UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Historical Preservation Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Bibliographies

Caring for the Past: Preserving, Rehabilitating and Restoring Historic Buildings
DOCS I 29.82:P 92/2/2001-02

Dictionaries

American Vernacular Design, 1870-1940: An Illustrated Glossary
REF NA 710 .G68 1985

Dictionary of Building Preservation
REF NA31 .D55 1996

Historic Architecture Sourcebook
REF NA31 .H56 1977

Online Reference Shelf: Art and Architecture

Directories

Directory of Historic House Museums in the United States
REF E159 .W29 2000

Historic landscape directory: a source book of agencies, organizations, and instituteions providing information on historic landscape preservation
DOCS I 29.126:H 62

Encyclopedias

Grove Art Online

Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering & Construction
REF NA31 .E59 1988

Guides

All About Old Buildings: The Historic Preservation Catalog
REF NA106 .A44 1985

Architectural Character: Identifying the Visual Aspects of Historic Buildings as an Aid to Preserving their Character
http://www.cr.nps.gov/hps/tps/briefs/brief17.htm

Field Guide to American Architecture
REF NA705 .R53 1980b

Historic America; Buildings, Structures and Sites
REF NA 705 .H53 1983

Travel Guide: National Trust for Historic Preservation
REF E161.3 T72

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

America History and Life [Remote Access-UVM Only]
Indexes journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations on American history and culture from prehistoric times to present. Coverage: 1964-present.

Applied Science & Technology Index [Remote Access-UVM Only]
Periodical coverage includes trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals, as well as special issues such as buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings. Use subject headings Historic houses, sites, etc. and Architecture/Conservation and restoration

Art Index [Remote access-UVM only]
Indexes over 300 international arts periodicals as well as yearbooks and museum bulletins. Subjects include art history and architecture. Entries date from 1984-present.
Print version (1929-1996) REF Z5937 .A78

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

JSTOR [Remote access-UVM only]
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization which provides an electronic archive of scholarly journals. Users can browse the journals or retrieve articles via full-text searching.

Project Muse [Remote access-UVM only]
A collection of over 100 journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other major university presses. The journal collection covers the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Top

Recommended Web Sites

Advisory Council on Historic Preservation
http://www.achp.gov/index.html

Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/habs_haer/

Historic Preservation Links (UVM Program)
http://www.uvm.edu/histpres/links.html

Historic Preservation Learning Portal
http://www.historicpreservation.gov/NPS_Portal/

National Center for Preservation Technology & Training
http://www.ncptt.nps.gov/

National Register of Historic Places
http://www.cr.nps.gov/nr/

PreserveNet
http://www.preservenet.cornell.edu/

Top

Professional Organizations

American Association for State and Local History
http://www.aaslh.org/

Asssociation for Preservation Technology International
http://www.apti.org

National Trust for Historic Preservation
http://www.nthp.org

Preservation Action
http://www.preservationaction.org/

Society of Architectural Historians
http://www.sah.org/

Top

Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style
http://www.wisc.edu/writetest/Handbook/DocChicago.html
The Chicago or Turabian style, sometimes called documentary note or humanities style, places bibliographic citations at the bottom of a page or at the end of a paper.

MLA (Modern Language Association) Style
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_mla.html
Modern Language Association (MLA) format provides writers with a system for cross-referencing their sources from their parenthetical references to their works cited page.

Top

Last updated: December 12, 2006
By: Linda Brew

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home