UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Environmental Engineering Subject Guide

(see also Civil Engineering Subject Guide)

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Handbooks, Manuals, and Tables

Air Quality Control Handbook
TD 883 .A576 1998

Engineering Formulas, 7th edition
REF TA 151 .G4713 1997

Engineering Mathematics Handbook, 4th edition
REF TA 332 .T85 1998

Environmental Data Book
REF GE 140 .S48 1993

Environmental Engineering Science
REF TA 170 .N39 2001

Environmental Technology Handbook, 2nd edition
REF TD 146 .S67 2000

Handbook of Drinking Water Quality, 2nd edition
TD 365 .D4897 1997

Industrial Wastewater Systems Handbook
TD 897.5 .S74 1998

Rapid Guide to Hazardous Air Pollutants
REF TD 883.1 .B37 1998

Standard Handbook of Engineering Calculations, 3rd edition
REF TA 332 .S73 1995

Standard Handbook of Hazardous Waste Treatment and Disposal
REF TD 1032 .S73 1989

Statistics for Environmental Engineers
REF TD 153 .B47 1994

Wiley Engineer's Desk Reference: A Concise Guide for the Professional Engineer, 2nd edition
REF TA 151 .H424 1998

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering, 2nd edition
REF TD 9 .E5 1983

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (15 volumes)
Q 123 .E497 1987

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering
REF TA 9 .M35 1984

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts [Remote access – UVM only]

Compendex (Engineering Village) [Remote access - UVM only]
Comprehensive, interdisciplinary engineering database that includes abstracts of international journals, conference papers, and technical reports.

Environment Abstracts [Remote access - UVM only]

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management [Remote access - UVM only]
Multidisciplinary database that provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences, with abstracts including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications.

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) [Remote access - UVM only]

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Environmental Sciences

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Environmental Technology and Sanitary Engineering

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Geology

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Hydraulic Engineering

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Physical Geography

Top

Recommended Web Sites

4 Specs.com
http://www.4specs.com/
Provides free listings for product manufacturers and trade organizations. It links materials, specifications, and companies.

A Dictionary of Measures, Units, and Conversion
http://www.ex.ac.uk/cimt/dictunit/dictunit.htm

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
http://www.epa.gov

Geo Index
http://www.geoindex.com/geoindex/
A search engine for geotechnical, environmental, hydrogeology, geology, mining, and petroleum topics.

National Library for the Environment (NLE), National Council for Science and the Environment
http://www.cnie.org/nle/
Resource for environmental information, including reports, educational resources, daily environmental and congressional news, conference proceedings, and a comprehensive database of Congressional Research Service reports.

Online Ethics Center for Engineering and Science
http://onlineethics.org/

Pollution Online
http://www.pollutiononline.com
Online resource for the pollution prevention and control industry.

Top

Professional Organizations

American Academy of Environmental Engineers (AAEE)
http://www.aaee.net

National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)
http://www.nsbe.org

Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
http://www.swe.org

Top

Style Manuals

Effective Writing for Engineers, Managers, Scientists
PE 1408 .T5

Guide to Writing as an Engineer, 2nd edition
T 11 .B396 2005

Pocket Manual of Technical Writing for Engineers and Scientists, 2nd edition
T 11 .F53 2003

Top

Last updated: August 17, 2006
By: Elizabeth Hassemer

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home