Economics Subject Guide

(See also Business Subject Guide)

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

 

Major Reference Works

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Economics [Remote access - UVM Only]

Dictionary of Economics
REF HB 61 .S466 1995

Dictionary of Finance and Banking [Remote access - UVM Only]

Encyclopedia of Political Economy (2 volumes)
REF HB 61 .E554 1999

Fortune Encyclopedia of Economics
REF HB 61 .F67 1993

Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History (5 volumes)
REF HC 15 .094 2003

Routledge Critical Dictionary of Global Economics
REF HB 61 .R68 1999

Survey of Social Science. Economics series (5 volumes)
HB 61 .S94 1991

Biographical Information and Economic Theory

Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists
REF HB 76 .B5 1992

Encyclopedia of American Economic History : Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas (3 volumes)
REF HC 103 .E52

Fifty Major Economists
REF HB 76 .P74 1999

Great Economists Before Keynes : An Introduction to the Lives & Works of One Hundred Economists of the Past
REF HB 76 .B54 1986

Great Economists Since Keynes : An Introduction to the Lives & Works of One Hundred Modern Economists
REF HB 76 .B55 1985

History of Economic Thought
http://cepa.newschool.edu/het/home.htm

Economic Indicators (Employment, Income, Prices, etc.)

(See also Statistical Resources.)

Guide to Economic Indicators: Making Sense of Economics
REF HC 103 .F9 2003

Handbook of Key Economic Indicators
REF HC 103 .R64 1998

Economic Analyses, Forecasts, and Fiscal Policy

Budget and Economic Outlook
DOCS Y10.13: (latest volume)
http://www.cbo.gov/showdoc.cfm?index=6060&sequence=0

Economic Report of the President
DOCS REF Y 1.1/7: (latest volume)
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/eop
An annual publication offering detailed analyses of economic conditions and 112 statistical, time-series tables relating to income, employment and production.

World Economic Outlook : A Survey By the Staff of the International Monetary Fund
REF HC 10 .W7979
http://www.imf.org/external/pubind.htm [click "Browse by: title" to find World Economic Outlook]

Money and Banking

Encyclopedia of Banking & Finance
REF HG 157 .M8 1991

Federal Reserve Board Economic and Research Data
http://www.federalreserve.gov/rnd.htm
Includes statistics on banking and money supplies, current and historical interest rates, data on household debt and consumer credit, and current and historical exchange rates. Also offers articles on economic developments, monetary policy, and bank regulatory issues.

Federal Reserve District Banks
http://www.federalreserve.gov/otherfrb.htm
Includes a map and links to all 12 Federal Reserve Banks, plus regional economic information.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Money & Finance (3 volumes)
REF HG 151 .N48 1992

Statistics on Banking
REF HG 2401 .S76 2002

Thomson Bank Directory (5 volumes)
REF HG 2441 .T46

What is a Dollar Worth?
http://minneapolisfed.org/research/data/us/calc
Calculates the comparative value of a dollar in any two years between 1913 and the present.

International Economics

(See also Statistical Resources.)

World Economic and Social Survey
REF HC 59 .A169

Financial Markets

101 Years On Wall Street : An Investor's Almanac
REF HG 4572 .B74 1991

American Stock Exchange Web Site
http://www.amex.com/

Big Charts
http://www.bigcharts.com/historical
Provides historical data for securities (closing price, high, low, volume traded).

Directory of World Stock Exchanges
REF HG 4551 .D53 1988

Dow Jones Averages, 1885-1985 : Centennial Edition
REF HG 4915 .D68 1986

Handbook of Financial Market Indexes, Averages, and Indicators
REF HG 4636 .B49 1990

NASDAQ Web Site
http://www.nasdaq.com/

New York Stock Exchange Web Site
http://www.nyse.com/

Wall Street Journal Guide to Understanding Money & Investing
REF (Ready Ref) HG 4910 .M67 1993

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Premier [Remote access - UVM Only]
A multidisciplinary database containing full-text articles for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications, and indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals. Coverage: 1975 (for some) - present.

Business and Company Resource Center [Remote access - UVM Only]
Citations, abstracts, and full text of articles in economics, management, international business, and law. Coverage: 1970 - present.

EconLit [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts articles from journals and collected volumes, books and dissertations, and working papers. Subject areas include economic theory and history, quantitative methods, technological change and growth, and many other related topics. Coverage: 1969 - present.

Expanded Academic ASAP [Remote access - UVM Only]
A multidisciplinary database containing full-text articles from 2,200 journals and magazines, and indexing of 3,800 journals. Coverage includes 2,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Factiva Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM Only]
Full-text access to thousands of business, trade, cultural, and scholarly publications including international news, business news, and financial data. Also offers current and historical stock prices and company profiles, full text of The Wall Street Journal, and English-language summaries of articles from major foreign-language newspapers. Formerly Dow Jones Interactive.

Index of Economic Articles (33 volumes)
Z 7164.E2 I4812 (3rd Floor)
Indexes articles in major economic journals and in collective volumes. Coverage: 1966 - 1988.

Index of Economic Journals (7 volumes)
Z 7164.E2 I48 (3rd Floor)
Indexes English-language articles in major professional economic journals. Coverage: 1886 - 1965.

LexisNexis - Academic Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM Only]
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference sources including law reviews, foreign-language newspapers, country and state profiles, company financial data and news, and media transcripts. Coverage: 1980 - present.

PAIS International [Remote access - UVM Only]
Contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and Internet material on public policy from over 120 countries. Subject areas include banking, demographics, government, international relations, and public administration. Coverage: 1960 - present.

PAIS Archive [Remote access - UVM Only]
A retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics, and provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies. Coverage: 1915 - 1976.

Social Sciences Abstracts [Remote access - UVM Only]
Abstracts of articles from international, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Coverage: February 1983 - present (with abstracts beginning in 1994).

Web of Science [Remote access - UVM Only]
Abstracts and cited references of articles from the international literature in social sciences including economics. Coverage: 1982 - present.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Economic History and Conditions Full-text Databases

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Economic Theory and Demography Full-text Databases

JSTOR Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM Only]

An archive providing access to back issues of scholarly journals, including a collection of economics journals. Issues published within the last two to five years are generally not covered.

Project Muse Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM Only]

An electronic collection of over 100 journals published by major university presses, including a small number of economics titles.

Top

Recommended Web Sites

Dismal Scientist
http://www.dismal.com
Articles on economic topics plus economic statistics and forecasts.

Economics History Services
http://www.eh.net
Answers questions about comparative values -- purchasing power, interest rates, exchange rates, and other variables -- between the past and today.

History of Economic Thought
http://cepa.newschool.edu/het/home.htm

Liber8
http://liber8.stlouisfed.org/
An economic information portal from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. The site includes articles and statistics from Federal Reserve banks and other sources.

TeachMeFinance.com
http://www.teachmefinance.com/contents.html
Basic finance concepts such as time value of money, kinds of interest rates, cost of capital, etc.

Top

Professional Organizations

Check Encyclopedia of Associations (Ready Reference AS8 .E5) for more economics associations and organizations.

American Economic Association
http://www.vanderbilt.edu/AEA/
Organized in 1885, the association's mission is to encourage economic research, issue publications on economic subjects, and encourage freedom of economic discussion.

Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs
http://www.state.gov/e/eb/
The Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs (EB) formulates and carries out U.S. foreign economic policy, integrating U.S. economic interests with foreign policy goals.

Gund Institute for Ecological Economics
http://www.uvm.edu/giee
Located on the campus of University of Vermont, the institute develops, tests, and implements innovative methods and models that reflect the need to integrate the social, built, natural, and human capital components of the world.

Institute for International Economics
http://www.iie.com/
A private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research institution devoted to the study of international economic policy.

National Bureau of Economic Research
http://www.nber.org
The NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Research is conducted by more than 600 university professors around the country.

Top

Statistical Resources

General Statistical Sources

FedStats
http://www.fedstats.gov
The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies. Find statistics by topic, by agency, or by geographic region.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
REF HA 202 .A1 (recent edition in ready reference, previous years in reference stacks)
DOCS REF C 3.134: (latest volume)
http://www.census.gov/prod/www/statistical-abstract.html

Statistical Abstract of the World
REF HA 154 .S68

Economic Indicators, U.S. (Employment, Income, Prices, etc.)

American FactFinder
http://factfinder.census.gov/servlet/BasicFactsServlet
Demographic data from the Census of Population and Housing, and industry employment and payroll information from the Economic Census.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
http://www.bls.gov
The major repository of employment statistics and consumer and producer price indexes

Economic Indicators
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/indicators/
Monthly reports of economic statistics, including gross domestic product, income measures, price indices, employment data, credit market data, and some international statistics.

Economic Statistics Briefing Room
http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/esbr.html
Federal economic statistics and economic indicators including income, expenditures, and wealth; output; transportation; employment, unemployment, and earnings; and prices.

Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics : Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and Other Labor Data
REF (Ready Ref) HD 8051 .A622
DOCS REF HD 8051 .A622

One Hundred Years of Economic Statistics
REF HC 106 .L68 1989

Value of a Dollar : Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-1989
REF HB 235 .U6 V35 1999

Money and Banking

Federal Reserve Board Economic Research and Data
http://www.federalreserve.gov/rnd.htm
Includes statistics on banking and money supplies, current and historical interest rates, data on household debt and consumer credit, and current and historical exchange rates. Also offers articles on economic developments, monetary policy, and bank regulatory issues.

International Economics

Balance of Payments Statistics Yearbook
REF HF 1014 .I5 (latest volume)

Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook
REF HF 91 .D572 (Latest volume)

Europa World Year Book
REF JN 1 .E 85

Global Stock Markets Factbook
REF HG 5993 .E57 2004

International Financial Statistics
REF HG 3881 .I626

International Trade Statistics Yearbook (2 volumes)
REF HF 91 .U473

U.S. Foreign Trade Highlights
http://www.ita.doc.gov/td/industry/otea/usfth
Provides historical data on U.S. international trade in goods and services.

World Bank Group Data and Statistics Web Site
http://www.worldbank.org/data/
Offers access to data by country and topic.

World Development Indicators (This database can be accessed only on terminals at the Bailey/Howe Library)
Contains hundreds of economic, social and demographic indicators of development by country. Coverage: 1970 - present.

World Economic Factbook
REF HC 59.15 .W662

World Factbook
DOCS PREX 3.15:2004
http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html

Top

Style Manuals

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Accounting, Economics and Finance (2 volumes)
REF H 91 .C23

Chicago Manual of Style
REF (Ready Ref) Z 253 .U69 2003
http://www.wisc.edu/writetest/Handbook/DocChicago.html

Economist's Handbook : A Research and Writing Guide
REF HB 74.5 .W97 1994

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
REF (Ready Ref) BF 76 .7 .A46

Top

Last updated: August 9, 2006
By: Trina Magi