UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Mechanical Engineering Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Handbooks, Manuals, and Tables

ASME Handbook
TJ 233 .A57

Engineering Formulas, 7th edition
REF TA 151 .G4713 1997

Engineering Mathematics Handbook, 4th edition
REF TA 332 .T85 1998

Engineers’ Guide to Composite Materials
REF TA 418.9 .C6 .W44 1987

Handbook of Fluid Dynamics
QA 911 .S85 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Machinery’s Handbook: A Reference Book for the Mechanical Engineer, Designer, Manufacturing Engineer, Draftsman, Toolmaker, and Machinist, 27th edition
REF TJ 151 .M3

Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 8th edition
REF TJ 151 .M37

Mechanical Engineers' Handbook
REF TJ 151 .M395 1986

Shock and Vibration Handbook, 2nd edition
TA 355 . H35 1976

Standard Handbook of Engineering Calculations, 3rd edition
REF TA 332 .S73 1995

Standard Handbook of Machine Design
REF TJ 230 .S8235 1986

Wiley Engineer's Desk Reference: A Concise Guide for the Professional Engineer, 2nd edition
REF TA 151 .H424 1998

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering, 4th edition
REF TJ 9 .N28 1996

Encyclopedia of Fluid Mechanics (10 volumes)
REF TA 357 .E55 1986

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (15 volumes)
Q 123 .E497 1987

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering
REF TA 9 .M35 1984

Standards

Annual Book of ASTM Standards 2006
REF TA 401 .A653

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts [Remote access – UVM only]

Compendex (Engineering Village) [Remote access - UVM only]
Comprehensive, interdisciplinary engineering database that includes abstracts of international journals, conference papers, and technical reports.

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) [Remote access - UVM only]

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Mechanical Engineering and Machinery

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Mechanics of Engineering and Applied Mechanics

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Motor Vehicles, Aeronautics, and Astronautics

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Railroad Engineering and Operation

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Technology

Top

Recommended Web Sites

4 Specs.com
http://www.4specs.com/
Provides free listings for product manufacturers and trade organizations. It links materials, specifications, and companies.

A Dictionary of Measures, Units, and Conversion
http://www.ex.ac.uk/cimt/dictunit/dictunit.htm

Engineering Units of Measurement and Conversion
http://www.efunda.com/units/

Icrank Mechanical Engineering Portal
http://icrank.com/cgi-bin/pageman/pageout.cgi?path=/index_html.html

Mechanical Conversions, Formulas, and References
http://www.rfcafe.com/references/mechanical.htm

Online Ethics Center for Engineering and Science
http://onlineethics.org/

Top

Professional Organizations

American Society of Mechanical Engineers International (ASME)
http://www.asme.org

National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)
http://www.nsbe.org

Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
http://www.swe.org

Top

Style Manuals

Effective Writing for Engineers, Managers, Scientists
PE 1408 .T5

Guide to Writing as an Engineer, 2nd edition
T 11 .B396 2005

Pocket Manual of Technical Writing for Engineers and Scientists, 2nd edition
T 11 .F53 2003

Top

Last updated: August 17, 2006
By: Elizabeth Hassemer

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home