UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Materials Science Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Handbooks, Manuals, and Tables

ASM Metals Reference Book, 2nd edition
REF TA 459 .A78 1983

Composite Materials Handbook, 2nd edition
TA 418.9 .C6 .S38 1992

CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook, 2nd edition
REF TA 403.4 .C74 1994

Engineering Formulas, 7th edition
REF TA 151 .G4713 1997

Engineering Mathematics Handbook, 4th edition
REF TA 332 .T85 1998

Engineers’ Guide to Composite Materials
REF TA 418.9 .C6 .W44 1987

Polymer Handbook, 4th edition
QUARTO QD 388 .P65 1999 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Smithells Metals Handbook, 6th edition
REF TN 671 .S55 1983

Standard Handbook of Engineering Calculations, 3rd edition
REF TA 332 .S73 1995

Wiley Engineer's Desk Reference: A Concise Guide for the Professional Engineer, 2nd edition
REF TA 151 .H424 1998

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

ASM Materials Engineering Dictionary
REF TA 402 .A86 1992

Concise Encyclopedia of Composite Materials, rev. edition
REF TA 418.9 .C6 C635 1994

Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering
REF TA 402 .E53 1986

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (15 volumes)
Q 123 .E497 1987

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering
REF TA 9 .M35 1984

Standards

Annual Book of ASTM Standards 2006
REF TA 401 .A653

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts [Remote access - UVM only]

Compendex (Engineering Village) [Remote access - UVM only]
Comprehensive, interdisciplinary engineering database that includes abstracts of international journals, conference papers, and technical reports.

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) [Remote access - UVM only]

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Chemical Technology

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Manufactures

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Materials of Engineering

Top

Recommended Web Sites

4 Specs.com
http://www.4specs.com/
Provides free listings for product manufacturers and trade organizations. It links materials, specifications, and companies.

A Dictionary of Measures, Units, and Conversion
http://www.ex.ac.uk/cimt/dictunit/dictunit.htm

Online Ethics Center for Engineering and Science
http://onlineethics.org/

Top

Professional Organizations

ASM International (ASM)
http://www.asm-intl.org

National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)
http://www.nsbe.org

Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
http://www.swe.org

Top

Style Manuals

Effective Writing for Engineers, Managers, Scientists
PE 1408 .T5

Guide to Writing as an Engineer, 2nd edition
T 11 .B396 2005

Pocket Manual of Technical Writing for Engineers and Scientists, 2nd edition
T 11 .F53 2003

Top

Last updated: August 17, 2006
By: Elizabeth Hassemer

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home