UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  


Country Resources Guide

Major Reference Works
Statistical Resources
Indexes , Abstracts, and Full-text Databases
Recommended Web Sites
Style Manuals

Major Reference Works

Cities of  the World [Remote access - UVM only]

Country Studies (Area Handbook Series - U.S. Department of Army)
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
DOCS Ask at Documents Desk for print version
Each volume in this series is devoted to one particular country and includes geographical, historical, political, economic, and cultural information about that country.

Britannica Book of the Year
REF AE 5 .E364 (latest volume)

The Columbia Gazetteer of the World
REF G 103.5 .C645 1998

Countries and their Cultures (4 volumes)
REF GN 307 .C68 2001

Countries of the World and their Leaders Yearbook
REF G 1 .C88 (latest volume)

The Encyclopedia of the Peoples of the World
REF GN 495.4 .E53 1993

Encyclopedia of World Cultures (10 volumes)
REF GN 307 .E53 2002

Encyclopedia of World Geography (24 volumes)
REF G 133 .E48 1994

The Europa World Year Book (2 volumes)
REF JN 1 .E85 (latest volume)

Geo-data the World Geographical Encyclopedia [Remote access - UVM only]

Information Please Almanac (Countries of the World)
http://www.infoplease.com/countries.html

The National Geographic Desk Reference
REF G 123 .N38 1999

Political Handbook of the World
REF JF 37 .P6 (latest volume)

The Statesman's Year-Book
REF JA 51 .S7 (latest volume)

Wellbeing of Nations: A Country-by-Country Index of Quality of Life and the Environment
REF GE 140 .P74 2001

The World Almanac and Book of Facts
REF AY 67 .N5 W7 (latest volume shelved on Ready Reference shelves adjacent to reference desk)

The World Factbook
http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html
DOCS PrEx 3.15 (print version)

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
REF GN 333 .W67 1998

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations [Remote access - UVM only]
Print: REF G 63 .W67 1995

Atlases

Encyclopedic World Atlas
REF G 1021 .G417 2002

Goode's World Atlas
REF (Ready Ref) G 1019 .G67 (latest volume)

International Boundaries: A Geopolotical Atlas
REF G 1046 .F2 A53 2003

National Geographic Atlas of the World
REF FOLIO G 1021 .N38 1992

Oxford Atlas of the World
REF ATLAS STAND G 1021 .A7545 2000

Times Atlas of the World
REF ATLAS STAND G 1021 .T5644 1999

World Bank Atlas
REF HA 154 .W67 (latest volume)

World Travel Atlas (latest volume)
REF G 1021 .W68

** NOTE: THERE ARE MAPS AND ATLASES AVAILABLE IN THE MAP ROOM FOR MOST OF THE WORLD'S COUNTRIES. **

Top


Statistical Resources

Britannica Book of the Year
REF AE 5 .E364 (latest volume)

Demographic Yearbook = Annuaire Demographique
REF HA 17 .D45 (latest volume and back to 1948)

The Europa World Year Book (2 volumes)
REF JN 1 .E85 (latest volume)

The Least Developed Countries
REF HC 59.7 .L397 (latest volume)

The National Geographic Desk Reference
REF G 123 .N38 1999

Population and Vital Statistical Report
REF HA 154 .P66 (only current issues are kept)

Social Indicators of Development (United Nations Statistical Division)
http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/socind

The State of the World's Children
REF HQ 792.2 .S63 (latest volume)

Statistical Yearbook = Annuaire Statistique
REF HA 12.5 .U632 (latest volume and back to 1974)

The World Almanac and Book of Facts
REF AY 67 .N5 W7 (latest volume shelved on Ready Reference shelves adjacent to reference desk, older volumes in Reference stacks)

World Development Indicators (This database can only be accessed on terminals at the Bailey/Howe Library)
Contains international economic, social, environmental, and demographic indicators by country.  Coverage: 1970 - present.

World Development Report
REF HC 59.7 .W659 (latest volume and back to 1995)

World Population Prospects as Assessed in  .... (latest volume)
REF HA 155 .W 67

World Tables
REF HC 59 .W672 1995

World Economic Factbook (latest volume)
REF HC 59.15 .W662

The World Factbook (CIA)
http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html
Country profiles include descriptive and/or statistical information on geography, people, government, economy, communication, transportation, military,and transnational issues.

World Resources Data Tables 2005
http://pdf.wri.org/wrr05_dt_all.pdf

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-text Databases

Academic Search Premier [Remote access - UVM only]
An interdisciplinary index to journal articles and partially full-text database that includes many references and full text articles that focus on specific countries.  A useful resource for country news-related items and more. Coverage: 1970s - present.

Expanded Academic ASAP  (InfoTrac)  [Remote access - UVM Only]
An interdisciplinary index to journal articles and partially full-text database that includes many references and full text articles that focus on specific countries.  A useful resource for country news-related items and more. Coverage: 1980 - present.

GEOBASE [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts the international literature on physical and cultural geography, international development, natural resources, and more.   Search country name by subject to locate articles that focus on specific aspects of country.  Coverage: 1980 - present.

LexisNexis Academic   [Remote access - UVM Only]
A full-text database of news, business, and legal , and other information resources.  Detailed country background information is available by selecting Reference from the main menu and then selecting Country Profiles.  LexisNexis Academic is also very useful for finding current news information and international perspectives on events. 

Top

Recommended Web Sites

Country Studies (Area Handbook Series - U.S. Department of Army)
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
Each volume in this series is devoted to one particular country and includes geographical, historical, political, economic, and cultural information about that country.

Foreign Governments -Country Background (University of Michigan Documents Center)
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/forcoun.html
Provides links with descriptions to a wide array of Web sites and other resources that focus on country background information.

NationMaster.com
http://www.nationmaster.com
Good compilation of updated country statistical information.

Portals to the World: Links to Electronic Resources Selected by Library of Congress Subject Experts
http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
Contains selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world.

U.S. State Department Background Notes
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/
Country profiles include sections on geography, people, history, government and foreign relations, economy, and more.

The World Factbook (CIA)
http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html
Country profiles include descriptive and/or statistical information on geography, people, government, economy, communication, transportation, military,and transnational issues.

Top

Style Manuals

Please refer to the subject guide for the particular subject area in which you are writing for advice on a style guide to use. Top

Last updated: August 17, 2006
By: Laurie Kutner

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home