UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Environment Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Recommended Web Sites with a Focus on Global Climate Change
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

ABC Clio Companion to the Environmental Movement
REF GE 197 .G76 1994

American Nature Writers (2 volumes)
REF PS 163 .A6 1996

Atlas of the Environment
MAP ROOM (atlas) G 1046 .G3 L43 1994
REF G 1046 .G3 L43 1992

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America [Remote access - UVM only]

Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists
REF QH 26 .B535 1997

Dictionary of Ecology [Remote access - UVM only]

Dictionary of Environment and Development
REF GE 10 .C78 1993

Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology
REF GE 10 .P67 1996

Dictionary of Global Climate Change
REF QC 981.8 .C5 M38 1994

Dictionary of Natural Resource Management
REF S 922 .D86 1996

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity (5 volumes)
REF QH 541.15.B56 E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology (3 volumes)
REF QH 540.4 .E52 1995

Encyclopedia of Global Change (2 volumes)
REF GE 149 .E445 2002

Encyclopedia of the Biosphere (11 volumes)
REF GF 75 .B5613 2000

Encyclopedia of the Environment
REF GE 10 .E53 1994

Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes)
REF GF 10 .E63 2004

Environmental Encyclopedia (2 volumes)
REF GE 10 .E57 (latest edition)

Environmental Encyclopedia
 [Remote access - UVM only]
(biographical information only)


Environmental Literature
: an Encyclopedia of Works, Authors, and Themes
REF GE35 .E58 1999

The Environmentalists : A Biographical Dictionary from the 17th Century to the Present
REF S 926.A2 A94 1993

Guide to Graduate Environmental Programs
REF GE 80 .G85 1997

Habitats and Ecosystems: An Encyclopedia of Endangered America
REF QH 76 .C73 1999

Information Please Environmental Almanac
REF td 169.5 .I58 (latest volume - 1993-1994)

International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
REF GE 170 .I55 2002

Natural Resources (3 volumes)
REF HC 103.7 .N278 1998

Pollution A to Z [Remote access - UVM only]

Protected Areas of the World: A Review of National Systems (4 volumes)
REF SB 481 .P78 1991

Recycling in America
REF TD 794.5 .S77 1997

Recycling Sourcebook
REF TD 794.5 .R436 1993

Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary
REF S 592 .S59 2001

State of the World: A Worldwatch Institute Report on Progress Toward a Sustainable Society
REF HC 59 .B766 (latest volume)

Terrestrial Ecoregions of North America: A Conservation Assessment
REF QH 77.N56 T47 1999

Water: Science and Issues [Remote access - UVM only]

World Resources
REF HC 59 .W672 (latest volume)

World Who is Who and Does What in Environment and Conservation
REF GE 55 .W67 1997

Directories

Conservation Directory
REF S 920 .C64 (latest volume)

Directory of Environmental Web Sites on the Internet
REF GE 32 .D57 (latest edition)

Directory of National Environmental Organizations
REF td 171 .D57 (latest edition)

The Environmental Resource Handbook
REF GE 20 .E586  (latest edition)

Environmental Grantmaking Foundations: Directory
REF GE 80 .E58 (latest volume)

Greenpeace Guide to Anti-environmental Organizations
REF JA 75.8 .G77 1993

Krupin's Toll Free Environmental Directory
REF GE 20 .K78

Sierra Club Green Guide
REF GE 30 .F45 1996

World Directory of Environmental Organizations
REF S 920 .W67 (latest volume)

Environmental Careers

Careers in Focus: Environment
REF GE 60 .C39 1999

Careers in the Environment
REF GE 60 .F37 1995

The Complete Guide to Environmental Careers in the 21st Century
REF GE 60 .D69 1999

Earth Work: Resource Guide to Nationwide Green Jobs
REF GE 60 .E27 1994

The ECO Guide to Careers That Make a Difference
REF GE 60 .E34 2004

Education for the Earth: The College Guide for Careers in the Environment
REF GE 80 .E33 1995

Environmental Career Directory: A Practical, One-Step Guide to Getting a Job Preserving the Environment
REF GE 60 .E58 1993

Environmental Careers Organization
http://www.eco.org

Great Jobs for Environmental Studies Majors
REF GE 60 .D44 2002

Working with Wildlife: A Guide to Careers in the Animal World
REF SF 80 .M39 1999

Environmental Regulation/ Environmental Law

Cooper's Pocket Environmental Compliance Dictionary
REF TD 170.2 .C68 1995

Dictionary of Environmental Legal Terms
REF KF 3775.A68 D53 1996

The Environmental Dictionary and Regulatory Cross Reference
REF KF 3775.A68 K57 1995

Environmental Law Handbook
REF KF 3775 .E473 (latest edition)

Environmental Policy Law: Problems, Cases, and Readings
REF KF 3775 .A7 S36 2002

Environmental Protection Deskbook
REF KF 3775 .S55 1995

Environment Reporter
REF KF 3775 - KF 3785
Call numbers listed above represent the range of call numbers of the different parts of  Environment Reporter.  Published in separate sections and updated bi-weekly, Environment Reporter includes federal and state environmental laws, rules, and cases as well as regulatory, legal and policy news. 

Groundwater Chemicals Desk Reference
REF TD 426 .M66 1996

CRC Handbook of Environmental Control
REF TD 145 .C2

National Directory of Volunteer Environmental Monitoring Programs
REF TD 169.6 .N385 1998

NEPA (National Environmental Policy Act) Reference Guide
REF KF 3775 .N474 1999

Rapid Guide to Hazardous Air Pollutants
REF TD 883.1 .B37 1998

Rapid Guide to Hazardous Chemicals in the Environment
REF RA 1226 .P64 1997

Selected Environmental Law Statutes
REF KF 3775.A29 U572

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Primary Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Premier [Remote access -- UVM Only]
An interdisciplinary index to journal articles and partially full-text database that includes many references and full text articles on environmental topics. A recommended starting point for accessing journal articles on environmental topics. Coverage: 1970s - present.

CAB Abstracts [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, monographs, conference proceedings, and other sources in the areas of agriculture, forestry and related bioscientific disciplines, recreation, tourism, rural development, and more. Excellent resource for ecotourism related topics. Coverage: 1984 - present.

Environment Abstracts [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts research articles, journal articles, conference papers, government reports, book chapters, and other types of information from three databases focusing on the environment, energy, and acid rain. All aspects of environmental science and environmental studies are covered. Coverage: 1975 - present, some earlier. Some materials are available in the Envirofiche (microfiche) collection in Bailey/Howe.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts the worldwide literature in major areas of environmental science. Select one or more subfiles from the menu on the search screen; subfiles include Ecology Abstracts, Digest of Environmental Impact Statements, Water Resources Abstracts, Pollution Abstracts, and more.  The service also maintains a searchable collection of environmental web sites , a grants database, a patents database, and an environmental news service.  Publication dates covered vary by each subfile. 

Expanded Academic ASAP  [Remote access - UVM Only]
An interdisciplinary index to journal articles and partially full-text database that includes many references and full text articles on environmental topics. A recommended starting point for accessing journal articles on environmental topics. Coverage: 1980 - present.

GEOBASE [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts the international literature on cultural and physical geography, geology, ecology, natural resources, international development,  land use planning, and related fields. Excellent resource for international development related topics. Indexes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1980 - present.

LexisNexis Environment[Remote access - UVM Only]
A service which includes:Environment Abstracts, an index to journal articles and other professional literature in the broad field of the environment; full text environmental news articles and environmental law review articles; environmental codes and regulations; case law and agency decisions; and federal and state waste site data and hazardous materials information.

Water Resources Abstracts [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts articles, reports, and other publications on water related topics including: lakes, erosion, and groundwater; pollution and waste management; aquatic environmental issues; water resources management and planning.  Coverage: 1967-present. Through Water Resources Routenet, includes links to water related Internet sites, listservs, directories, and more.

Web of Science [Remote access - UVM Only]
An interdisciplinary index to scholarly journal articles, with abstracts. Great for environmental topics. It is a citation index which allows for citation searching and incorporates the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, the Science Citation Index, and the Social Science Citation Index. Coverage: 1982 - present.

Wildlife Worldwide [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, theses, and government reports on all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management, including endangered species, habitat management, and population ecology. It comprises Wildlife Review Abstracts (1935 - present), Swiss Wildlife Information Service (1974 - present), U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's Wildlife Database (1960 - present), and several smaller databases.

Secondary Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

AGRICOLA [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes the world literature on agriculture, including articles, audiovisual materials, books, book chapters, computer databases and software, maps, manuscripts, serials, and sound recordings.  Also useful for related topics such as forestry, rural development, food and nutrition, etc.  Coverage: 1970 - present.

Alt-Press Watch {Remote access - UVM Only]
Full text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independant presses. Interdisciplinary resource that is useful for environmental topics. Coverage varies by publication.

Alternative Press Index [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes a wide range of alternative, radical, or left publications. Coverage: 1991 - present.

Anthropology Plus [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes the journal literature in the broad field of anthropology and archaeology and related disciplines including art history, economics, folklore, linguistics, psychology, and religious studies. Coverage: Late 19th century - present.

Biological and Agricultural Index [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes journal articles and book reviews in the biological and agricultural sciences. Useful for environmental science, wildlife, management, nutrition, soil science, and other related subjects. UVM owns most of the journal titles indexed here. Coverage: 1983 - present.

ERIC [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and reports in the broad field of education.  The best resource to use for locating articles on environmental education, outdoor education, wilderness education, and experiential education/learning.  Coverage: 1966-present.

GenderWatch [Remote access - UVM Only]
Full-text database offering access to journal articles, regional publications, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets, and reports focusing on women and women's issues.  Coverage: 1974 to present.

Humanities Index [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts articles, book and film reviews, and creative writing in humanities journals.  Subjects include art, music, folklore, history, religion, linguistics, literature, performing arts, philosophy, archaeology, and more.  Coverage: 1984 - present; abstracts included 1994 - present.

LexixNexis Academic [Remote access - UVM Only]
Full-text database providing access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference sources.  Coverage for many newspapers: 1980 - present.  Law reviews, foreign language newspapers, country and state profiles, media transcripts and more are also available full-text.

LexisNexis Congressional [Remote access - UVM Only]
Full-text database that includes the Congressional Record (1985 - present), the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, Public Laws (1988 - present), a bill tracking service, information about Congressional members, and testimony and documents from Congressional Committees.   Also includes indexes of CIS publications.

MLA Bibliography [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes journal articles, books, essays, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.  Useful for research on environmental literature, nature writers/ writing.  Coverage: 1963 - present.

PubMed
http://www3.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi
The National Library of Medicine's Web access to MEDLINE, indexes international biomedical journals and provides access to genetics research databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information.  Useful for environmental health related topics.  Coverage: mid 1960s - present.

Social Sciences in Forestry
http://forestry.lib.umn.edu/bib/SSiF.html
Indexes (some abstracts) journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on forestry-related topics such as legislation, policy and planning, management, economic development. Coverage: 1985 - present.

Sociological Abstracts [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations, and conference papers in the broad field of sociology and related disciplines.  Useful for environmental sociology/ social issues topics.  Coverage: 1963 - present.

Tropical Forest Conservation and Development: A Bibliography 1992 - Present
http://forestry.lib.umn.edu//bib/trps.html
Indexes (some abstracts)  journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on tropical forest conservation and development topics such as forest resources, deforestation, indigenous peoples, management, policy, education and training, and more. Coverage: 1992 - present.

Wilson Business Abstracts [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts articles in all areas of business, including business and the environment, socially responsible businesses, and more.  Coverage: 1986 - present, abstracts included since 1990.

Women's Resources International [Remote access - UVM Only]
Compilation of several databases that index journal articles, book reviews, and books in the broad area of women's studies. Coverage: 1972 - present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in the political science disciplines and complementary fields.  Useful for environmental policy, comparative politics, developing nations, international relations and trade, and much more.  Coverage: 1975-present.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Libraries Electronic Journals
[Remote access - UVM Only]
This takes you to a comprehensive, alphabetical list of journal titles to which UVM has electronic access.  To see a subject breakdown of these journals, click on the Subject tab on the top left of the screen. Please note that environmentally related journals fall under many different subject headings, and you will need to look at multiple subject lists, depending on your interests within the broad field of the environment.  Click on the Index tab if you would like to see a list of journal titles by provider; for instance JSTOR or LexisNexis Environmental Universe.  Use the Search tab if you would like to search for a specific journal by its name, publisher, or ISSN #.

Top

Recommended Web Sites

EE Link
http://eelink.net
Comprehensively organizes environmental education resources available on the Internet; highly recommended Web site.

Envirofacts Data Warehouse and Applications (EPA)
Part of the EPA initiative to make environmental information easily accessible to the public online, Envirofacts allows you to retrieve environmental information from EPA databases on Air, Chemicals, Facility Information, Grants/Funding, Hazardous Waste, Risk Management Plans, Superfund, Toxic Releases, and Water Permits, Drinking Water, Drinking Water Contaminant Occurrence, and Drinking Water Microbial and Disinfection Byproduct Information .

Envirolink
http://www.envirolink.org
A comprehensive web site that organizes the broad array of environmental information on the Internet.

Environmental News Network
http://www.enn.com

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
http://www.epa.gov

National Library of the Environment
http://www.cnie.org/nle/
Sponsored by the National Council for Science and the Environment, this site provides a single entry point to understandable, science-based information about the environment.

The Scorecard
http://www.scorecard.org
Put out by the Environmental Defense Fund, this web site provides information about the environmental health of states and communities; searchable by zip code.

Surf Your Watershed: A Service to Help You Locate, Use, and Share Environmental Information About Your Place (EPA)
http://www.epa.gov/surf/

United Nations Environment Programme
http://www.unep.org

World Conservation Union
http://www.iucn.org
International organization that focuses on global as well as regional environmental issues.

World Resources Institute
http://www.wri.org
Focuses on providing information about global environmental issues and problems.Top

Recommended Web Sites with a Focus on Global Climate Change

Climate and Society -- The Earth Institute at Columbia University
http://www.earthinstitute.columbia.edu/crosscutting/climate.html

Climate Change | Worldwatch Institute
http://www.worldwatch.org/taxonomy/term/110

Climate Change Research at WRI
http://climate.wri.org

Pew Center on Global Climate Change
http://www.pewclimate.org

Top

Professional Organizations

Air and Waste Management Association
http://www.awma.org

American Planning Association
http://www.planning.org

Ecological Society of America
http://www.esa.org/

Institute of Professional Environmental Practice
http://www.ipep.org

International Society for Environmental Ethics
http://www.cep.unt.edu/ISEE.html

North American Association for Environmental Education
http://naaee.org

Society of Environmental Journalists
http://www.sej.org/

Student Environmental Action Coalition (SEAC)
http://www.seac.org

** There are countless environmental organizations accessible on the Web.  The above list is a sampling of professional environmental associations and is not meant to be comprehensive.  If you are looking for a professional association not listed here or if your are looking for a specific environmental organization, try the search engine, Google, to locate it on the Web. **

Top

Statistical Resources

Environmental Indicators (OECD)
http://www.oecd.org/env/indicators/

National Agricultural Statistics Service
http://www.nass.usda.gov/index.asp

OECD Environmental Data
REF TD 172 .O36  (latest volume)

Statistical Resources on the Web: Environment (Univ. of Michigan Documents Center)
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stenv.html

A  highly recommended comprehensive resource that is a gateway to both United States and international environmental statistical information, broken down by broad subjects such as global warming, forests and lands, water resources, wildlife, sustainable development and  many more.

World Development Indicators (This database can only be accessed on terminals at the Bailey/Howe Library)

Provides statistical information by country for over 500 economic, social, demographic, and environmental variables including agriculture, carbon dioxide emissions, energy, tourism, land use, water pollution, education, illiteracy, nutrition and many more.

World Resources
REF HC 59 .W672 (latest volume)

Top

Style Manuals

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
REF  (READY REF) BF 76.7 .P82 (latest edition)

Explains how to format bibliographies (References Cited), how to include in-text citations in your paper, and other style rules using American Psychological Association (APA) format.  APA format is recommended for students writing Environmental Studies papers at UVM and is a commonly used and accepted style for many other disciplines as well.

Using American Psychological Association Format
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_apa.html

A handout that Purdue University has made available on the Web that summarizes APA style for references, in-text citations, and other common style elements.

Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association
http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html

A guide to writing references and in-text citations in APA format for the wide array of electronic resources.

Top

Last update: August 17, 2006
By: Laurie Kutner

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home