UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Political Science Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

America Votes
REF JK 1967 .A8 

Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science: A User's Guide to its Terms
REF JA 61 .B43 1999

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics
REF JA 61 .C665 1996

Congressional Quarterly Almanac
REF JK 1 .C66

CQ's Politics in America
REF DESK JK 1012 .C648 (latest)

CQ Weekly
REF JK1 .C15

Dictionary of Political Biography
REF D 412 .D53 1998

Dictionary of Political Thought
REF JA 61 .S37 1982

Dictionary of 20th-century World Politics
REF JA 61 .S53 1993

Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations (4 volumes)
REF E 183.7 .E53 1997

Federal Yellow Book
REF DESK JK 6 .F45 (latest)

The Gallup Poll: Public Opinion
REF HN 90 .P8 G35 (1935 - present)

Directory of Political Science Faculty
REF JA88.U6 G8 (latest)

Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Modern Political Biography
REF D 412.6 .H88 1999

Macmillan Dictionary of Political Quotations
REF PN 6084.P6 E54 1993

New Handbook of Political Science
REF JA 66 .N49 1996

Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World
REF JA 61 .O95 2001

Oxford Dictionary of Political Quotations
REF PN 6084.P6 O94 1996

Political Handbook of the World
REF JF 37 .P6 (latest)

Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth-century Political Thinkers
REF JA 83 .R725 1998

Statesman's Year-Book
REF DESK JA 51. S57 (latest)

United States Government Manual
REF DESK JK 421 .A3 (latest)
DOCUMENTS REF AE 2.108/2

Who's Who in American Politics
REF E 176 .W6424 (latest)

World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures (2 volumes)
REF JF 511 .W67 1998

World Encyclopedia of Political Systems & Parties (3 volumes)
REF JF 2011 .W67 1999

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Primary Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

UVM Libraries Government Information
This site has links to a wide array of U.S. Government, Vermont, Canadian, international, and map-related sites.

CQ Researcher
This database provides access to full-text reports covering a wide variety of significant political issues.

C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in Political Science, 1886-1974 (8 volumes)
REF Z 7163 .C65

CRS Reports [Remote access - UVM only]
Reports issued by the Congressional Research Service covering a broad range of topics.

GPO (Monthly Catalog) [Remote access - UVM only]
This is the Web version of the Monthly Catalog of U.S. government information. It includes books, articles, maps, and some audiovisuals. Coverage begins in July 1976.

International Bibliography of Political Science (1952 - date)
REF Z 7163 .I64
Indexes a wide variety of sources from around the world. Most of the references are to materials in English.

International Political Science Abstracts (1951 - date)
REF Z 7161 .I57
Includes abstracts of political science articles published in scholarly journals and yearbooks worldwide.

Major Studies & Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service: Bibliography & Indexes (1916 - 2004) (print)
DOCUMENTS REF JK 1108. M25 
These indexes serve as a guide to the microfilm set.

LexisNexis Congressional [Remote access - UVM only]
Includes CIS Indexes of congressional publications, full-text of congressional bills, bill-tracking, the Congressional Record, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, Public Laws, information about the members of the United States Congress, and testimony and documents from Congressional Committees.

PAIS International [Remote access - UVM only]
PAIS Archive [Remote access - UVM only]
REF Z 7163 .P97
Public Affairs Information Service Bulletin (print)(1968 - 1990)
REF Z 7163 .P97 Bulletin of the Public Affairs Information Service; Annual Cumulation (print) (1915 - 1967)
REF Z 7163 .P9
PAIS International indexes and abstracts articles, books, book chapters, government documents, and pamphlets on public policy. Subject areas include banking, demographics, government, international relations, public administration, and many related topics. The online version of PAIS International covers 1972 to the present. The PAIS Archive covers 1937 - 1976 (coverage back to 1915 will be available beginning in the fall of 2005).

PARLINE Database
http://www.ipu.org/parline-e/parlinesearch.asp
The Parline Database provides information on parliaments around the world. The site (a derivative of Parliaments On-Line) has been developed by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and is regularly updated on the basis of official information provided by national parliaments.

Social Sciences Abstracts [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides indexing and abstracts of articles from international, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Includes references from 1983 - present with abstracts beginning in 1994.

THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet
http://thomas.loc.gov/
THOMAS allows you to track bills in Congress, read the text of recently passed legislation, follow the debates recorded in the Congressional Record, find homepages for Congressional Committees, and locate legislators. There are links to historical documents and to several government agency homepages.

Vermont Legislature
http://www.leg.state.vt.us/
The site for the Vermont Legislature provides links to proposed legislation, bill tracking, enacted legislation, statutes, and information on legislative committees.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [Remote access - UVM only]
ABC Pol Sci (print) (1969 -1997) (1984 to date included online in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts)
THIRD FLOOR Z 7161 .A214
Political Science and Government Abstracts supplies up-to-date bibliographic information and research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Over 1,000 journals in the international periodical literature for political science are covered. Entries date from 1975 - present.

Secondary Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Expanded Academic ASAP Full-text Databases [Remote Access - UVM only]
Expanded Academic is a multidisciplinary index to approximately 1,900 journals and magazines, 900 of which display the full text of articles. It also indexes The New York Times. Entries date from 1980 - present.

LexisNexis Academic [Remote access - UVM only]
LexisNexis Academic is a Web service providing full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference sources. Many newspapers can be searched back to 1980. Primary legal sources for the United States, the 50 states, and Canada are available. Over 200 law reviews are available full-text, as well as foreign-language newspapers; country and state profiles; media transcripts, and many other full-text sources.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Political Science

JSTOR Full-text Databases [Remote Access- UVM only]
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides an electronic archive of scholarly journals. Users can browse the journals or retrieve articles via full-text searching. J-Stor contains an excellent selection of political science journals. Note that J-Stor does not provide access to the most recent five years for several of the journals.

Project Muse Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM Only]
A collection of over 100 journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other major university presses. Project Muse includes a very good selection of journals in political science as well as a number of journals in related areas.

Top

Recommended Web Sites

Keele Guides to Government and Politics on the Internet (Keele University, U.K.)
http://www.keele.ac.uk/depts/por/
Includes links to governments, constitutions, and election information for most countries as well as links to political theory and other political science sites.

Political Advocacy Groups (Kathi Carlisle Fountain, Meriam Library, California State University, Chico)
http://www.csuchico.edu/~kcfount/index.html
Links to a large number of political advocacy groups from all parts of the political spectrum. Indicates whether the group rates the performance of members of Congress and the amount of press coverage the group receives.

Political Science Resources on the Web (University of Michigan Documents Center)
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/polisci.html
An award-winning site providing links to a tremendous number of useful sources.

State and Local Government on the Net
http://www.statelocalgov.net/index.cfm
Links to state and local government sites as well as national associations.

Top

Professional Organizations

American Political Science Association
http://www.apsanet.org/

American Society for Public Administration
http://www.aspanet.org/

Canadian Political Science Association
http://www.uottawa.ca/associations/cpsa-acsp/

International Political Science Association
http://www.ipsa.ca

Political Studies Association of the UK
http://www.psa.ac.uk/

Top

Statistical Resources

LexisNexis Statistical [Remote Access - UVM only]
Indexes statistics on population and demographics, business and financial activities, domestic and international trade, government programs, health, and politics from the U.S. government (including Statistical Abstract) as well as international intergovernmental organizations, state governments, and private sources. Includes links to government statistical Web sites such as the Census Bureau. Full text or links to the full text are available for some of the indexed sources. Years of coverage vary.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
DOCUMENTS REF C 3.134 (latest and earlier editions)
REF DESK HA 202 .A1
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Statistical Abstract is a compilation of some of the most-frequently used statistical data for the United States. The online version includes 1995-present in an Adobe Acrobat format. The print version is often easier to use.

Statistical Resources on the Web/ Political Science (University of Michigan)
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stpolisc.html
This site provides links and annotations for a tremendous number of statistical resources useful to political scientists.

Top

Style Manuals

Writer's Guide: Political Science
REF JA 86 .B52 1987

Writing in Political Science: A Practical Guide
REF JA86 .S36 2005

Top


Last updated: August 18, 2006
By: Scott Schaffer
   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home