UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

U.S. History Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

General Works

American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature (2 volumes)
REF Z 6201 .A55 1995

American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation (2 volumes)
REF E 184 .A1 A63448 1997

Blacks in America, 1492-1970; a Chronology & Fact Book
REF E 185 .S57 1971

Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas (3 volumes)
REF E 77 .N62 1996

Dictionary of American Communal and Utopian History
REF HX 653 .F65

Dictionary of American History (8 volumes)
REF E 174 .D52 1976

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History (5 volumes)
REF E 185 .E54 1996

Encyclopedia of American History
REF E 174.5 .E52 1996

Encyclopedia of American Studies (4 volumes)
REF E 169.1 .E 625 2001

Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America (3 volumes)
REF E 185.61 .E544 1998

Encyclopedia of Rural America (2 volumes)
REF E 169.12 .E5 1997

Encyclopedia of the South
REF F 207.7 .027 1985

Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations (4 volumes)
REF E 183.7 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Women's History in America
REF HQ 1410 .C85 2000

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes (4 volumes)
REF E 77 .G15 1998

Handbook of North American Indians (9 volumes)
REF E 77 .h25

Harvard Guide to American History (2 volumes)
REF Z 1236 .h27 1974

Reader's Companion to American History
REF E 174 .R43 1991

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture (5 volumes)
REF E 169.1 .S764 2000

Biographical Works

American National Biography (24 volumes)
REF E 176 .D565 1999

Dictionary of American Biography (multi-volume)
REF E 176 .D563

Notable American Women, 1607-1950; A Biographical Dictionary (3 volumes)
REF CT 3260 .N57

Notable American Women, the Modern period; A Biographical Dictionary
REF CT 3260 .N573

Primary Sources

American Historical Documents
REF E 173 .A65 1980

Annals of America (23 volumes)
REF E 173 .A793

Documents of American History (2 volumes)
REF E 173 .C66 1973c

18th Century and Earlier

Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America
REF E 188 .E63 1990

19th Century

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War (5 volumes)
REF E 468 .E53 2000

Encyclopedia of the Confederacy (4 volumes)
REF E 487 .E55 1993

Encyclopedia of the Mexican-American War
REF E 404 .C93 1999

Encyclopedia of the War of 1812
REF E 354 .H46 1997

20th Century

Encyclopedia of the Korean War (3 volumes)
REF DS 918 .E53 2000

Historical Encyclopedia of World War II
REF D 740 .E5213

Sixties in America (3 volumes)
REF E 841 .S55 1999

Atlases

Atlas of American History
REF G 1201 .S1 A8 1984

Atlas of American History
REF G 1201 .S1 F4 1995

Hammond United States Atlas
REF G 1200 .h357 1993

Historical Atlas of the United States
REF FOLIO G 1201 .S1 N3 1988 (Atlas Stand)

Mapping America's Past: a Historical Atlas
REF G 1201 .S1 C3 1996

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

America: History and Life [Remote Access - UVM Only]

Indexes journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations on American history and culture from prehistoric times to present. Coverage: 1964 - present.

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective [Remote Access - UVM Only]

This index offers the ability to search a wide range of journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. Coverage: 1907-1984.

New York Times Online Full-text Databases [Remote Access - UVM Only]

Full-text of the New York Times since 1851.

Readers' Guide Retrospective [Remote Access - UVM Only]

Index to popular US magazines. Coverage: 1890 – 1982.

Social Sciences Abstracts [Remote Access - UVM Only]

Indexes English language core journals in anthropology, sociology, psychology, history, and related disciplines. Coverage: 1983 - present.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in World History

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in American History

Archive Americana [Remote Access - UVM Only]

Cmprised of two collections: American State Papers, 1789-1838 - Search or browse these legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817 and U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 - search or browse the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes.

The Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Major Document Collections
http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/major.htm

Making of America
http://moa.umdl.umich.edu/

JSTOR Full-text Databases [Remote Access - UVM Only]

North American Women's Letters and Diaries [Remote Access - UVM Only]

Full-text of letters and diaries by over 1,325 American women covering the colonial period to 1950. Materials are by women from a variety of racial and ethnic backgrounds. Use the advanced search to limit materials by place of birth, date of birth, marital status, occupation, race, and more.

Project Muse Full-text Databases [Remote Access - UVM Only]

University of Virginia Electronic Text Center
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu

Top

Recommended Web Sites

American Memory Project - Library of Congress
http://rs6.loc.gov/amhome.html

American Studies Crossroads Project
http://crossroads.georgetown.edu/

The Charters of Freedom
http://www.archives.gov/exhibit_hall/charters_of_freedom/
charters_of_freedom.html

The Cold War International History Project
http://www.wilsoncenter.org/index.cfm?topic_id=1409&fuseaction=topics.home

Digital History
http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu

Documenting the American South
http://docsouth.unc.edu/index.html

The Emergence of Advertising in America
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/eaa/

George Washington Papers at the Library of Congress
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/gwhtml/gwhome.html

Historical Maps of the United States from Ancient Times to the Present
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/histus.html

The United States Historical Census Browser
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/census/

The Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
http://valley.vcdh.virginia.edu/


Top

Professional Organizations

American Association for State and Local History
http://www.aaslh.org/

American Historical Association
http://www.historians.org

Oral History Association
http://alpha.dickinson.edu/oha/

Organization of American Historians
http://www.oah.org/

Southern Historical Association
http://www.uga.edu/~sha/

Vermont Historical Society
http://www.vermonthistory.org/

Western History Association
http://www.umsl.edu/~wha/

Top

Statistical Resources

The United States Historical Census Browser
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/census/

Top

Style Manuals

The Chicago Manual of Style: Bibliographic Format for References
http://www.libs.uga.edu/ref/chicago.html

Using Modern Language Association (MLA) Format
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_mla.html
Top

Last updated: April 4, 2007
By: Daisy Benson
   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home