UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Music Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

General

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
REF ML 105 .B16

Billboard Illustrated Encyclopedia of Music
REF ML 100 .B55 2003

Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
REF ML 105 .h38 1996

International Encyclopedia of Women Composers (multi-volume set)
REF ML 105 .C7 1987

Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography REF ML 113 .D83 1997

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (multi-volume set)
REF ML 100 .N48 2001

New Oxford Companion to Music
REF ML 100 .N5 1983

Queer Encyclopedia of Music, Dance, and Musical Theater
REF ML 100 .Q44 2004

Classical & Opera

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-century Classical Musicians
REF ML 105 .S612 1997

Billboard Illustrated Encyclopedia of Classical Music
REF ML 100 .B39 2000

New Grove Dictionary of Opera (multi-volume set)
REF ML 102 .O6 N5 1992

World & Popular

All Music Guide series
Blues: REF ML 156.4 .B6 A45 2003
Country: REF ML 156.4 .C7 A45 1997
Electronic: REF ML 102 .U53 A55 2001
Hip-hop REF ML 156.4 .R27 A45 2003
Jazz: REF ML 156.4 .J3 A45 2002
Rock, Pop &Soul: REF ML 156.9 .A39 2002

Contemporary Musicians (multi-volume set)
REF ML 385 .C645

Encyclopedia of Popular Music (multi-volume set)
REF ML 102 .P66 G84 1998

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (multi-volume set)
REF ML 100 .G16 1997

Marshall Cavendish Illustrated History of Popular Music (multi-volume set)
REF ML 3470 .M36 1990

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Primary Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Expanded Academic ASAP Full-text Databases[Remote access - UVM Only]

Expanded Academic ASAP is a multidisciplinary index to ca. 1,900 journals and magazines, 900 of which display the full text of articles. It also indexes The New York Times. Music periodicals such as Early Music, Music & Letters, and American Music are available full-text. Coverage: 1980 - present.

RILM Abstracts [Remote access - UVM Only]

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is the premier database for international research in all areas of music since 1969. Containing over 300,000 entries, RILM includes descriptions of books, book chapters, journal articles, conference proceedings, reviews of performances and published music, and more.

Music Index
REF ML 118 .M84

The Music Index lists citations of articles and book reviews from ca. 500 music periodicals. Search by author or by subject. Coverage: 1949 - 2000.

Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music: A Guide to Their Contents (2 vol.)
REF ML 113 .H52 1980

Collected Editions, Historical Series & Sets, & Monuments of Music: A Bibliography
REF ML 113 .H55 1997

The two preceding works locate individual music scores within larger, multi-volume publications.

Secondary Indexes and Abstracts

America History and Life [Remote access - UVM Only]

Indexes and abstracts information on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from journals as well as book reviews, film reviews, and the abstracts of dissertations. Coverage: 1964 - present.

Historical Abstracts [Remote access - UVM Only]

Indexes and abstracts information on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Includes citations to journal articles as well as books and dissertations. Coverage: 1954 - present.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Music

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amhome.html
(At home page, click on: Collection Finder > Performing Arts.)

This site displays covers and notation of sheet music published in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

eHRAF Collection of Ethnography [Remote access - UVM Only]

Ideal for ethnomusicology, eHRAF is a full-text collection of fully indexed books, journal articles, dissertations, and manuscripts that discuss specific aspects of 78 selected cultures from around the world. Each work is indexed at the paragraph level using specific subject codes.

Expanded Academic ASAP Full-text Databases[Remote access - UVM Only]

Expanded Academic ASAP is a multidisciplinary index to ca. 1,900 journals and magazines, 900 of which display the full text of articles. It also indexes The New York Times. Music periodicals such as Early Music, Music & Letters, and American Music are available full-text. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Project Muse Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM Only]

An electronic collection of over 100 journals published by major university presses. The journal collection covers the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

JSTOR Full-text Databases (Remote Access- UVM only)

JSTOR provides an electronic archive of scholarly journals, including journals in history and African American studies. Users can browse the journals or retrieve articles via full-text searching.

Top

Recommended Web Sites

Worldwide Internet Music Resources
http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/

This Indiana University site is an extensive guide to Web sites on all aspects of music. Nine categories of links cover all major academic, commercial, legal, organizational, and individual Web sites dealing with music.

DW3 Classical Music Resources
http://www.lib.duke.edu/music/resources/classical_index.html

Includes links to electronic journals, composer sites, and other electronic resources for music research.

Top

Professional Organizations

Worldwide Internet Music Resources
http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/

At this Web site, follow the links: Research and Study®Professional Societies.

*MENC: The National Association for Music Education
http://www.menc.org/ *(Formerly known as: Music Educators National Conference)

Music Library Association
http://www.musiclibraryassoc.org/

Music Publishers' Association of the United States http://www.mpa.org/

Top

Style Manuals

Irvine's Writing About Music (3rd ed.)
Main ML 3797 .I79 1999

Writing About Music: An Introductory Guide (3rd ed.)
REF ML 3797 .W54 2002

Short Guide to Writing about Music
Main ML 3797 .B4 2000

Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian)
Ready REF LB 2369 .T8 1996

Top

Last updated: July 27, 2006
By: Jake Barickman
   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home