UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  
Religion Subject Guide

Religion Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

General Sources

Atlas of the World's Religions
REF G 1046 .E4 A7 1999

Brill Dictionary of Religion (4 volumes)
REF BL 31 .M4813 2006

Cambridge Illustrated History of Religion
REF BL 80.2 .C334 2002

Contemporary American Religion (2 volumes)
REF BL 2525 .C65 2000

Continuum Dictionary of Religion
REF BL 31 .C67 1994

Dictionary of Art (34 volumes)
REF N 31 .D5 1996
Electronic: Grove Art Online Full-text Databases [Remote Access - UVM Only]

Eliade Guide to World Religions
REF BL 80.2 .E415 1991

Encyclopedia of American Religions
REF BL 2525 .M449 1999

Encyclopedia of Monasticism (2 volumes)
REF BL 631 .E59 2000

Encyclopedia of Religion (15 volumes)
REF BL 31 .E46 2005
Electronic: Encyclopedia of Religion [Remote access - UVM only]

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion (2 volumes)
REF BL 458 .E53 1999

HarperCollins Dictionary of Religion
REF BL 31 .H37 1995

Man, Myth & Magic : The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mythology, Religion, and the Unknown (21 volumes)
REF BF 1407 .M34 1995

New Catholic Encyclopedia (15 volumes)
REF BX 841 .N44 2003
Catholic Encyclopedia 1908 ed.
http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/
Objective and ecumenical in tone, with many non-Catholic contributors. The electronic version of the 1908 edition (Catholic Encyclopedia) is partially replaced and superceded by the 2003 edition, but is still important for its more historical points of view.

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (29 volumes)
REF ML 100 .N48 2001
Electronic: Grove Music Online Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]

New Historical Atlas of Religion in America
REF QUARTO G1201.E4 N4 2001

Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
REF BL 31 .O9 1997
Electronic: The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions [Remote access - UVM only]

Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices (4 volumes)
REF BL 80.3 .R45 2002

Christianity

Encyclopedia of Christianity (3 volumes)
REF BR95 .E8913 1999

Oxford Companion to Christian Thought
REF BR 95 .O79 2000

Oxford Dictionary of Popes
REF BX 955.2 .K45 1986
Electronic: Oxford Dictionary of Popes [Remote access - UVM only]

Oxford Dictionary of Saints
REF BR 1710 .F34 1997
Electronic: Oxford Dictionary of Saints [Remote access - UVM only]

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
REF BR 95 .O8 1997
Electronic: The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church [Remote access - UVM only]

World Christian Encyclopedia : A Comparative Survey of Churches and Religions in the Modern World ( 2 volumes)
REF BR 157 .W67 2001

Eastern (Buddhism, Hinduism, Shinto, Taoism, Zen)

Buddhism : the Illustrated Guide
REF BQ 4022 .B83 2001

Concise Encyclopedia of Buddhism
REF BQ 128 .P69 2000

Dictionary of Buddhism
REF BQ 130 .D5
Complementary to Popular Dictionary of Buddhism (REF BQ 130 .H85 1984), defining fewer terms more extensively.

Dictionary of Buddhism (Oxford)
REF BQ 130 .K46 2003
Electronic: Dictionary of Buddhism [Remote access - UVM only]

Dictionary of Buddhist and Hindu Iconography
REF N 8193 .A4 B86 1997

Eastern Definitions : A Short Encyclopedia of Religions of the Orient with Terms from Hinduism, Sufism, Buddhism, Islam, Zen, Tao, the Sikhs, Zoroastrianism, and other Eastern Religions
REF BL 31 .R52 1980

Encyclopaedia of Buddhism (7 volumes, in progress)
REF BL 1403 .E5
A work in progress, this encyclopedia traces the development of Buddhism, and covers all aspects of Buddhist thought, history, and civilization.

Encyclopaedia of Buddhist Deities, Demigods, Godlings, Saints, and Demons with Special Focus on Iconographic Attributes (2 volumes)
REF BQ 130 .B88 1994

Encyclopedia of Buddhism (2 volumes)
REF BQ 128 .E62 2004

Harper's Dictionary of Hinduism : Its Mythology, Folklore, Philosophy, Literature, and History
REF BL 1105 .S88 1977

Historical Dictionary of Buddhism
REF BQ 130 .P74 1993

Illustrated Dictionary of Hindu Iconography
REF N 8195 .A4 S78 1985

Popular Dictionary of Buddhism
REF BQ 130 .H85 1984
Complementary to Dictionary of Buddhism (REF BQ 130 .D5), providing definitions and brief explanations of @1,000 terms.

Popular Dictionary of Shinto
REF BL 2216.1 .B63 1996

Shambhala Dictionary of Taoism
REF BL 1923 .S48 1996

Zen Dictionary
REF BQ 9259 .W66 1972

Islam

Encyclopaedia of Islam (multi-volume, in progress)
REF DS 37 .E523
Coverage includes the religion, culture, law, politics, history, art, science, and literature of the Muslim world from its origins to the present. Indexes to: proper names, terms, and subjects.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2 volumes)
REF BP 40 .E525 2004
Electronic: Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World [Remote access - UVM only]
Examines the doctrinal, legal, social, and spiritual ideas that inform the various traditions of Islam throughout the world, and the changes they have experienced over the past 1400 years.

Encyclopedia of Women and  Islamic Cultures (3 volumes)
REF  BP 173.4 .E53 2003

Historical Atlas of Islam
REF QUARTO G 1786 .S1 H6 2002

Historical Atlas of Islam
REF G 1786 .S1 R9 2004

Islam: an Illustrated History
REF DS 35.63 .F74 2006

Oxford Dictionary of Islam [Remote access - UVM only]

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World (4 volumes)
REF DS 35.53 .O95 1995
Offers scholarly articles on worldwide Islam from the end of the 18th century to the present. Coverage includes the religion, history, law, government, politics, social life, art, and literature of Islam.

Oxford History of Islam
REF BP 50 .O95 1999
Covers all aspects of Islamic civilization from its origins to the present. Scholarly articles cover the political, social, cultural, legal, artistic, and religious history of Islam.

Popular Dictionary of Islam
REF BP 40 .N48 1992
Locates definitions of basic concepts in Islam. Both Arabic and English terms are defined.

Judaism

Encyclopaedia Judaica (16 volumes)
REF DS 102.8 .E496
Encyclopedia of Jewish religion and culture. Contains articles on a variety of secular and religious subjects.

Electronic: Encyclopaedia Judaica [Remote access-UVM only]

Jewish Religion : A Companion
REF BM 50 .J28 1995
Electronic: A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion (abridged and updated edition of print) [Remote access - UVM only]

New Encyclopedia of Judaism
REF BM 50 .E63 2002

New Standard Jewish Encyclopedia
REF DS 102.8 .S73 1992
Focus is on the contemporary (particularly the U.S. and the State of Israel) rather than historical.

Popular Dictionary of Judaism
REF BM 50 .C63 1995

Routledge Atlas of Jewish History
REF G 1030 .G46 2006

Sacred Texts and Interpretive Aids

Christianity and Judaism

Anchor Bible Dictionary (6 volumes)
REF BS 440 .A54 1992

Babylonian Talmud ... (18 volumes)
REF BM 500 .E57 1961x
English translation of the entire Babylonian Talmud.

Bibles

Bibles in English are located in Row 3 in the Reference Collection, in the BS 185-192 range. Selected versions:

  • Holy Bible containing the Old and New Testaments
    REF BS 185 1995 .C36 1995
  • New American Standard Bible
    REF BS 195 .N35 1973
  • New English Bible, with the Apocrypha
    REF BS 192 .A1 1976 .N48
  • New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical Books
    REF BS 191.5 .A1 1991 .N49

Bibles - Concordances

Concordances are lists of Biblical words arranged alphabetically with indications that help the reader find the passages of the Bible where the words occur. Concordances are located in Row 3 in the Reference Collection, in the BS 425-440 range. Selected versions:

  • New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
    REF BS 425 .S8 2001
  • Young's Analytical Concordance to the Bible: ...: Based Upon the King James Version
    REF BS 425 .Y7 1982

Chumash : the Torah : Haftaros and Five Megillos With a Commentary Anthologized From the Rabbinic Writings
REF BS 1222 1994

Dictionary of the Bible (Oxford) [Remote access - UVM only]

HarperCollins Bible Commentary
REF BS 491.2 .H37 2000

HarperCollins Bible Dictionary
REF BS 440 .H235 1996
Articles by Christian and Jewish scholars.

Oxford Companion to the Bible
REF BS 440 .M434 1993
Electronic: Oxford Companion to the Bible [Remote access - UVM only]

Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible [Remote access - UVM only]

Talmud : the Steinsaltz Edition (reference guide)
REF BM 499.5 .E4 1989
Reference guide to this 21-volume edition, which is a contemporary translation and commentary of the Talmud (QUARTO BM 499.5 .E4 1989).

Eastern (Buddhism, Hinduism, Shinto, Taoism, Zen)

Sacred books of the East (50 volumes)
REF BL 1010 .S3
Major collection of translated Eastern religious literature (e.g., Upanishads, Texts of Confucianism, Qur'an, etc.)

Islam

al-Qur'an : A Contemporary Translation
REF BP 109 1988

Concordance of the Qur'an
REF BP 133 .K37 1983
Word list which enables researchers to determine exactly where any word or words appear within the text of the Qur'an.

Dictionary of Qur'anic Terms and Concepts
REF BP 133 .M57 1987

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an (5 volumes)
REF BP 133 .E53 2001 

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Primary Indexes, Abstracts and Full-Text Databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science) [Remote access - UVM only]
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature (articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews) of the arts and humanities. Coverage: 1982 - present.

ATLA Religion [Remote access - UVM only]
International index to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion (e.g., Biblical studies, church history, world religions, and religion in the modern world). Coverage: 1946 - present.

Buddhist Scriptures : A Bibliography
REF Z 7862 .C66 1982

Guide to Buddhist Religion
REF Z 7860 .R48
Though dated, this is an excellent bibliography of Buddhism, with good annotations.

Guide to Hindu Religion
REF Z 7835 .B8 D44
Though dated, this is an excellent bibliography of Hinduism, with good annotations.

Index Islamicus
REF Z 3013 .L7 (.L72, .L73) 1906 - present
Index to articles on Islam worldwide from periodicals, books, and conference proceedings. Coverage includes religion, social and cultural studies, history, current affairs, and other aspects of Muslim life.

Secondary Indexes, Abstracts and Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Premier  Full-text Databases [Remote access - ­ UVM Only]   Coverage: @1969–present (date varies by publication).
and
Expanded Academic ASAP  Full-text Databases [Remote access - ­ UVM Only]   Coverage: 1980–present.
Both are interdisciplinary indexes to journal articles and partially full-text database that includes many references and full-text articles on literature topics, including book reviews. 

America: History and Life [Remote access - UVM only]
Indexes and abstracts information on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from journals as well as book reviews, film reviews, and the abstracts of dissertations. Coverage: 1964 - present.

Anthropology Plus [Remote access - UVM only]
Indexes articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including religious studies. Coverage: 19th century - present.

Art Index [Remote access - UVM only]
International index to art periodicals, year books, and museum bulletins. Covers religious art topics such as Christian iconography, Buddhist sculpture, Islamic manuscript illumination, Jewish ritual objects, etc. Coverage: 1984 - present.

Historical Abstracts [Remote access - UVM only]
Indexes and abstracts information on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Includes citations to journal articles as well as books and dissertations. Coverage: 1954 - present.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance [Remote access - UVM only]
Interdisciplinary index to books, book chapters, and articles from scholarly journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Coverage: 1843 - present.

MLA International Bibliography [Remote access - UVM only]
Coverage: 1926 - present.
Annual bibliography noted for its international coverage of literary and linguistic scholarship. MLA contains citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Useful for locating articles on the Bible as literature.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature [Remote access - UVM only]
Index to music and performing arts periodicals, books, and collections of essays concerning all aspects of music. Coverage: 1969 - present.
Top


Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Buddhism

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Christianity

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Islam

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Judaism

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Religions and Mythology

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Theology

University of Vermont Electronic Journals on The Bible

Bibles

Unbound Bible
http://unbound.biola.edu/
Collection of searchable Bibles consisting of: several English versions; Greek and Hebrew Versions (the original Bible languages); 4 ancient versions; 42 versions in other languages.

Buddhist Scriptures

Access to Insight: Readings in Theravada Buddhism
http://www.accesstoinsight.org/

Electronic Resources for the Study of Buddhist Texts
http://www.geocities.com/manjushri_2000/buddhisttexts.html Provides links to primary textual sources and reference material, including links to electronic text sites and online dictionaries.

Online Sutras
http://www.sinc.sunysb.edu/Clubs/buddhism/sutras.html
Mahayana Buddhist scriptures.

Qur'an (Koran) & Hadith

Hadith
http://al-islam.org/fortyhadith/

Koran (M.H. Shakir translation)
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/koran.html

General

Christian Classics Ethereal Library
http://www.ccel.org/
Online collection of Christian texts (e.g., Bible, St. Augustine's Confessions, etc.) in the public domain. Searchable by author, title, and broad subject.

Ecole Initiative
http://www2.evansville.edu/ecoleweb/
Encyclopedia of early church history. Includes electronic Christian, Jewish and Islamic documents, articles on religious topics, a glossary, and images of Judæo-Christian iconography and religious art.

Internet Sacred Text Archive
http://www.sacred-texts.com/index.htm
Archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.

Journal of Buddhist Ethics
http://jbe.gold.ac.uk
Scholarly, peer-reviewed electronic journal that promotes the study of Buddhist ethics through the publication of research articles, discussions and critical notes, bulletins, and reviews. No subscription fee.

JSTOR Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]
Electronic archive for journal backfiles, which permits detailed searches of thousands of issues of scholarly journals back to the 19th century. Issues published within the last 2-5 years are generally not covered. The purpose of JSTOR is to provide access to back issues of journals, not current issues.

On-Line Books Page
http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/
Metasite that serves as an index to thousands of books (English or English translation) on the Internet. Searchable by author, title, and subject. Includes religious texts and other books on religion.

Pointing the Way: A Guide to Christian Literature on the Internet
http://www.iclnet.org/pub/resources/christian-books.html

Project Gutenberg
http://www.gutenberg.org/catalog/
Extensive collection of electronic texts of (mostly) public domain works. Searchable by author, title, and Library of Congress classification.

Project Muse Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]
Electronic collection of journals published by major university presses in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Year coverage is generally for the last 4-5 years.  Note: you do not have access to the full-text article from a journal that UVM does not subscribe to.


Top

Recommended Web Sites

General

Ecole Initiative - World Wide Web Sites
http://www2.evansville.edu/ecoleweb/internet.html
List of sites related to early church history.

Religion Gateway -Academic Info
http://www.academicinfo.net/religindex.html
An index of resources for religious studies. Includes Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Gnostic and Coptic Studies, eastern religions, and Native American religions.

ReligiousWorlds: Sources for Religion, Religions, Religious Studies
http://www.religiousworlds.com/ 

Virtual Religion Index
http://virtualreligion.net/vri
Highly regarded site for quick access to Internet based religion-related resources.  Arranged by topic.

Voice of the Shuttle - Religious Studies Page
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2730

Wabash Center Internet Guide
http://www.wabashcenter.wabash.edu/Internet/front.htm
Selective, annotated guide to electronic resources related to the study and practice of religion.

Christianity

All-in-One Biblical Resources Search
http://ntgateway.com/multibib/bible.htm
This gateway site allows users to perform keyword and advanced searches of over 25 online Bible and religious studies resources.

Christian Tradition
http://www.virtualreligion.net/vri/xnity.html

Holy See (Vatican)
http://www.vatican.va/phome_en.htm

World Council of Churches
http://www.wcc-coe.org

Eastern (Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen)

BuddhaNet
http://www.buddhanet.net/

Buddhist Studies World Wide Web Virtual Library
http://www.ciolek.com/WWWVL-Buddhism.html
Annotated directory of leading information resources in the fields of Buddhism and Buddhist studies.

Eighty-Four Thousand Electronic Dharma Doors
http://www.baus.org/baus/budresou.html

Internet Indian History Sourcebook - The Formation of Religious Traditions
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/india/indiasbook.html#The Formation of Religious Traditions

Taoism Information Page
http://www.religiousworlds.com/taoism/index.html 

Zen Buddhism-WWW Virtual Library
http://www.ciolek.com/WWWVL-Zen.html
Subject guide to Zen Buddhist Web sites, including documents, organizations, schools of Zen Buddhism, etc.

Islam

Al-Islam
http://al-islam.org/
One of the most comprehensive sites currently available on Islamic culture and religion.

Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/islam/islamsbook.html

Introduction to Islam
http://www.mideasti.org/indepth/islam/index.html
Provided by the Middle East Institute George Camp Keiser Library, this online version of M. Cherif Bassiouni's book offers an introduction to the history and culture of Islam for non-Muslim readers.

Islam 101
http://www.islam101.com/
Covers Islamic culture and civilization, and contains studies and articles comparing Islam with other religions.

Islam - Resources and Information
http://al-islam.com/eng/
Subject guide to Qur'an, Hadith and Jurisprudence.

Islamic Studies, Islam, Arabic, and Religion
http://www.uga.edu/islam
Academic site which provides a scholarly overview of Islam and related subjects (art, music, history, etc.).

NITLE Arab World Project - Islam
http://arabworld.nitle.org/introduction.php?module_id=2

USC-MSA Compendium of Muslim Texts
http://www.usc.edu/dept/MSA/
Extensive collection of Islamic resources: translations of the Qur'an; introductions to and texts of the Sunnah (examples) and Hadith (sayings) of Muhammad; descriptions of the fundamentals of Islam; Islamic principles in society, and relations between Islam and other religions. Contains a glossary of Islamic terms and concepts.

Judaism

Jewish Virtual Library
http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/
Created by AICE, an organization formed to promote US-Israeli ties, this site offers information on Jewish history, Israel, Judaism, Islam, and the Holocaust.

Judaism and Jewish Resources
http://shamash.org/trb/judaism.html
Extensive categorized list of Jewish resources on the Web.

Judaism 101
http://www.jewfaq.org/
Searchable guide to Judaism, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices and customs, written predominantly from an Orthodox point of view.

RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
http://jnul.huji.ac.il/rambi/
Selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Compiled from periodicals and collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.
Top


Professional Organizations

American Academy of Religion
http://www.aarweb.org/
World's largest association of academics who research or teach topics related to religion.

American Jewish Committee
http://www.ajc.org

Association for Jewish Studies
http://www.ajsnet.org

Buddhist Association of the United States
http://www.baus.org/

Buddhist Society UK
http://www.thebuddhistsociety.org/

Islamic Society of North America
http://www.isna.net/

Orthodox Union
http://www.ou.org/

Union for Reform Judaism
http://urj.org/

Top

Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style
REF (Ready Ref) Z 253 .U69 2003
http://www.wisc.edu/writetest/Handbook/DocChicago.html

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
REF (Ready Ref) LB 2369 .G53 2003
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_mla.html
Standard guide for undergraduate students in the humanities. Offers guidance in all aspects of writing a paper, including preparing citations using the MLA documentation style, for print and electronic works.

SBL Handbook of Style : For Ancient Near Eastern, Biblical, and Early Christian Studies
REF PN 147 .S26 1999
Manual which covers style issues for manuscripts and research essays in biblical studies and related fields

Top


Last updated: September 7, 2006
By: Patricia Mardeusz

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home