UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Theater and Performing Arts Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Ballet guide : Background, Listings, Credits, and Descriptions of More than Five Hundred of the World's Major Ballets
REF GV1790 .A1 T47

Best Plays of…
REF PN6112 .B45 (1990 - present)

Biographical Dictionary of Dance
REF GV1785 .A1 C58 1982

Cambridge Guide to American Theatre
REF PN2220 .C35 1993

Cambridge Guide to Theatre
REF PN2035 .C27 1995

Career Opportunities in Theater and the Performing Arts
REF PN1580 .F5 1999

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Ballet
REF GV1585 .C73 1977

Contemporary British Dramatists
REF PR736 .C577 1994

Contemporary Dramatists
REF PR737 .C57 (latest volume)

Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television (34 volumes)
REF PN2285 .C58

Dance on Camera : A Guide to Dance Films and Videos
REF GV1595 .D342 1998

Dancer's Resource
REF GV1589 .J65 1999

Dictionary of the Theatre: Terms, Concepts, and Analysis
REF PN2035 .P2913 1998

Drama Criticism (14 volumes)
REF PN2037 .D68

Dramatists Sourcebook
REF PN2289 .D73 (latest volume)

International Dictionary of Theatre (3 volumes)
REF PN2035 .I49 1992

International Dictionary of Theatre Language
REF PN2035 .I5 1985

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama (5 volumes)
REF PN1625 .M3 1984

National Theatre Critics' Reviews
REF PN2000 .N76 (1940 - 1996)

Oxford Companion to the Theatre
REF PN2035 .O9 1983

Oxford Dictionary of Dance
REF GV1585 .C78 2000

Ryman's Dictionary of Classical Ballet Terms
REF GV1585 .R96 1998

Shakespeare on Screen: An International Filmography and Videography
REF PR3093 .R68 1990

Shakespearean Criticism (60 volumes)
REF PN2965 .S43

Simon and Schuster Book of the Ballet : A Complete Reference Guide, 1581 to the Present
REF GV1787 .B275313

Song & Dance: An Encyclopedia of Musicals
REF PN1995.9 .M86 A96 1990

Stern's Directory
REF GV1580 .S74 (latest volume)

A directory of dancers, dance companies and musicians.

Theatre Backstage: From A to Z
REF PN2091 .M3 L68 1999

Theatre World
REF PN2277.N5 A17 (1944 - 1994)

Who's Who in Contemporary World Theatre
REF PN2035 .W485 2000 (latest volume)

Women Playwrights of Diversity: A Bio-bibliographical Sourcebook
REF PS338 .W6 P48 1997

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Primary Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

American Theater and Drama Research : An Annotated Guide to Information Sources, 1945-1990
REF Z1231 .S53 1991

Art Index (Remote access - UVM Only)
REF Z5937 .A78 (Print) (1929 - 1997)

Indexes over 300 international arts periodicals as well as yearbooks and museum bulletins. Subjects include art history, folk art, photography, film, theater and television studies. Coverage: 1984 - present.

Dramatic Criticism Index; A Bibliography of Commentaries on Playwrights from Ibsen to the Avant-garde
REF Z5781 .B8

Guide to American Drama Explication
REF Z1231 .D7 O84

Guide to Critical Reviews
REF Z5871 .S16 1973
REF Z5871 .S16 1984

Index to One-Act Plays
REF Z5781 .L83

International Bibliography of Theatre (12 volumes)
REF Z5783 .I57

International Index to the Performing Arts (Remote access - UVM Only)

Indexes international arts periodicals, covering both scholarly studies and popular fads. Includes material on dance, film, drama/theater, stagecraft, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and the performance business. Coverage 1864 - present.

MLA Bibliography (Remote access - UVM Only)
REF Z7006 .M67 (Print) (1921 - 1999)

An international index to journal articles, books, essays, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies that covers the fields of literature, languages, theater, linguistics, folklore and film. Coverage: 1963 - present.

Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism 1966-1980 : An International Bibliography
REF Z5781 .C37 1986

Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism 1981-1990 : An International Bibliography
REF Z5781 .C37 1997

Play Index
REF Z5781 .P53 (1949 - 1992)

Research in Dance: A Guide to Resources
REF Z7514 .D2 B6 1992

Secondary Indexes, Abstracts and Full-text Databases

American Playwrights since 1945: A Guide to Scholarship, Criticism, and Performance
REF Z1231 .D7 A53 1989

Analytical Sourcebook of Concepts in Dramatic Theory
REF Z5871 .B84

Arts and Humanities Search [Remote access - UVM Only]
REF Z1219 .A77 (Print) (1976 - 1997)

The online version of Arts & humanities Citation Index this database provides indexing of articles, reviews, fiction, and poetry from the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Each article citation includes the list of cited references at the end of the article. Coverage: 1980 - present.

British Theatre: A Bibliography, 1901 to 1985
REF Z2014 .D7 C38 1989

Dancers and Choreographers : A Selected Bibliography
REF Z7514 .D2 G48 1995

Dramatic Re-Visions: An Annotated Bibliography of Feminism and Theatre, 1972-1988
REF Z5784 .F45 S73 1991

Expanded Academic ASAP Full-text Databases (Remote access - UVM Only)

A multidisciplinary index to over 1,900 journals and magazines, 900 of which display the fulltext of articles. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Humanities Index (Remote access - UVM Only)
REF Z6941 .H86 (Print) (1974 - 1992)

Indexes articles, book and film reviews, and creative writing in core humanities journals. Subjects include art, music, classics, folklore, history, religion, linguistics, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and archaeology. Coverage: 1984 - present.

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe (Remote access - UVM Only)

Fulltext database that covers the areas of current events, business and law. Includes hundreds of mass media industry publications, national and international newspapers and journals, as well as complete coverage of legal aspects by industry. Choose: News Library, then Arts & Sports and select Source: Book, Movie, Music & Play Reviews. Coverage: Varies by title, most 1990 - present.

Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism 1966-1980: An International Bibliography
REF Z5871 .C37 1986

Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism 1981-1990: An International Bibliography
REF Z5871 .C37 1997

Music and Dance of the World's Religions: A Comprehensive, Annotated Bibliography of Materials in the English Language
REF ML128 .S17 R87 1996

1/2/3/4 for the Show: A Guide to Small-cast One-act Plays
REF Z5781 .H46 1995

Twentieth-Century American Music for the Dance: A Bibliography
REF ML128 .D3 E44 1996

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Drama

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Performing Arts

JSTOR Full-text Databases (Remote Access- UVM only)

An electronic archive of fulltext scholarly journal articles, including extensive coverage of arts, humanities and the social sciences. Users may browse the journals online or retrieve articles by using the fulltext searching option. Coverage: Varies by title.

Project Muse Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM Only]

An electronic collection of over 100 journals published by major university presses. The journal collection covers the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Many journal titles included relate to film, theater, and mass media studies. Coverage: Varies by title, most 1995 - present.

Top

Recommended Web Sites

Artslynx International Dance Resources
http://www.artslynx.org/dance/index.htm

Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies
http://www.stetson.edu/departments/csata/thr_guid.html

CyberDance: Ballet on the Net
http://www.cyberdance.org/

Digital Librarian: Performing Arts
http://www.digital-librarian.com/performing.html

Internet Resources in Theatre and Dance Bridgewater State College Theatre and Dance Portal
http://www.bridgew.edu/Theatre/bsctd/links.htm

Inter-Play: An On-line Index to Plays in Collections, Anthologies and Periodicals
http://www.lib.pdx.edu/systems/interplay/

Opera, Opera Companies, and Musical Theatre
http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/opera.html

Performing Arts Links
http://www.theatrelibrary.org/links/index.html

Theatre History on the Web
http://www.videoccasions-nw.com/history/jack.html

Theater Studies Research Guide Yale University Library
http://www.library.yale.edu/humanities/theater/

Voice of the Shuttle: English Literature by Genre [Drama, Theater & Performance Art]
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=782

Voice of the Shuttle: Music and Dance
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse-netscape.asp?id=2722

WWW Virtual Library: Theatre and Drama
http://vl-theatre.com/

Top

Professional Organizations

American Alliance for Theater and Education (AATE)
http://www.aate.com/welcome.htm

American Dance Guild
http://www.americandanceguild.org/

American Dance Therapy Association (ADTA)
http://www.adta.org/

American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR)
http://www.inform.umd.edu/EdRes/Colleges/ARHU/Depts/Theatre/
   Personnel/CSchuler/ASTR/

Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE)
http://www2.hawaii.edu/athe/index.html

International Theatre Institute (ITI)
http://iti-worldwide.org/

National Dance Association (NDA)
http://www.aahperd.org/nda/template.cfm?template=main.html

Society of Dance History Scholars (SDHS)
http://www.sdhs.org/

Theatre Communication Group (TCG)
http://www.tcg.org/

Top

Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style
REF (Ready Ref) Z253 .U69 1993
University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center
http://www.wisc.edu/writetest/Handbook/DocChicago.html

The Elements of Style (William Strunk)
REF (Ready Ref) PE1408 .S772 2000
http://www.bartleby.com/141/index.html

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (Modern Language Association)
REF (Ready Ref) LB2369 .G53 1999
Purdue University Online Writing Lab
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_mla.html

Top

Last updated: July 27, 2006
   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home