UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Philosophy Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
REF B 41 .C35

Columbia History of Western Philosophy
REF B 72 .P55 1999

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (multi-volume set)
REF BH 56 .E53 1998

Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics (multi-volume set)
REF BJ 63 .A66 1998

Encyclopedia of Bioethics (multi-volume set)
REF QH 332 .E52 1995

Encyclopedia of Philosophy (multi-volume set)
REF B 41 .E5

Key Concepts in Eastern Philosophy
REF B 5010 .L33 1999

One Hundred Twentieth-Century Philosophers
REF B 804 .O55 1998

Oxford Companion to Philosophy
REF B 51 .O94 1995

Philosophy: A Guide to the Reference Literature
REF Z 7125 .B97 1997

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (multi-volume set)
REF B 51 .R68 1998

World Philosophy: A Contemporary Bibliography
REF Z 7125 .W87 1993

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Philosopher's Index
REF Z 7127 .P47

The preeminent indexing and abstracting publication for the international literature on philosophy. Coverage: 1967 - present.

Arts and Humanities Search [Remote access - UVM Only]

The online equivalent of Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Search indexes articles, reviews, fiction, and poetry from the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Each article citation includes the list of cited references at the end of the article. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Humanities Index [Remote access - UVM Only]

This online version of Humanities Index finds articles, book and film reviews, and creative writing in core humanities journals. Subjects include art, music, classics, folklore, history, religion, linguistics, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and archaeology. Coverage: 1984 - present.

Expanded Academic ASAP Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM Only]

Expanded Academic ASAP is a multidisciplinary index to ca. 1,900 journals and magazines, 900 of which display the full text of articles. It also indexes The New York Times. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Ethics

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Logic

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Philosophy

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Speculative Philosophy

Project Muse Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM Only]

An electronic collection of over 100 journals published by major university presses. The journal collection covers the arts, humanities, and social sciences, and includes nine journals in philosophy.

JSTOR Full-text Databases (Remote Access- UVM only)

JSTOR provides an electronic archive of scholarly journals, including a collection of philosophy journals. Users can browse the journals or retrieve articles via full-text searching.

Philosophy in Cyberspace
http://www-personal.monash.edu.au/~dey/phil/

The "Text-related" Section 2 of this Web site offers many links to electronic text collections.

Top

Recommended Web Sites

Guide to Philosophy on the Internet
http://www.earlham.edu/~peters/philinks.htm

A comprehensive list of Web sites and pages on philosophy, organized under 17 headings.

Humbul Humanities Hub: Philosophy
http://www.humbul.ac.uk/output/subout.php?subj=philosophy

Web sites on a wide range of topics in philosophy, grouped under six headings. Most entries are annotated, and there are links to other subject guides.

Internet Resources: Philosophy
http://www.ala.org/acrl/resapr00.html

This is a short list of the major search engines and Web sites for philosophy, compiled and annotated by Kelly M. Broughton.

Philosophy in Cyberspace
http://www-personal.monash.edu.au/~dey/phil/

Well-organized, annotated guide to topics in philosophy, philosophers, online texts, organizations, and Web-based communication.

Top

Professional Organizations

American Association of Philosophy Teachers
http://aapt-online.dhs.org/aapt.html

American Philosophical Association
http://www.apa.udel.edu/apa/index.html

Philosophy Societies
http://www.liv.ac.uk/Philosophy/societies.html

Society for Philosophical Inquiry
http://www.philosopher.org/

Society for Women in Philosophy
http://www.uh.edu/~cfreelan/SWIP/

Top

Style Manuals

Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian)
Ready REF LB 2369 .T8 1996

Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format
http://www.augsburg.edu/writinglab/apadocumentation.htm

Top

Last updated: July 28, 2006
   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home