UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Education Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Certification

Requirements for Certification of Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators for Elementary and Secondary Schools
REF LB 1771 .W6 (latest volume)

College Guides

(Barron's) Profiles of American Colleges
REF L 901 .P72 (latest volume)

Chronicle Four-Year College Databook
REF L 901 .C76 (latest volume)

College Blue Book series (6 volumes)
REF L 901 .C676 (latest volumes)

The College Blue Book series includes Narrative Descriptions (Vol. 1), Degrees Offered by College and Subject (Vol. 3), and Scholarships, Fellowships, Grants, and Loans ( Vol. 5)

Peterson's
http://www.petersons.com

Peterson's Graduate and Professional Programs (6 volumes)
REF L 901 .P442 (latest volumes)

Peterson's Guide to 4 Year Colleges
REF L 901 .P449 (latest volume)

Directories

National Faculty Directory (3 volumes)
REF L 901 .N34 (latest volumes)

Patterson's American Education
REF L 901 .P3 (latest volume)

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Education (3 volumes)
REF LB 17 .U54 2001

Encyclopedia of Education (8 volumes)
REF LB 15 .E47 2003

Encyclopedia of Educational Research (4 volumes)
REF LB 15 .E48 1992

Encyclopedia of Higher Education (4 volumes)
REF LB 15 .E49 1992

Encyclopedia of Special Education (3 volumes)
REF LC 4007 .E53

International Encyclopedia of Education (10 volumes)
REF LB 15 .I569 1994

Financial Aid

Bailey/Howe Library's Reference collection contains many guides to scholarships, fellowships, loans, grants and other financial aids for education, including:

College Money Handbook
REF LB 2337.4 .C66 (latest volume)

Scholarship Book (latest volume)
REF LB 2337.2 .C37

Test Preparation and Practice

Barron's SAT I: How to Prepare for the New SAT
REF LB 2353.57 .H68 (latest volume)

Cracking the PRAXIS II: NTE
REF LB 1762 .C73 (latest volume)

Master the GRE 2005
REF LB2367.4 .M3745 2004
 Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases


ERIC [Remote access - UVM only]

ERIC provides access by keyword and subject heading to journal articles and reports, from 1966 to the present. ERIC contains information about all aspects of education, all age and grade levels, and related issues.

ERIC  [open access web version]
http://www.eric.ed.gov/

Mental Measurements Yearbook [Remote access - UVM only]

This online version of Mental Measurements Yearbook describes more than 2,000 standardized English-language tests that assess personality, aptitude, achievement, intelligence, and other neuropsychological behavior. As the tests are commercially available, only the descriptive material and reviews are available full-text. Coverage is 1989 - present.

PsycINFO [Remote access - UVM only]

PsycINFO is used to find journal articles, book chapters and dissertations in psychology and related fields from 1974 to present. This resource is helpful for a wide range of education topics including learning theory, human development, school counseling, substance abuse, and organizational dynamics.
Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Education

Education Journals and Newsletters Available on the Internet
http://www.scre.ac.uk/is/webjournals.html

Electronic Journals in the Field of Education
http://aera-cr.asu.edu/ejournals/

ERIC Digests
http://www.eric.ed.gov

ERIC Digests are short reports (1,000 - 1,500 words) on topics of prime current interest in education, targeted specifically for teachers, administrators, policymakers, and other practitioners, but generally useful to the broad educational community. They are designed to provide an overview of information on a given topic, plus references to items providing more detailed information. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Full-Text Education Journals Available Online
http://www.lesley.edu/faculty/kholmes/libguides/edjournals.html

JSTOR Full-text Databases [Remote access- UVM only]

JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides an electronic archive of scholarly journals. Users can browse the journals or retrieve articles via full-text searching.

Project Muse Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]

A collection of over 100 journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other major university presses. The journal collection covers the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Yahoo>Education>Journals
http://dir.yahoo.com/Education/Journals/
Top

Recommended Web Sites

Annenberg/CPB Learner.org
http://www.learner.org/

Annenberg/CPB uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools.

Education
http://dir.yahoo.com/Education/

Extensive list of links relevant to education and related areas.

Education Index
http://www.educationindex.com/education_resources.html

The Education Index, published by Hobsons, an international college and career publisher, is intended to provide learners and educators with access to the best educational Web sites in a variety of subjects and lifestages. Education Index lists more than 3,000 sites in 66 categories.

Peterson's
http://www.petersons.com

Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators
http://school.discovery.com/schrockguide/

Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators is a categorized list of sites which are useful for enhancing curriculum and professional growth. It is updated often.

National Center for Education Statistics
http://nces.ed.gov/

This subdivision of the Department of Education site contains the Encyclopedia of ED Stats, Fast Facts, Digest of Education Statistics, The Condition of Education, and the Third International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS)

United States Department of Education
http://www.ed.gov/

A well organized site packed with information, statistics, full text of reports, news, and links to other organizations and Web sites.
Top

Professional Organizations

American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance
http://www.aahperd.org/

American Association of University Professors
http://www.aaup.org/

American Federation of Teachers
http://www.aft.org/

Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development
http://www.ascd.org/

Council for Exceptional Children
http://www.cec.sped.org/

International Reading Association
http://www.reading.org/

MENC: National Association for Music Education
http://www.menc.org/

National Association of Elementary School Principals
http://www.naesp.org/

National Association of Secondary School Principals
http://www.nassp.org/

National Council for History Education
http://www.nche.net/

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
http://www.nctm.org/

National Education Association
http://www.nea.org/

National Council of Teachers of English
http://www.ncte.org/

National Science Teachers Association
http://www.nsta.org/
Top

Statistical Resources

National Center for Education Statistics
http://nces.ed.gov/

Brings together data from several NCES sources, including The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics.


Top

Style Manuals

Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_apa.html

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab offers this guide to the APA citation style. Copies of The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association are available at the B/H Library Information and Research Assistance desk.
Top

Last updated: September 5, 2007
By: Linda Brew
   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home