UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Sociology Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological Language
REF HM 425 .J64 2000

Critical Dictionary of Sociology
REF HM 17 .B6813 1989

Dictionary of Sociology (Oxford) [Remote Access - UVM only]

Directory of Members
(American Sociological Association)
REF HM 9 .A725 (latest)

Encyclopedia of Community : From the Village to the Virtual World  (4 volumes)
REF HM 756 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Sociology (5 volumes)
REF HM 425 .E5 2000

Encyclopaedia of the Social Sciences (15 volumes)
REF H 41 .E6

Guide to Graduate Departments of Sociology
REF HM 47.U6 G84 (latest)

Handbook of Sociology
REF HM 51 .H249 1988

International Encyclopedia of Sociology
REF HM 17 .I53 1984

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (18 volumes)
REF H 40 .A2 I5

Key Quotations in Sociology
REF HM 17 .T56 1996

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Primary Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Communication Abstracts [Remote access - UVM only]
This databases indexes the literature of communications including mass media, advertising, public opinion, and a wide variety of other areas relevant to sociology. Dates of coverage: 1977 - present.

C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in Sociology, 1895-1974 (6 volumes)
REF Z 7164 .S68 C74

Family and Society Studies Worldwide [Remote access - UVM only]
This database indexes the research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, and human development from 1970 - present.

International Bibliography of Sociology
REF Z 7161 .I594
An annual index of international research. This may include references not included in Sociological Abstracts though it should not be used in place of "Soc Abs."

Population Index
http://popindex.princeton.edu/
REF Z7164.D3 P83
Population Index provides access to demographic and population literature from an array of disciplines. The web version includes references from 1986-present. The print version covers 1935-present. Issues prior to 1986 are also available on JSTOR Full-text Databases [Remote Access - UVM only].

Social Sciences Abstracts [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides indexing and abstracts of articles from international, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Includes references from 1983-present with abstracts beginning in 1994.

Sociological Abstracts [Remote Access - UVM only]
THIRD FLOOR  Z 7164 .S68 S62
Sociological Abstracts contains citations and abstracts of the international literature on sociology and related disciplines. Over 2,600 periodicals are indexed, as well as books, book reviews, dissertations, and conference papers. The online version covers from 1963-present, the print version from 1953-present.

Women's Studies International [Remote Access - UVM only]
Women's Studies International indexes journal articles, book reviews, and books. It includes Women Studies Abstracts (1984 - present), Women's Studies Database (1972 - present), and several bibliographies that focus on women of color; race and ethnicity; the history of women in health and science; and women's audiovisuals. (Formerly Women's Resources International

Secondary Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Expanded Academic ASAP Full-text Databases [Remote Access - UVM only]
Expanded Academic is a multidisciplinary index to approximately 1,900 journals and magazines, 900 of which display the full text of articles. It also indexes The New York Times. Entries date from 1980 - present.

PsycINFO [Remote Access - UVM only]
PsycINFO is the largest index of journal articles, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology. It also includes references to research on the psychological aspects of medical and social sciences, with entries dating from 1887 - present.

Social Work Abstracts [Remote Access - UVM only]
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Social Work Abstracts contains citations to articles and dissertations on social work, human services, and related fields. Subjects covered include child and family welfare, mental health, substance and alcohol abuse, social policy, etc. Entries date from 1977 - present.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Sociology

JSTOR Full-text Databases [Remote Access- UVM only]
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides an electronic archive of scholarly journals. Users can browse the journals or retrieve articles via full-text searching. J-Stor contains an excellent selection of sociology journals. Note that J-Stor does not provide access to the most recent five years for several of the journals.

Project Muse Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM Only]
A collection of over 100 journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other major university presses. Project Muse includes journals in sociology, demography, culture and society, gay and lesbian studies, sexuality, women's studies, and a number of other relevant disciplines in the social sciences.

Top

 

Recommended Web Sites

Progressive Sociologists Network
http://www.colorado.edu/Sociology/gimenez/psn2/

SocioLog
http://www.sociolog.com/
Julian Dierke's comprehensive guide to sociology online.

SocioWeb
http://www.socioweb.com/~markbl/socioweb/
A metasite with links to a tremendous variety of sociological resources.

WCSU List: Sociology Internet Resources (Western Connecticut State University)
http://www.wcsu.ctstateu.edu/socialsci/socres.html
An award-winning site that groups sociology web resources by topics such as culture and society, women, families, criminology, and social theory.

WWW Virtual Library: Sociology
http://socserv2.mcmaster.ca/w3virtsoclib/
This site, maintained by members of the Dept. of Sociology, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, includes links to a huge number of useful sociological resources.

Top

Professional Organizations

American Society of Criminology
http://www.asc41.com/

American Sociological Association
http://www.asanet.org/

International Sociological Association
http://www.ucm.es/info/isa/index.html

Society for Applied Sociology
http://www.appliedsoc.org/

Top

Statistical Resources

General

LexisNexis Statistical [Remote Access - UVM only]
Indexes statistics on population and demographics, business and financial activities, domestic and international trade, government programs, health, and politics from the U.S. government (including Statistical Abstract) as well as international intergovernmental organizations, state governments, and private sources. Includes links to government statistical Web sites such as the Census Bureau. Full text or links to the full text are available for some of the indexed sources. Years of coverage vary.

Statistical Resources on the Web Sociology (University of Michigan)
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stsoc.html
This site provides links and annotations for a tremendous number of statistical resources useful to sociologists.

United States

American Factfinder
http://factfinder.census.gov/servlet/BasicFactsServlet
The American Factfinder is a service of the United States Census Bureau that provides access to 2000 and 1990 census data.

State Rankings
DOCUMENTS, REF DESK HA 203 .S73 (latest)
Provides statistical ranking of states in the areas of population, education, crime, health, and social welfare.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
DOCUMENTS C 3.134 (latest and earlier editions)
READY REF HA 202 .A1 (latest READY REF earlier REF)
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Statistical Abstract is a compilation of some of the most-frequently used statistical data for the United States. The online version includes 1995-present in an Adobe Acrobat format. The print version is often easier to use.

Uniform Crime Reports for the United States
http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm
DOCUMENTS J 1.14/7 READY REF HV 6787 .A3 (latest)
Provides statistics on crime in the United States by state, region, metropolitan area, and city. Statistics for 1995 to present are on the web. All years are available in print.

United States Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov
DOCUMENTS Various print, compact discs, and DVDs
This searchable site offers a wide array of decennial census information for the country and states covering population, housing, and income. Also includes information from the economic census and many specialized reports. The primary access to 2000 and 1990 census data is through American Factfinder http://factfinder.census.gov/servlet/BasicFactsServlet
A wide variety of print, compact discs, and DVD Census products are available in the Documents collection. These products encompass census information from 1790 - present.

International

Demographic Yearbook (United Nations)
REF HA 17 .D45 (latest)
Includes data on population, births, mortality, and marriage for the countries and regions of the world.

Statistical Yearbook (United Nations)
REF HA 12.5 .U63
Includes data on education, illiteracy, health, and economics for the countries of the world.

United Nations Statistics Division
http://www.un.org/Depts/unsd/
This site includes a wide variety of useful data on the countries of the world. The site does not provide access to all of the data included in the U.N. print publications.

World Bank
http://www.worldbank.org/
This site provides access to current data on developing countries.

World Development Indicators [This database can only be accessed on terminals at the Bailey/Howe Library]
This database allows the user to retrieve a wide array of historical data on developing countries.

Top

Style Manuals

ASA Style Guide (American Sociological Association)
READY REF HM 73 .A54 1997

Sociology Student Writer's Manual
REF HM 585 .S638 2006

Top

Last updated: August 17, 2006
By: Scott Schaffer
   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home