UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Forestry Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals

Major Reference Works

Agriculture: A Glossary of Terms, Programs, and Laws
http://www.cnie.org/nle/AgGlossary/AgGlossary.htm

Agriculture Factbook
DOCS A 1.38/2:
http://www.usda.gov/news/pubs/index.htm

Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees (2 volumes)
REF QK 481 .L49 1980

Book of Swamp and Bog: Trees, Shrubs, and Wildflowers of Eastern Freshwater Wetlands
REF QK 115 .E285 1995

Complete Trees of North America : Field Guide and Natural History
REF QK 481 .E38

Conifers
REF QK 994 .R87 1987

Contractors' Dictionary of Equipment, Tools, and Techniques : For Civil Engineering, Construction, Forestry, Open-pit Mining, and Public Works
REF TA 9 .W43 1995

CRC Dictionary of Agricultural Sciences
REF S 411 .L39 2002

Dictionary of Forestry
REF SD 126 .D535 1998

Elsevier's Wood Dictionary (3 volumes)
REF SD 431 .E4

Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science (4 volumes)
REF S 411 .E713 1994

Encyclopedia of American Forest and Conservation History (2 volumes)
REF SD 143 .E53 1983

Field Guide to Eastern Trees
REF QK 115 .P46 1998

Field Guide to Trees and Shrubs
REF QK 482 .P43 1972

Glossary of Forestry Terms
SD 126 .G56 1988

Handbook of Vermont Trees
REF QK 484 .V5 B87 1979

Hough's Encyclopedia of American Woods (16 volumes)
REF SD 536 .H832

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees
REF QK 474.87 .M67 2002

Illustrated Guide to Maples
REF QK 495 .A17 L4 2003

Muenscher's Keys to Woody Plants
REF QK 115 .C69 2001

Native and Cultivated Conifers of Northeastern North America
REF QK 494 .C67 1986

Old Growth in the East: A Survey REF QK 115 .D39 1993

Silvicultural Terms In Canada
REF SD 126 .S52 1995

Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary
REF S 592 .S59 2001

Terminology of Forestry Science: Technology, Products and Practice (2 volumes)
REF SD 126 .T47

Timbers of the World (2 volumes)
REF SD 434 .T45x

Trees of the Northern United States and Canada
REF QK 110 .F3 1995

Vocabulary of Forest Management
REF SD 126 .V63 1990

What Wood Is That?
REF SD 536 .E3 1969b

Wood Structure and Identification
REF SD 536 . C67 1979

World Timbers (3 volumes)
REF SD 536 .R4

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Agricola [Remote access - UVM Only]

Produced by the National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA provides coverage of world literature on agriculture, including articles, audiovisual materials, books, book chapters, computer databases & software, maps, manuscripts, serials, and sound recordings. It also covers related subjects such as forestry, chemistry, entomology, food & nutrition, etc. Coverage is from 1970 - present.

Agricola
http://www.nal.usda.gov/ag98/

Produced by the National Agricultural Library, this is a free, web version of the above Agricola. This web site provides access to searching the NAL catalog for books and journal article index. Agricola encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Coverage is from 1970-present.

Biosis Previews [Remote access - UVM Only]

Indexes and abstracts publications in the area of biology, covering journal articles, reports, review articles and conference papers. BIOSIS includes materials in the areas of agriculture, botany, zoology, microbiology, ecology, biochemistry, bioengineering, medicine, and biotechnology. Entries date from 2000-present.

Additionally, the Bailey/Howe Library offers a mediated-search service for earlier years for Biosis Previews.

CABDirect [Remote access - UVM Only]

Indexes and abstracts research on agriculture, forestry, environment and allied disciplines, including agricultural economics and rural sociology, aspects of human health, veterinary medicine, crop protection and biotechnology. Coverage is from 1973-present.

Forestry Abstracts
REF Z 5991 .F67

The print predecessor to CABDirect. Coverage is from 1939-1997.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Forestry

Top

Recommended Web Sites

American Forest and Paper Association
http://www.afandpa.org/

American Forest Foundation
http://www.affoundation.org/

American Forest Resource Council
http://www.afrc.ws/

American Forests
http://www.americanforests.org/

American Tree Farm System
http://www.treefarmsystem.org/

Consulting Foresters Association of Vermont
http://www.gwriters.com/cfav.html

FAO Forestry
http://www.fao.org/forestry/Forestry.asp

Forestry AgNIC
http://forestry.lib.umn.edu/agnic/index.phtml

Hardwood Information Center
http://www.hardwood.org/

National Arbor Day Foundation
http://www.arborday.org/

National Association of State Forsesters, Forestry Links
http://www.stateforesters.org/NASFlinks.html

TreeLink
http://www.treelink.org/

United States Forest Service
http://www.fs.fed.us/

University of Vermont, Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources
http://www.uvm.edu/envnr

The UVM RSENR offers an undergraduate major and a master of science degree in forestry.

Vermont Department of Forestry, Parks and Recreation
http://www.state.vt.us/anr/fpr/index.htm

Vermont Statutes Online, Title 10: Conservation and Development, Chapter 083: Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation
http://198.187.128.12/vermont/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=fs-main.htm&2.0

World Forestry Center
http://www.worldforestry.org/

Top

Professional Organizations

Association of Consulting Foresters of America, Inc.
http://www.acf-foresters.com/

International Society of Tropical Foresters
http://www.istf-bethesda.org/

International Union of Forest Research Organizations
http://iufro.boku.ac.at/iufro/

National Association of State Foresters
http://www.stateforesters.org

Society of American Foresters
http://www.safnet.org/

Society of Wood Science and Technology
http://www.swst.org/

Top

Statistical Resources

Agricultural Statistics
REF HD1751 .A43 (latest volume)
DOCS A 1.47: (previous volumes)
http://www.usda.gov/nass/pubs/agstats.htm

Available in Reference and Documents, this resource is also available via the web.

Census of Agriculture
Ask in the Government Documents and Maps Department for assistance with this resource.

The Government Documents and Maps Department in the Bailey/Howe Library has an extensive print and electronic collection of the Census of Agriculture. The Census of Agriculture is also available from various web sites. The census of agriculture is the leading source of statistics about the Nation's agricultural production and the only source of consistent, comparable data at the county, state, and national levels. Census statistics are used to study historical trends, assess current conditions, and plan for the future.

Economic Research Service
http://www.ers.usda.gov/

The Economic Research Service (ERS) is the main source of economic information and research from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Top

Style Manuals

Science and Technical Writing
REF T 11 .S378 2001

Top

Last updated: July 27, 2006
By: Douglas Lehman
   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home