UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Library and Information Science Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals

Major Reference Works

Almanacs

Bowker Annual: Library and Book Trade Almanac
REF Z 731 .A47 (latest volume)

Compilation of professional news, reports, legislation, statistics, research, and reference information.

Certification

Requirements for Certification of Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators for Elementary and Secondary Schools
REF LB 1771 .W6 (latest volume)

Dictionaries

Harrod's Librarians' Glossary
REF Z 1006 .H322 1996

ODLIS: Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science
http://www.lu.com/odlis

Directories

ALA Membership Directory
REF Z 673 .A5 H37 1997-1998

American Library Directory
REF DESK Z 731 .A53 (latest volumes)

Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers
REF Z 731 .D57 (latest volumes)

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science
REF Z 1006 .E57 (latest volumes)

A multivolume encyclopedia kept up to date with annual supplements.

Periodicals Directories

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
REF DESK Z 6951 .A97 (latest volumes)

An annual guide to publications and broadcasting stations, including newspapers, magazines, journals, radio stations, television stations and cable systems.

Magazines for Libraries
REF DESK Z6941 .M23 (latest volume)

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory [Remote access - UVM only]
REF DESK Z 6941 .U5 (latest volumes)

Comprehensive international directory with listings by subject area and title.

Publishing and Publishers Directories

American Book Trade Directory
REF DESK Z475 .A5 (latest volume)

Books in Print [Remote access - UVM only]
REF DESK Z1215 .P972 (latest volumes)

Publishers Directory
REF DESK Z475 .B65 (latest volume)

Publishers, Distributors, and Wholesalers of the United States
REF DESK Z475 .P86 (latest volume)

Review Sources

American Reference Books Annual
REF Z 1035.1 .A55 (1991-latest volume)
Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

ERIC [Remote access - UVM only]
ERIC provides access by keyword and subject heading to journal articles and reports, from 1966 to the present. ERIC indexes and abstracts a number of fundamental library journals, including School Library Journal and Hornbook.

Information Science and Technology Abstracts [Remote access - UVM only]

The Information Science Abstracts database contains references and abstracts to the world's literature in librarianship, information science and related disciplines. The database indexes journal articles, books, research reports, conference proceedings, and patents. Entries date from 1966 - present.

Library Literature and Information Full Text [Remote access - UVM only]

Library Literature and Information Full Text indexes journal articles, book and media reviews, books, pamphlets, microforms, theses, and films in the field of Library and Information Science. Coverage is 12/1984 - present. The index is updated monthly.

Library Reference Center
http://www.epnet.com/freeres.asp

Maintained by EBSCO and available free of charge, the Library Reference Center contains indexing and abstracts from over 30 of the most popular library trade journals including School Library Journal, American Libraries and T H E Journal.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Library and Information Science

BUBL Journals: Library & Information Science
http://bubl.ac.uk/journals/

JSTOR [Remote access- UVM only]

JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides an electronic archive of scholarly journals. Users can browse the journals or retrieve articles via full-text searching.

Online Library Science, Education and Technology Periodicals for Educators
http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/publications.htm

Project Muse [Remote access - UVM only]

A collection of over 100 journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other major university presses. The journal collection covers the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Yahoo>Reference>Library
and Information Science>Journals

http://dir.yahoo.com/Reference/Libraries/
Library_and_Information_Science/Journals/

Top

Recommended Web Sites

Cybrarians' Favorites
http://home.mchsi.com/~albeej/pages/Favorites.html

Internet Public Library
http://www.ipl.org

The Internet Public Library is an educational initiative of the University of Michigan School of Information and is sponsored by Bell & Howell Information and Learning.

Librarians' Index to the Internet
http://www.lii.org/

The Librarians' Index to the Internet is a searchable, annotated subject directory of more than 8,200 Internet resources selected and evaluated by librarians for their usefulness to users of public libraries. It's meant to be used by both librarians and non-librarians as a reliable and efficient guide to described and evaluated Internet resources.

Library and Information Science Resources
http://www.loc.gov/global/library/library.html

A Library of Congress Internet resource page.

Library Reference Center
http://www.epnet.com/freeres.asp

Maintained by EBSCO and available free of charge, the Library Reference Center contains indexing and abstracts from over 30 of the most popular library trade journals including School Library Journal, American Libraries and T H E Journal.

Top

Professional Organizations

Professional Organizations in the Information Sciences
http://witloof.sjsu.edu/peo/allorgs/orgs.html


Top

Statistical Resources

ARL Annual Salary Survey
REF Z 682.3 .A79A (latest volume)

ARL Statistics
REF Z 675 .U5 A78 1988-1999

1999 Academic Library Trends & Statistics
REF Z 675 .U5 A25 1999

Library Research Service
http://www.lrs.org

Top

Style Manuals

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (5th edition)
REF DESK BF 76.7 .A46 5th ed. 2001

Introduction to APA Style (The Purdue Online Writing Lab)
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/workshops/hypertext/
APA/introduction.html


Top

Last updated: July 27, 2006
By: Linda Brew

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home