UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Physics Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

American Institute of Physics Handbook, 3rd edition
REF QC 61 .A5 1972

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
REF QD 65 .H3

Encyclopedia of Physics, 3rd edition
REF QC 5 .E546 1985

Gas Tables: Thermodynamic Properties, 2nd edition
REF QC 161.5 K43 1979 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Handbook of Optics
REF QC 369 .H35 1995 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Handbuch der Physik. Encyclopedia of Physics (55 volumes)
QC 21 .H327 (Library Research Annex)

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 7th edition (20 volumes)
REF Q 121 .M3 1992

Physicist's Desk Reference
REF QC 61 .P49 1989s

Physics Quick Reference Guide
REF QC 61 .C65 1995

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Applied Science & Technology Index [Remote access - UVM only]

INSPEC [Remote access - UVM only]
Published by the Institute of Physics, is the most comprehensive database for physics and the related disciplines of computer science, electrical engineering and applied mathematics.

Physics Abstracts (former title: Science abstracts. Section A)
Cook Chemistry/Physics Library (indexes) Shelved by title

PubScience
http://pubsci.osti.gov/
A U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) service to "facilitate searching and accessing peer-reviewed journal literature in the physical sciences and other energy-related disciplines."

SPIN Web [Remote access - UVM only]
SPIN Web is a physics "research environment", which provides a set of resources for research, the most important of which is the ability to search across more than 80 journals indexed in the SPIN Database. The search results are displayed as a list of article titles that are hyperlinked to the article abstracts. The database contains about one million records, from 1975 to the present.

STN Easy [Remote access - UVM only. 5:00pm - 7:00am only]

Web of Science [Remote access - UVM only]

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Astronomy

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Physics

American Physical Society Journals
http://publish.aps.org/

ArXiv.org (Cornell University Library)
Open access to Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Quantitative Biology Journals.

Science Direct Web Editions
http://www.sciencedirect.com/web-editions

Physics Newsletters (from the American Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, CERN and HEP Network).
http://www.hep.net/documents/newsletters/newsletters.html

Top

Recommended Web Sites

High Energy Physics Information Center
http://www.hep.net/

Institute of Physics
http://www.ioppublishing.com/

Physical Reference Data and Constants (NIST)
http://physics.nist.gov/PhysRefData/contents.html

Science Reference Room: Index to Physical, Chemical and Other Property Data (Arizona State University)
http://www.mtholyoke.edu/lits/library/guides/physics.htm

Virtual Physics Library
http://vlib.org/Physics.html

Top

Professional Organizations

Acoustical Society of America (ASA)
http://asa.aip.org/

American Institute of Physics (AIP)
http://www.aip.org

American Physical Society (APS)
http://www.aps.org

Institute of Physics (UK)
http://www.iop.org

Optical Society of America (OSA)
http://www.osa.org

Top

Style Manuals

AIP style manual for guidance in writing, editing, and preparing physics manuscripts for publication, 4th ed.
http://www.aip.org/pubservs/style/4thed/toc.html

Top

Last updated: September 7, 2006
By: Elizabeth Hassemer

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home