UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Computer Science Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Technical Reports
Recommended Web Sites Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Full-text

Major Reference Works

Computer and Information Science and Technology Abbreviations and Acronyms Dictionary
REF QA 76.15 .S635 1994

Computer Pioneers
REF QA 76.2 .A2 L44 1995

Data & Telecommunications Dictionary
REF TK 5102 .P48 1999

Desktop Encyclopedia of the Internet
REF TK 5105.5 .M85696 1999

Desktop Encyclopedia of Voice and Data Networking
REF TK 5102 .M853 2000

Dictionary of Computing (4th edition) [Remote access - UVM only]
REF QA 76.15 .D526 1996

Dictionary of the Internet [Remote access - UVM only]

Encyclopedia of Artifical Intelligence (2 volumes)
REF Q 335 E.53 1990

Encyclopedia of Compuer Science (4th edition)
REF QA 76.15 .E48 2000

Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology (14 volumes plus annual supplements)
REF QA 76.15 .E5

Encyclopedia of Network Blueprints
REF TK 5105.5 .T3913 1998

Facts on File Dictionary of Computer Science
REF QA 76.15 .F345 2001

Guide to Software Engineering Standards and Specifications
REF 76.758 .M258 1997

International Dictionary of Artifical Intelligence
REF Q 334.2 .R39 1999

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (20 volumes plus supplements)
REF Q 121 .M3 1992

McGraw-Hill Illustrated Encyclopedia of Robotics & Artifical Intelligence
REF TJ 210.4 .G53 1994

Understanding Networking Technology: Concepts, Terms, and Trends
REF TK 5102 .N67 1999

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Applied Science and Technology [Remote access - UVM Only]

Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, product review, book reviews, and more. Coverage: 1983 - present.

CompuMath Citation Index
REF Z 6653 .C84 (annual)

Citation index for Computer Science, Applied Mathematics, Statistics, Operations Research and related fields. Use to identify works cited in a given source article (conference paper), or to identify where a given article has been cited.

Engineering Village (Compendex) [Remote access - UVM Only]

Large database that indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, and conference articles. Also provides access to U.S. patents, standards, and numerous Web sites on all aspects of engineering including software engineering and database design. Coverage 1970 - present.

IEEE Xplore [Remote access - UVM only]

Access to the full-text of IEEE conference proceedings, journals, transactions, and magazines published since 1998.

Lecture Notes in Computer Science [Remote access - UVM only]

Full-text of publications in the series that includes papers from many professional proceedings as well as other publications. With free registration you can sign-up for an "alert" service and be notified when topics of interest to you are added to the series.

MathSciNet [Remote access - UVM Only]

Online version of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Indexes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. Coverage is 1940 - present.

Web of Science [Remote access - UVM Only]

Online version of the Science Citation Index (as well as the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Humanities Citation Index). Excellent for doing interdisciplinary research. Coverage is 1990 - present.
Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Computer Science

IEEE Xplore [Remote access - UVM Only]

Large collection of journals, journal articles, conference proceedings, and standards. Some items indexed are not available online to UVM but may be ordered free of charge through Inter Library Loan. View list of titles in UVM subscription. Coverage 1988 - present.

netLibrary [Remote access - UVM Only]

Online book collection. Includes large collections of O'Reilly and Associates and Sam's Publishing titles in computer science.

Safari Tech Books Online [Remote access - UVM Only]

Collection includes titles from many leading publishers including: O'Reilly, Sams, Sun Microsystems, Addison Wesley, Adobe Press, and Microsoft Press.

SIAM Journals Online [Remote access - UVM Only]

Online full-text editions of the journals of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. Specific publications include SIAM Journal of Computing and the SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing.

Web of Science [Remote access - UVM Only]

Citation index (with abstracts) covering all aspects of computer science. Excellent resource for conducting literature reviews as it lets you see the inter-relationship between published works. Coverage: 1982 - present.
Top

Technical Reports

Carnegie Mellon Software Engineering Institute Technical Reports
http://www.sei.cmu.edu/publications/lists.html

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Computer Science Department Technical Reports
http://www.cs.rpi.edu/research/tr.html

Top

Recommended Web Sites

Standards (and Cross References)
http://www.cmpcmm.com/cc/standards.html

Technology Research News
http://www.trnmag.com/

World Wide Web Consortium
http://www.w3.org/

ZDNet
http://www.zdnet.com/


Top

Professional Organizations

American Association for Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)
http://www.aaai.org/

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
http://www.acm.org/

Association for Women in Computing (AWC)
http://www.awc-hq.org/

IEEE Computer Society
http://www.computer.org/

National Science Foundation's Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE)
http://www.cise.nsf.gov/


Top

Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style
REF Z 253 .U69 2003

Chicago Manual of Style: Bibliographic Format for References
http://www.libs.uga.edu/ref/chicago.html

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association [APA] (5th edition)
REF DESK BF 76.7 .A46 5th ed. 2001

IEEE Computer Society Style Guide
http://www.computer.org/author/style/index.htm

Introduction to APA Style (The Purdue Online Writing Lab)
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/workshops/hypertext/APA/introduction.html

Top

Last updated: July 27, 2006
By: Daisy Benson

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home