Law Subject Guide
Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals
Major Reference Works
Primary Legal Sources
Acts and Resolves passed by the General Assembly of the State of Vermont (Laws of Vermont)
Spec. Coll. KFV 25 .A2
A chronological listing of all laws enacted in the state of Vermont.
Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.)
Docs Law AE 2.106/3
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) contains all federal regulations currently in effect and is arranged by subject.
Federal Register (Fed. Reg.)
Docs Law AE 2 .106
The Federal Register is a daily publication that includes regulations
issued by federal agencies, presidential proclamations, and executive
orders.
Federal Reporter (F., F.2d, F.3d)
Docs Law KF 115 .F42
The Federal Reporter contains decisions of the United States Courts of Appeal.
**Note that this subscription was cancelled in 2005. Use LexisNexis Academic for more recent decisions.
Federal Supplement (F. Supp., F.Supp.2d)
Docs Law KF 120 .F42
The Federal Supplement contains decisions of the federal District Courts.
**Note that this subscription was cancelled in 2005. Use LexisNexis Academic for more recent decisions.
West's Federal Practice Digest
Docs Law KF 127 .W483
The Federal Practice Digest provides access to decisions of all federal courts.
United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A. or U.S.C.)
Ref KF 62 .U5
United States Code Annotated contains all federal laws currently in effect and is arranged by subject.
United States Reports (U.S.)
Docs Law JU 6.8
U.S. Reports contains decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States.
United States Statutes at Large (Stat.)
Docs Law AE 2 .111
Statutes at Large contains all federally enacted public laws in chronological order.
Vermont Reports (Vt.)
Spec. Coll. KFV 45 .A2
Vermont Reports contains decisions of the states Supreme Court.
Vermont Statutes Annotated (Vt. Stat. Ann. Or V.S.A.)
Ref. and Spec. Coll. KFV 30 1959 .A23
Vermont Statutes Annotated contains all Vermont laws currently in effect and is arranged by subject.
Secondary Sources
American Bench: Judges of the Nation (latest)
Ref KF 8700 .A19 A47
Ballentine's Law Dictionary
REF KF 156 .H36
Basic Legal Forms, with Commentary
REF KF 170 .H9
Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Citations: Reference Guide for Attorneys, Legal Secretaries, Paralegals, and Law Students
REF KF 246 .P73 1997
Black's Law Dictionary (latest)
REF KF 156 .B53
Corpus Juris Secundum: A Complete Restatement of the Entire American Law as Developed by all Reported Cases
REF KF 65 .A4
Finding the Law, 11th edition
REF KF 240 .B45 1999
Landmark Briefs and Arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States
THIRD FLOOR KF 101.8 .K87 (non-circulating)
Law and Legal Information Directory
REF KF 190 .L35 (latest)
Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory
REF KF 190 .M3 (latest)
http://www.martindale.com/xp/Martindale/home.xml
Official Guide to ABA-approved Law Schools
REF KF 265 .O33
http://officialguide.lsac.org/docs/cgi-bin/home.asp
Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Names, Federal and State
DOCS LAW & REF KF 90.S538
West's Encyclopedia of American Law (12 volumes)
REF KF 154 .W47 1998
Who's Who in American Law (latest edition)
REF KF 372 .W48
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Major Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
A Century of Lawmaking For a New Nation U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1873
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/
Includes congressional debates, journals, statutes, and other documents.
LexisNexis - Congressional [Remote access - UVM Only]
Includes CIS Indexes of congressional publications, full-text of
congressional bills, bill-tracking, the Congressional Record, the Code
of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, Public Laws, information
about the members of the United States Congress, and testimony and
documents from Congressional Committees.
LexisNexis - Academic [Remote access - UVM Only]
LexisNexis - Academic is a service providing full-text access to a wide
range of news, business, legal, and reference sources. Statutes, case
law, and regulations for the United States, Canada, and the European
Union are available. Over 200 law reviews are available full-text.
Shepard's [Remote access - UVM Only]
Shepard's is a citation/indexing tool that allows users to determine
the precedential value of case law. The service assists researchers in
locating cases or other authorities that have cited a prior case or
authority.
THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet
http://thomas.loc.gov/
THOMAS allows you to track bills in Congress, read the text of recently
passed legislation, follow the debates recorded in the Congressional
Record, find homepages for Congressional Committees, and locate
legislators. There
are links to historical documents and to several government agency
homepages.
Vermont Legislature
http://www.leg.state.vt.us/
The site for the Vermont Legislature provides links to proposed
legislation, bill tracking, enacted legislation, statutes, and
information on legislative committees.
Other Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
CRS Reports [Remote access - UVM only]
Reports issued by the Congressional Research Service covering a broad range of topics.
Expanded Academic ASAP [Remote access - UVM only]
Expanded Academic is a multidisciplinary index to approximately 1,900
journals and magazines, 900 of which display the full text of articles.
It also indexes The New York Times. Entries date from 1980 - present.
GPO (Monthly Catalog) [Remote access - UVM only]
This is the Web version of the Monthly Catalog of U.S. government information.
It includes books, articles, maps, and some audiovisuals. Coverage begins in July 1976.
Major Studies & Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service: Bibliography & Indexes (1916 - 2004)
DOCUMENTS REF JK 1108. M25 (latest)
These indexes serve as a guide to the microfilm set.
PAIS International [Remote access - UVM only]
PAIS Archive [Remote access - UVM only]
REF Z 7163 .P97
Public Affairs Information Service Bulletin (print)(1968 - 1990)
REF Z 7163 .P97
Bulletin of the Public Affairs Information Service; Annual Cumulation (print) (1915 - 1967)
REF Z 7163 .P9
PAIS International indexes and abstracts articles, books, book
chapters, government documents, and pamphlets on public policy. Subject
areas include banking, demographics, government, international
relations, public administration, and many related topics. The online
version of PAIS International covers 1972 to the present. The PAIS
Archive covers 1937 - 1976 (coverage back to 1915 will be available
beginning in the fall of 2005).
PARLINE Database
http://www.ipu.org/parline-e/parlinesearch.asp
The Parline Database provides information on parliaments around the
world. The site (a derivative of Parliaments On-Line) has been
developed by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and is regularly updated on
the basis of official information provided by national parliaments.
Social Sciences Abstracts [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides indexing and abstracts of articles from international,
English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography,
economics, political science, and law. Includes references from 1983 -
present with abstracts beginning in 1994.
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Law
LexisNexis - Academic [Remote access - UVM Only]
LexisNexis - Academic is a service providing full-text access to over 200 law reviews.
Recommended Web Sites
Findlaw
http://www.findlaw.com/
Findlaw is an excellent legal site with links to case law, statutes,
legal directories, and information on all areas and aspects of law.
Legal Information Institute (Cornell Law School)
http://www.law.cornell.edu/
This site provides access to statutes, case law, legal news, and a wide variety of other legal information.
Legislative Source Book (Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.)
http://www.llsdc.org/sourcebook/
A wealth of useful information on legislative research and legislation.
Lexnotes
http://www.lexnotes.com/index.shtml
Lexnotes is a comprehensive site providing links to legal resources, articles, bibliographies, pathfinders and legal news.
Nolo's Legal Encyclopedia (Self-Help Legal Information)
http://www.nolo.com/lawcenter/ency/index.cfm
Nolo's Online Legal Encyclopedia provides self-help legal information on the complete gamut of legal topics.
Political Advocacy Groups (Kathi Carlisle Fountain, Meriam Library, California State University, Chico)
http://www.csuchico.edu/~kcfount/index.html
Links to a large number of political advocacy groups from all parts of
the political spectrum. Indicates whether the group rates the
performance of members of Congress and the amount of press coverage the
group receives.
This site has links to the homepages and opinions of state courts.
State and Local Government on the Net
http://www.statelocalgov.net/index.cfm
Links to state and local government sites as well as national associations.
University Of Vermont, Bailey/Howe Library, Documents & Maps, Government Information
http://library.uvm.edu/about/documents/
Links to all types of government information including law and legislation, patents, and trademarks.
Professional Organizations
American Bar Association
http://www.abanet.org
Association of Trial Lawyers of America
http://www.atla.org
National Lawyers Guild
http://www.nlg.org
Vermont Bar Association
http://www.vtbar.org
Statistical Resources
Statistical Abstract of the United States
DOCUMENTS REF C 3.134 (latest and earlier editions)
READY REF HA 202 .A1
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Statistical Abstract is a compilation of some of the most-frequently
used statistical data for the United States. The online version
includes 1995-present in an Adobe Acrobat format. The print version is
often easier to use.
LexisNexis - Statistical [Remote Access - UVM only]
Indexes statistics on population and demographics, business and
financial activities, domestic and international trade, government
programs, health, and politics from the U.S. government (including
Statistical Abstract) as well as international intergovernmental
organizations, state governments, and private sources. Includes links
to government statistical Web sites such as the
Census Bureau. Full text or links to the full text are available for
some of the indexed sources. Years of coverage vary.
Uniform Crime Reports
http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm
DOCUMENTS J 1.14/7 READY REF HV 6787 .A3 (latest)
Provides statistics on crime in the United States by state, region,
metropolitan area, and city. Statistics for 1995 to present are on the
web. All years are available in print.
Style Manuals
Complete Guide to Citing Government Information Resources: A Manual for Writers & Librarians
DOCS Z 7164 .G7 G37 2002
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation
REF & DOCS KF 245 .U55
Last updated:
August 18, 2006
By: Scott Schaffer
|
|