UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Electrical and Computer Engineering Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Handbooks, Manuals, and Tables

American Electrician's Handbook, 14th edition
REF TK 151 .C8 2002

Computer Engineering Handbook
TK 7888.3 .C652 1992

Electrical Engineering Handbook
REF TK 145 .E354 1993

Engineering Formulas, 7th edition
REF TA 151 .G4713 1997

Engineering Mathematics Handbook, 4th edition
REF TA 332 .T85 1998

Fundamentals Handbook of Electrical and Computer Engineering (3 volumes)
TK 151 .F86 1982

Handbook of Modern Electronics and Electrical Engineering
REF TK 7825 .H38 1986

Newnes Electrical Power Engineer's Handbook, 2nd edition
REF TK 145 .N493 2005

Sensors: A Comprehensive Survey
TA 165 .S4585 1989 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, 12th edition
REF TK 151 .S8

Standard Handbook of Engineering Calculations, 3rd edition
REF TA 332 .S73 1995

Voice and Data Communication Handbook, 3rd edition
TK 5101 .B317 2000

Wiley Engineer's Desk Reference: A Concise Guide for the Professional Engineer, 2nd edition
REF TA 151 .H424 1998

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Comprehensive Dictionary of Electrical Engineering
REF TK 9 .C575 1999

Desktop Encyclopedia of Telecommunications, 2nd edition
REF TK 5102 .M85 2000

Encyclopedia of Electronic Circuits
REF TK 7867 .G66 1985

Encyclopedia of Electronics, 2nd edition
REF TK 7804 .E47 1990

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (15 volumes)
Q 123 .E497 1987

Illustrated Dictionary of Electronics, 7th edition
REF TK 7804 .T87 1997

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering
REF TA 9 .M35 1984

New IEEE Standard Dictionary of Electrical and Electronics Terms, 5th edition
REF TK 9 .I478 1993

Standards

Computer and Communication Standards
http://www.cmpcmm.com/cc/standards.html
Extensive list of hard-to-find information on computer standards.

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts [Remote access – UVM only]

Compendex (Engineering Village) [Remote access - UVM only]
Comprehensive, interdisciplinary engineering database that includes abstracts of international journals, conference papers, and technical reports.

Computer Database [Remote access – UVM only] Full-text Databases

IEEE Xplore [Remote access - UVM only] Full-text Databases

INSPEC (Web of Knowledge) [Remote access - UVM only]

Safari Tech Books Online [Remote access – UVM only] Full-text Databases

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) [Remote access - UVM only]

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Computer Science

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Electrical Engineering and Electronics

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Telecommunications

Top

Recommended Web Sites

4 Specs.com
http://www.4specs.com/
Provides free listings for product manufacturers and trade organizations. It links materials, specifications, and companies.

A Dictionary of Measures, Units, and Conversion
http://www.ex.ac.uk/cimt/dictunit/dictunit.htm

EE Circuits Archive
http://www.ee.washington.edu/circuit_archive/
Includes links to circuits, data sheets, models, microprocessors, software, resistor codes, and digital design resources.

Electrical Conversions, Formulas, and References
http://www.rfcafe.com/references/electrical.htm

Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Network (EREN)
http://www.eren.doe.gov/
Provides information on energy efficiency and renewable energy, including the Green Power Network.

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
http://www.nrel.gov/
Provides information on renewable energy and energy efficiency research, development and deployment.

Online Ethics Center for Engineering and Science
http://onlineethics.org/

SemiConductor Subway
http://www-mtl.mit.edu/semisubway/semisubway.html

Top

Professional Organizations

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
http://www.acm.org

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
http://www.ieee.org

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Canada
http://www.ieee.ca

National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)
http://www.nsbe.org

Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
http://www.swe.org

Top

Style Manuals

Effective Writing for Engineers, Managers, Scientists
PE 1408 .T5

Guide to Writing as an Engineer, 2nd edition
T 11 .B396 2005

Pocket Manual of Technical Writing for Engineers and Scientists, 2nd edition
T 11 .F53 2003

Top

Last updated: August 17, 2006
By: Elizabeth Hassemer

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home