UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Psychology Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals and Publication Guides

Major Reference Works

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

A to Z Handbook of Child and Adolescent Issues
REF BF 721 .T38 2000

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
REF BF 109.A1 B56 2002

Child Development
REF HQ 772 .C436 2002

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science (4 volumes)
REF BF 31 .E52 2001

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-IV-TR
REF RC 455.2.C4 D536 2000

Dictionary of Psychology [Remote access - UVM Only]

Encyclopedia of Aging [Remote access - UVM Only]

Encyclopedia of Disability [Remote access - UVM Only]

Encyclopedia of Psychology (8 volumes)
REF BF31 .E53 2000

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender : Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender (2 volumes)
REF HQ1115 .E43 2001

Handbook of Affective Sciences
REF BF 511 .H35 2003

Handbook of Child Psychology (4 volumes)
REF BF 721 .H242 2006

Handbook of Psychology (12 volumes)
REF BF 121 .H1955 2003

Oxford Companion to the Mind
REF BF31 .O94 2004

Psychologists Desk Reference
REF RC 467.2 P78 2005

Tests and Measurement Tools

Mental Measurements Yearbook [Remote access - UVM Only]
Print: REF Z 5814.P8 B91

Tests in Print VI : an Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests
DANA REF BF 431 T345 2002

Education and Careers in Psychology

Allyn & Bacon Guide to Master's Programs in Psychology and Counseling Psychology
REF BF 77 .B87 1998

Graduate Study in Psychology
REF BF 77 .G73

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Primary Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) [Remote access - UVM Only]

Mental Measurements Yearbook [Remote access - UVM Only]
The online version of Mental Measurements Yearbook.

PsycINFO [Remote access - UVM Only]
The most complete guide to articles, book chapters, and dissertations on topics in all areas of psychology. All entries include abstracts. Coverage: 1872 - present.

Web of Science [Remote access - UVM Only]
Includes the Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), the Science Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Search options include author, keyword, and cited refereces. Entries include abstracts. Coverage: 1982 - present.

Secondary Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Social Sciences Abstracts [Remote access - UVM Only]
In addition to covering psycology this index covers the field of sociology. Coverage: 1983 - present.

Social Services Abstracts [Remote access - UVM Only]
Covers a wide variety of topics related to the practice of work in the social services including: addiiction; crisis intervention; violence, abuse, and neglect; and the family. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Social Work Abstracts [Remote access - UVM Only]
Index to articles from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. Coverage 1977 - present.

Top


Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Psychology


Top


Recommended Web Sites

Encyclopedia of Psychology -- Psychology Websites
http://www.psychology.org/

Psych Web
http://www.psychwww.com/

Psychology Grad Schools
http://www.gradschools.com/listings/menus/psychology_menu.html

PsychPort
http://www.psycport.com/
Daily update of popular media coverage of issues related to psychology.


Top


Professional Organizations

American Psychological Association
http://www.apa.org/

American Psychological Society
http://www.psychologicalscience.org/
Top


Style Manuals

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (5th edition)
REF DESK BF 76.7 .A46 5th ed. 2001

Introduction to APA Style (The Purdue Online Writing Lab)
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/workshops/hypertext/APA/introduction.html

And bear in mind...

Journals in Psychology
REF BF 76.8 .J68

Writer's Guide : Psychology
REF BF 76.7 .B6 1987

Top


Last updated: February 2, 2007
By: Daisy Benson

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home