documents from Duke University pertaining to the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States during the 1960s and 1970s.

Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
http://gos.sbc.edu/

Women Writers
http://etext.virginia.edu/subjects/Women-Writers.html
Part of the University of Virgina Electronic Text Archive. Large collection of writing by women (novels, short stories, essays, speeches, and children's books) dating from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Top


Recommended Web Sites

American Women's History: A Research Guide
http://frank.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women.html

Gender-Related Electronic Forums
http://www-unix.umbc.edu/~korenman/wmst/forums.html
List of e-mail lists (listervs) on topics of related to Women's and Gender Studies.

glbtq: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture
http://www.glbtq.com/

Feminist Theory Website
http://www.cddc.vt.edu/feminism/
Created by Kristin Switala, a professor of Philosophy at the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga, this site is comprised of three sections: fields of study, national/cultural feminisms, and individual feminists. The site is available in English, French, and Spanish.

Making Face, Making Soul: A Chicana Feminist Homepage
http://chicanas.com/huh.html
This site by, for, and about Chicanas (women of Mexican descent) was created by Susanna Gallardo a doctoral candidate in Religious Studies at Stanford University. Includes excellent student guide, glossary, biographies, and bibliographies. Great mix of academic and activist resources.

Women's Human Right's Resources
http://www.law-lib.utoronto.ca/Diana/
International collection on women's human rights law. Annotaed bibliographic refernces to scholarly articles (links to full-text are included when available); online documents of the UN, NGO reports, and case law; and links to related sources.

Women's Studies Database
http://www.mith2.umd.edu/WomensStudies/

WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
http://libr.org/wss/WSSLinks/index.html

Top


Professional Organizations

Center for American Women and Politics
http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~cawp/

Feminist Majority Foundation
http://www.feminist.org/

Institute for Women's Policy Research
http://www.iwpr.org/

National Women's Studies Association
http://www.nwsa.org/

Women's Studies Section (Assocation of College and Research Libraries)
http://libr.org/WSS/

Top


Statistical Resources

American FactFinder
http://factfinder.census.gov/servlet/SAFFPeople?_sse=on

GenderStats
http://devdata.worldbank.org/genderstats/home.asp
International data on the status of women. Area covered include mortality, education, income, and health related issues.

World's Women 2000: Trends and Statistics
http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/ww2000/
REF HQ 1154 .W67 (latest edition)
The online version has only selected tables. Use the print version for complete information. A 2005 update can be found online at:
http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/indwm/. Top


Style Manuals

Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian)
REF (Ready Ref) LB 2369 .T8 1996

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
REF (Ready Ref) LB 2369 .G53 2003
Standard guide for undergraduate students in the humanities offers guidance in all aspects of writing a paper, from choosing a topic, using the library and the Internet, and producing an outline, to preparing citations using the MLA documentation style, for print and electronic works.

Using Modern Language Association (MLA) Format
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_mla.html

Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_apa.html

Top

Last updated: August 28, 2006
By: Daisy Benson

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home