UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Film, Television, and Media Studies Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

General Sources

AV Market Place
REF LB1043 .A86 (latest volume)

Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television (34 volumes)
REF PN2285 .C58

Dictionary of Media Literacy
REF P91.3 .S527 1997

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics (3 volumes)
REF P99 .E65 1994

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media (5 volumes)
REF (Ready Ref) Z6951 .A97 (latest volume)

International Encyclopedia of Communications (4 volumes)
REF P87.5 .I5 1989

Who's Who in Entertainment
REF PN1583 .W48 (latest volume)

Film Studies

Directors and their Films: A Comprehensive Reference, 1895-1990
REF PN1998 .B85 1993

Film Review Annual
REF PN1995 .F463 1981 - present

Film Superlist: Motion Pictures in the U.S. Public Domain
REF PN1998 .H85 1989
Volume 1: 1894-1939
Volume 2: 1940-1949
Volume 3: 1950-1959

Film Study: An Analytical Bibliography (4 volumes)
REF Z5784 .M9 M34 1990

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (5 volumes)
REF PN1997.8 .I58 1990
Volume 1: Films
Volume 2: Directors
Volume 3: Actors/Actresses
Volume 4: Writers and Production Artists
Volume 5: Title Index

International Film Index, 1895-1990 (2 volumes)
REF PN1998 .I52 1991

International Motion Picture Almanac
REF PN1993.3 I55 (latest volume)

Magill's Cinema Annual
REF PN1993.3 .M34 1982 - present

Magill's Survey of Cinema Series
  • English Language Films, 1st Series (4 volumes)
    REF PN1993.45 .M3
  • English Language Films, 2nd Series (6 volumes)
    REF PN1993.45 .M32
  • Foreign Language Films (8 volumes)
    REF PN1993.45 .M34
  • Silent Films (3 volumes)
    REF PN 1995.75 .M22 1982
Motion Picture Guide
REF PN1993 .M4334 1986 - present

New York Times Film Reviews
REF QUARTO PN1995.N4 1913 -1990

Oxford Companion to Film
REF PN1993.45 .B3

Screen World
REF PN1993.3 .D3 1970 - present

Variety Film Reviews
REF PN1993 .V36 1907 - present

Variety International Film Guide
REF PN1993.3 .I544 1967 - present

Within our Gates: Ethnicity in American Feature Films, 1911-1960
REF PN1995.9. M56 W58 1997

Women Filmmakers & their Films
REF PN1998.2 .W66 1998

Television Studies

Animated TV Shows: The Complete Directory to the First Twenty-five Years, 1962-1987
REF PN1992.8 .S64 W66 1989

Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook
REF HE8689 .B77 (latest volume)

Complete Directory to Prime Time Network TV Shows, 1946-present (6th edition)
REF PN1992.18 .B68 1995

Dictionary of Teleliteracy
REF PN1992.3 .U5 B5 1996

Encyclopedia of Television (3 volumes)
REF PN1992.18 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Television News
REF PN4888 .T4 E53 1999

International Television and Video Almanac
REF PN1992.15 .I61 (latest volume)

Prime Time Network Serials: Episode Guides, Casts and Credits for 37 Continuing Television Dramas, 1964-1993
REF PN1992.8 .S4 M627 1997

Television and Cable Factbook
REF HD9696 .T46 T442 (latest volume)

Television Character and Story Facts: Over 110,000 Details from 1,008 Shows, 1945-1992
REF PN1992.8 .S4 T48 1993

Television Program Master Index: Access to Critical and Historical Information on 1002 Shows in 341 Books
REF PN1992.9 .D56 1996

Television Research: A Directory of Conceptual Categories, Topic Suggestions, and Selected Sources
REF PN1992.3. U5 J23 1995

Mass Media

Directory of Women's Media
REF Z7962 .I52 (latest volume)

History of the Mass Media in the United States: An Encyclopedia
REF P92 .U5 H54 1998

News Media Yellow Book
REF PN4899.W304 N49 (latest volume)

Study of Media & Markets (34 volumes)
REF HF5415.3 .S78

Comprehensive statistical sources on media markets demographics, organized by product or service.

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Primary Indexes, Abstracts and Full-text Databases

Film Studies

Art Index (Remote access - UVM Only)
REF Z5937 .A78 1929 - 1997 (Print Version)

Indexes over 300 international arts periodicals as well as yearbooks and museum bulletins. Subjects include art history, folk art, photography, film, and television studies. Coverage: 1984 - present.

Film Anthologies Index
REF Z5784 .M9 B637 1994

Provides indexing of book chapters on film studies.

Film Index: A Bibliography (2 volumes)
REF Z5784 .M9 W74
Volume 1: Film as Art
Volume 2: Film as Industry

Film Review Index (2 volumes)
REF Z5784 .M9 F513 1986
Volume 1: 1882 - 1949
Volume 2: 1950 - 1985

Comprehensive indexing of journal articles and book chapters on motion pictures produced between 1882 and 1985.

MLA Bibliography (Remote access - UVM Only)
REF Z7006 .M67 1921 - 1999 (Print Version)


An international index to journal articles, books, essays, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies that covers the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, folklore and film. Coverage: 1963 - present.

Television Studies

Art Index (Remote access - UVM Only)
REF Z5937 .A78 1929 - 1997 (Print Version)

Indexes over 300 international arts periodicals as well as yearbooks and museum bulletins. Subjects include art history, folk art, photography, film, and television studies. Coverage: 1984 - present.

International Index to the Performing Arts (Remote access - UVM Only)

Indexes international arts periodicals, covering both scholarly studies and popular fads. Includes material on dance, film, drama/theater, stagecraft, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and the performance business. Coverage 1864 - present.

MLA Bibliography (Remote access - UVM Only)
REF Z7006 .M67 1921 - 1999 (Print Version)


An international index to journal articles, books, essays, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies that covers the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, folklore and film. Coverage: 1963 - present.

Mass Media

Communication Abstracts
REF Z5630 .C65 1978 - present

Mass Communications Research Resources: An Annotated Guide
REF Z7164 .T28 M37 1998

Sociological Abstracts (Remote access - UVM Only)
REF Z7164 .S68 S62 1953 - present (Print Version)

Contains citations and abstracts of the international literature on sociology and related disciplines. Over 2,600 periodicals are indexed, as well as books, book reviews, dissertations, and conference papers. Has extensive coverage of mass media issues and attitudes. Coverage: 1963 - present.

Secondary Indexes, Abstracts and Full-text Databases

Film Studies

Arts & Humanities Search (Remote access - UVM Only)
REF Z1219 .A77 1976 - 1997 (Print Version

The online version of Arts & humanities Citation Index this database provides indexing of articles, reviews, fiction, and poetry from the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Each article citation includes the list of cited references at the end of the article. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Expanded Academic ASAP Full-text Databases (Remote access - UVM Only)

A multidisciplinary index to over 1,900 journals and magazines, 900 of which display the fulltext of articles. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Film Literature Index
REF Z5784 .M9 F45 1973 - present

Humanities Index (Remote access - UVM Only)
REF Z6941 .H86 1974 - 1992 Print Version

Indexes articles, book and film reviews, and creative writing in core humanities journals. Subjects include art, music, classics, folklore, history, religion, linguistics, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and archaeology. Coverage: 1984 - present.

International Index to Film Periodicals
REF Z5784 .M9 I49 1972-1974, 1976 - present

International Index to the Performing Arts (Remote access - UVM Only)

Indexes international arts periodicals, covering both scholarly studies and popular fads. Includes material on dance, film, drama/theater, stagecraft, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and the performance business. Coverage: 1864 - present.

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe (Remote access - UVM Only)

Fulltext database that covers the areas of current events, business and law. Includes hundreds of mass media industry publications, national and international newspapers and journals, as well as complete coverage of legal aspects by industry. Choose: News Library, then Arts & Sports and select Source: Book, Movie, Music & Play Reviews. Coverage: Varies by title, most 1990 - present.

Television Studies

Expanded Academic ASAP (Remote access - UVM Only)

A multidisciplinary index to over 1,900 journals and magazines, 900 of which display the fulltext of articles. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Humanities Index (Remote access - UVM Only)
REF Z6941 .H86 1974 - 1992 Print Version

Indexes articles, book and film reviews, and creative writing in core humanities journals. Subjects include art, music, classics, folklore, history, religion, linguistics, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and archaeology. Coverage: 1984 - present.

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe (Remote access - UVM Only)

Fulltext database that covers the areas of current events, business and law. Includes hundreds of mass media industry publications, national and international newspapers and journals, as well as complete coverage of legal aspects by industry. Choose: News Library, then Arts & Sports and select Source: Entertainment News. Coverage: Varies by title, most 1990 - present.

Mass Media

Communication and the Mass Media: A Guide to the Reference Literature
REF Z5630 .B54 1991

Control of the Media in the United States: An Annotated Bibliography
REF Z5634 .U6 B46 1992

Expanded Academic ASAP (Remote access - UVM Only)

A multidisciplinary index to over 1,900 journals and magazines, 900 of which display the fulltext of articles. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe (Remote access - UVM Only)

Fulltext database that covers the areas of current events, business and law. Includes hundreds of mass media industry publications, national and international newspapers and journals, as well as complete coverage of legal aspects by industry. Choose: News Library, then Arts & Sports and select Source: Entertainment News. Coverage: Varies by title, most 1990 - present.

Women and Mass Communications: An International Annotated Bibliography
REF Z5633. W65 L45 1991

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

JSTOR Full-text Databases (Remote access - UVM Only)

An electronic archive of fulltext scholarly journal articles, including extensive coverage of arts, humanities and the social sciences. Users may browse the journals online or retrieve articles by using the fulltext searching option. Coverage: Varies by title.

Project Muse Full-text Databases (Remote access - UVM Only)

An electronic collection of over 100 journals published by major university presses. The journal collection covers the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Many journal titles included relate to film, television and mass media studies. Coverage: Varies by title, most 1995 - present.

Top

Recommended Web Sites

General Sources

Communications Studies Research Guides
Wright State University Libraries
http://www.libraries.wright.edu/libnet/subj/com/internet.html

MCS: Media and Communications Study Site
University of Wales, Aberystwyth, Department of Education, Dr. Daniel Chandler
http://www.aber.ac.uk/media/Functions/mcs.html

Media Literacy Online Project
College of Education, University of Oregon, Eugene
http://interact.uoregon.edu/MediaLit/HomePage

Univ. of Iowa's Department of Communication Studies: Links to Resources
http://www.uiowa.edu/~commstud/resources/index.html

General - Film Studies

Bibliographies and Fulltext Articles [on film]
UC/Berkeley Media Resources Center
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/MRC/FilmBibMenu.html

Clamen's Movie Information Collection
Carnegie Mellon University
http://www.cs.cmu.edu/Unofficial/Movies/

Digital Librarian: Movies
http://www.digital-librarian.com/movies.html

Motion Pictures Resources: The Gateway
University of Ohio, Journalism Librarary
http://www.lib.ohio-state.edu/gateway/bib/motion.html

Research Guide in Film Studies
Yale University Library
http://www.library.yale.edu/humanities/film/

Selected Internet Sources in Film
UCLA Arts Library
http://www.library.ucla.edu/libraries/arts/websites/wwwmov.htm

Screensite: For the Study of Film and Television
University of Alabama, College of Communication & Information Sciences
http://www.tcf.ua.edu/screensite/

UCLA Film and Television Archive
http://www.cinema.ucla.edu/

Fulltext Web E-Journals

Animation World
http://www.awn.com/mag/

Bright Lights Film Journal
http://www.brightlightsfilm.com/

Film-Philosophy
http://www.film-philosophy.com/

Framework
http://frameworkonline.com/latest.htm

Images: A Journal of Film and Popular Culture
http://imagesjournal.com/

Scope
http://www.nottingham.ac.uk/film/journal/contents.htm

24 Frames per Second
http://24framespersecond.com/

Variety
http://variety.com/

Television Studies

Ad Critic
http://adcritic.com/

Television and Radio News Research
Missouri School of Journalism
http://web.missouri.edu/~jourvs/index.html

TV Link: Film and Television Website Archive
http://www.timelapse.com/tvlink.html

TV News Archive: Vanderbilt University
http://tvnews.vanderbilt.edu/

UCLA Film and Television Archive
http://www.cinema.ucla.edu/

Mass Media

Best Information on the Net: Communications, Broadcasting
St. Ambrose University, O'Keefe Library
http://library.sau.edu/bestinfo/Majors/masscom/massbro.htm

Digital Librarian: News and Journalism
http://www.digital-librarian.com/news.html

Jones Telecommunications & Multimedia Encyclopedia
http://www.digitalcentury.com/encyclo/update/articles.html

Mass Media Resources: The Gateway
University of Ohio, Journalism Librarary
http://www.lib.ohio-state.edu/gateway/bib/masscomm.html

Who Owns What
Columbia Journalism Review [Mass Media Ownership]
http://www.cjr.org/owners/

Top

Professional Organizations

General Sources

Encyclopedia of Associations
REF (Ready Ref) AS8 .E5 (latest volume)

Includes detailed descriptions of more than 22,000 national and international associations. Use the Keyword Index to locate associations by name and/or subject area.

Film Studies

American Film Institute
http://www.AFI.com/

British Film Institute
http://www.bfi.org.uk/

Director's Guild of America
http://www.dga.org/

NAMAC - National Association of Media Arts and Culture
http://www.namac.org/

National Film Board of Canada
http://www.nfb.ca/E/index.html

Society for Cinema Studies
http://www.cinemastudies.org/index.htm

WIF - Women in Film
http://wif.org/home/index.html

Television Studies

Broadcast Education Association
http://www.beaweb.org/

International Radio and Television Society Foundation
http://www.irts.org/home.htm

National Association of Broadcasters
http://www.nab.org/

Society for Cinema Studies
http://www.cinemastudies.org/index.htm

Includes extensive coverage of television research.

Television Bureau of Advertising
http://www.tvb.org/

Mass Media

American Communication Association
http://www.uark.edu/~aca/

Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania
http://www.appcpenn.org/

Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
http://www.aejmc.org/

Communication Institute for Online Scholarship
http://www.cios.org/

Media Education Foundation
http://www.mediaed.org/

Pew Research Center for the People & the Press
http://www.people-press.org/

Poynter Institute for Media Studies
http://www.poynter.org/

Top

Statistical Resources

Best Information on the Net: Statistics, Public Opinion
St. Ambrose University, O'Keefe Library
http://library.sau.edu/bestinfo/Online/Public.htm

Howard W. Odum Institute for Research in the Social Science: Public Opinion Poll Question Database
http://www.irss.unc.edu/data_archive/pollsearch.html

A searchable database of public opinion polls, many of them concerned with the mass media and television coverage of various current event issues.

Statistical Universe (Remote access - UVM Only)

Provides detailed demographic statistics on mass media and the motion picture industries. Fulltext or links to the fulltext source are provided for many of the sources located.

Top

Style Manuals

ASA Style Guide (American Sociological Association)
REF (Ready Ref) HM73 .A54 1997
Purdue University Online Writing Lab
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_docsocio.html

Associated Press Stylebook and Libel Manual
REF PN4783 .A83 1998

Chicago Manual of Style
REF (Ready Ref) Z253 .U69 1993
University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center
http://www.wisc.edu/writetest/Handbook/DocChicago.html

The Elements of Style (William Strunk)
REF (Ready Ref) PE1408 .S772 2000
http://www.bartleby.com/141/index.html

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (Modern Language Association)
REF (Ready Ref) LB2369 .G53 1999
Purdue University Online Writing Lab
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_mla.html

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
REF (Ready Ref) BF76.7 .P82 1994
Purdue University Online Writing Lab
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_apa.html

Top

Last updated: July 28, 2006
   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home