UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  
Geography Subject Guide: UVM Libraries

Geography Subject Guide

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journals
Major Reference Works
Gazetteers and Atlases
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations and Societies
Statistical and Data Resources
Style Manuals


Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

GEOBASE [Remote access - UVM only]
Worldwide index to the scholarly literature of geography, geology, and ecology. 1980-present.

Environment Complete [Remote access - UVM only]
Database containing full-text articles (600 journals) and citations/abstracts (1,700 domestic and international titles), with deep coverage in relevant areas of geography, ecosystem ecology, natural resources, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, and social and urban planning.

GeoBIB Online Geographical Bibliography
Comprehensive citation database to the scholarly literature in the various areas of physical and human geography. Represents the holdings of the American Geographical Society Library. 1985-2005.

Social Sciences Abstracts [Remote access - UVM only]
Citations and abstracts to English-language sources in geography and the other social sciences. 1983-present.

LexisNexis Environment [Remote access - UVM only]
Broad interdisciplinary coverage of environmental issues and natural resources conservation. Dates vary. 

Academic Search Premier [Remote access - UVM only]
Interdisciplinary full-text database containing articles from many major geography journals. Dates vary.

Web of Science [Remote access - UVM only]
Online access to the Social Sciences Citation Index. 1982-present.

Cold Regions Bibliography Project
Consisting of the Antarctic Bibliography and the Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology, this database maintained by the American Geological Institute (AGI) provides citations on Antarctic research and exploration, including the impact of human activity and tourism on cold region environments.

Top

Electronic Journals

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Geography

Top

Major Reference Works

Dictionary of Human Geography (4th ed.)
REF GF4 .D52 2000

Dictionary of Physical Geography (3rd ed.)
REF GB10 .D53 2000

Dictionary of Geography (3rd ed.) [Remote access - UVM only]

Modern Dictionary of Geography (3rd ed.)
REF G63 .S62 1995

Houghton Mifflin Dictionary of Geography: Places and Peoples of the World
REF G63 .H68 1997

Dictionary of Earth Sciences [Remote access - UVM only]

World Maps [Remote access - UVM only]

Companion Encyclopedia of Geography: the Environment and Humankind
REF G116 .C645 1996

Encyclopedia of the Biosphere
REF GF75 .B5613 2000

Encyclopedia of World Geography
REF G133 .E48 1994

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
REF G63 .W67 2004

Guide to Geography Programs in the Americas : AAG Handbook and Directory of Geographers
REF G76.5 .U5 .G8

Biographical Dictionary of Geography
REF G67 .L37 1993

Top

Gazetteers and Atlases

Columbia Gazetteer of the World
REF G103.5 .C645 1998

Times Atlas of the World (10th comp. ed.)
REF ATLAS G1021 .T5644 1999

National Geographic Atlas of the World (7th ed.)
REF ATLAS G1021 .N38 1999

McGraw-Hill's Atlas of World Events
REF G1030 .A4 2005

Atlas of North America
REF ATLAS G1105 .A3 2005

National Atlas of the United States
http://www.nationalatlas.gov

U.S.G.S. Geographic Names Information System
http://geonames.usgs.gov

Vermont Atlas and Gazetteer
REF DESK QUARTO G1225 .D436 1996

Vermont Historical Gazetteer
REF F46 .V583

Top

Recommended Web Sites

UVM Libraries Maps Collection
http://library.uvm.edu/reference/maps.html

USGS Geography 
http://geography.usgs.gov/index.php

Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection (U.Texas)
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/

Top

Professional Organizations and Societies

Association of American Geographers
http://www.aag.org

Canadian Association of Geographers
http://www.cag-acg.ca/en/

National Geographic Society
http://www.nationalgeographic.com

Royal Geographical Society
http://www.rgs.org/

International Geographical Union
http://www.igu-net.org/uk/igu.html

University Consortium for Geographic Information Science
http://www.ucgis.org/

American Congress on Surveying and Mapping
http://www.acsm.net

American Society for Photogrammetry & Remote Sensing
http://www.asprs.org/

National Council for Geographic Education
http://www.ncge.org/

Top

Statistical and Data Resources

Geospatial One-Stop Portal
http://www.geodata.gov

USGS GeoData Explorer
http://geode.usgs.gov/

Vermont Center for Geographic Information
http://www.vcgi.org/

Top

Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style (15th ed.)
REF READY Z253 .U69 2003

Top


Last updated: December 17, 2007
By: Keith Gresham

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home