UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  
Classics (Greece and Rome) Subject Guide

Classics (Greece and Rome) Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome (2 volumes)
REF PA 3002 .A5 1982

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity (multi-volume, in progress)
REF DE 5 .N4813 2002

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Classical Tradition (multi-volume, in progress)
REF DE 5 .N4913 2006

Cambridge Ancient History (14 volumes)
REF D 57 .C252

Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome (3 volumes)
REF DE 59 .C58 1988

Crowell's Handbook of Classical Drama
REF PA 3024 .H35

Crowell's Handbook of Classical Literature
REF PA 31 .F43 1964

Dictionary of Art (34 volumes)
REF N 31 .D5 1996
Electronic: Grove Art Online Full-text Databases [Remote Access - UVM Only]

Dictionary of Greek and Roman Antiquities (2 volumes)
REF DE 5 .S6 1890

Dictionary of Greek and Roman Biography and Mythology (3 volumes)
REF DE 5 .S71

Dictionary of Greek and Roman Geography (2 volumes)
REF DE 25 .S662

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy
REF B 163 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World
REF HQ 1127 .S25 2001

Greek Literature
(Spine reads: Cambridge History of Classical Literature I - Greek)
REF PA 3052 .G73 1985

Handbook to Life in Ancient Greece
REF DF 77 .A35 2005

Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome
REF DG 77 .A35 1994

Harper's Dictionary of Classical Literature and Antiquities
REF DE 5 .P36

Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World
REF DE 5 .L29 1999

Latin Literature
(Spine reads: Cambridge History of Classical Literature II - Latin)
REF PA 6003 .L3

Latin Literature: A History
REF PA 6008 .C6613 1994

New Century Classical Handbook
REF DE 5 .N4

New Century Handbook of Classical Geography
REF DE 25 .N48

New Century Handbook of Leaders of the Classical World
REF D 55 .N48

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (29 volumes)
REF ML 100 .N48 2001
Electronic: Grove Music Online Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]

Oxford Classical Dictionary
REF DE 5 .O9 2003

Oxford Companion to Archaeology
REF CC 70 .O96 1996
Electronic: Oxford Companion to Archaeology Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
REF DE 5 .O94 1998
Electronic: Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]

Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
REF PA 31 .H69 1989
Electronic: Oxford Companion to Classical Literature Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]

Oxford Companion to Philosophy
REF B 51 .O94 2005
Electronic: Oxford Companion to Philosophy Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium (3 volumes)
REF DF 521 .O93 1991

Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
REF B 41 .B53 1994
Electronic: Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]

Oxford History of the Classical World
REF DE 59 .O94 1986

Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites
REF DE 59 .P7


Who's Who in the Classical World
Electronic: Who’s Who in the Classical World Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]


Mythology

Crowell's Handbook of Classical Mythology
REF BL 303 .T75 1970

Dictionary of Classical Mythology
REF BL 715 .G713 1986

Dictionary of Classical Mythology: Symbols, Attributes, & Associations
REF BL 715 .B44 1982

Early Greek Myth : A Guide to Literary and Artistic Sources / by Timothy Gantz
REF BL 782 .G34 1993
Traces the development of each myth in narrative form and summarizes the written and visual evidence in which the specific details of the story appear. Attempts to identify the earliest literary sources for every myth.

Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (8 volumes)
REF N 7760 .L49 1981
Major work attempting to include pictures of every form of Ancient Greek and Roman art on mythological subjects. It is arranged alphabetically by subject. The encyclopedia is compiled in eight 2-part volumes (the first part discusses each picture and the second contains the picture) and an index volume. Primary language is German, but some entries are written in French, English or Italian.

Oxford Companion to World Mythology
REF BL 312 .L44 2005
Electronic: Oxford Companion to World Mythology Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]

Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s / by Jane Davidson Reid (2 volumes)
REF NX 650 .M9 R45 1993
Covers a broad range of the arts - art, music, literature, dance. Arranged by subject name or theme (e.g. Apollo, Ages of the World), each entry gives brief description and an extensive listing of examples in art. Bibliography and index by artist included.

Place-Names in Classical Mythology: Greece
REF DF 16 .B45 1989

Room's Classical Dictionary: The Origins of the Names of Characters in Classical Mythology
REF BL 727 .R58 1983

What Men or Gods are These?: A Genealogical Approach to Classical Mythology
REF BL 782 .B6

Women of Classical Mythology: A Biographical Dictionary
REF BL 715 .B445 1991

Atlases

Atlas of Classical History
REF G 1033 .A833 1985

Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity
REF FOLIO G 1033 .A84 1981

Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World
REF FOLIO G 1033 .B3 2000
(2 volume map-by-map directory accompanies the Atlas)

Latin and Greek Dictionaries

Greek-English Lexicon (and supplements)
REF PA 445 .E5 L61

Oxford Latin Dictionary (2 volumes)
REF PA 2365 .E5 O9

Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (English-Latin)
Electronic: Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (English-Latin)Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]

Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Latin-English)
Electronic: Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Latin-English)Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]

Abbreviations of Journal Titles and Standard Reference Works

L'Annee Philologique; Bibliographie Critique et Analytique de l'Antiquite Gre co-Latine
REF Z 7016 .A56
Abbreviations found at the beginning of each volume.

Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines
REF PA 99 .W44 1983

Oxford Classical Dictionary
REF DE 5 .O9 2003

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium (3 volumes)
REF DF 521 .O93 1991
Abbreviations found at the beginning of each volume.


Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Primary Indexes, Abstracts and Full-Text Databases

L'Annee Philologique; Bibliographie Critique et Analytique de l'Antiquite Greco-Latine
REF Z 7016 .A56
Library Holdings: t.1 (1924-26)-t.75 (2004)
Comprehensive and authoritative international bibliography of classical studies. It publishes annually a complete and accurate volume of all classical scholarship throughout the world, covering the whole range of the ancient classical languages, literature, history, archaeology, art, epigraphy, religion, law, philosophy, science and technology, and allied topics.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science) [Remote access - UVM only]
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature (articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews) of the arts and humanities. Coverage: 1982 - present.

Secondary Indexes, Abstracts and Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Premier  Full-text Databases [Remote access - ­ UVM Only]   Coverage: @1969–present (date varies by publication).
and
Expanded Academic ASAP  Full-text Databases [Remote access - ­ UVM Only]   Coverage: 1980–present.
Both are interdisciplinary indexes to journal articles and partially full-text database that includes many references and full-text articles on topics in classical studies, including book reviews. 

Art Index [Remote access - UVM only]
International index to art periodicals, year books, and museum bulletins. International index to journal articles in all areas of art. Indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Coverage: 1984-present.

ATLA Religion [Remote access - UVM only]
International index to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the fields of religion and mythology. Coverage: 1946 - present.

Literature Resource Center Full-text Databases [Remote access - ­ UVM Only]
Provides full-text access to English-language biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and discipline.  Also provides access to several general literature handbooks and encyclopedias.

MLA International Bibliography [Remote access - UVM only]
Coverage: 1926 - present.
(Previous title: MLA American Bibliography of Books... 1921-1955)
REF Z 7006 .M67 1921-2004
International index to journal articles, book chapters, and books in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Philosopher's Index [Remote access - UVM only]
The preeminent source for locating the international literature on philosophy and related fields. Coverage: 1940-present.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature [Remote access - UVM only]
Index to music and performing arts periodicals, books, and collections of essays concerning all aspects of music. Coverage: 1969 - present.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

Ancient History Sourcebook
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/ancient/asbook.html
Collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts, with emphasis on access to primary source texts for educational purposes.

Bibliotheca Augustana
http://www.fh-augsburg.de/%7Eharsch/a_summa.html#la
Collection of electronic texts in Latin, Ancient Greek, English, French, German and Italian, ranging in date from classical times to the modern day. The website's text is largely Latin.

Bulfinch's Mythology
http://www.sacred-texts.com/cla/bulf/index.htm

Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum
http://www.forumromanum.org/literature/index.html
Digital library of Latin literature, from the earliest epigraphic remains to the Neo-Latinists of the eighteenth century. English-language translations are noted. Browse by author, title, genre, or date. Search by keyword.

JSTOR Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]
Electronic archive for journal backfiles, which permits detailed searches of thousands of issues of scholarly journals back to the 19th century. Issues published within the last 2-5 years are generally not covered. The purpose of JSTOR is to provide access to back issues of journals, not current issues.

Labyrinth Latin Library
http://www.georgetown.edu/labyrinth/library/latin/latin-lib.html

Latin Library
http://www.thelatinlibrary.com
Provides online texts of a number of Latin texts from classical times.

Online Medieval a Classical Library
http://omacl.org/
Includes translations of a number of texts from classical and medieval literature, sorted by title, author, genre, and language. Also provides links to other sites providing e-texts from these periods.

Perseus Digital Library
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/
Digital library of text and image resources for the study of the ancient world. While primarily covering the Archaic and Classical Greek world, the website also includes Latin text and tools.

Project Gutenberg
http://www.gutenberg.org/catalog/
Extensive collection of electronic texts of (mostly) public domain works. Searchable by author, title, and Library of Congress classification.

Project Libellus
http://www.hhhh.org/perseant/libellus/

Project Muse Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]
Electronic collection of journals published by major university presses in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Year coverage is generally for the last 4-5 years.  Note: you do not have access to the full-text article from a journal that UVM does not subscribe to.

Sacred Texts: Classics
http://www.sacred-texts.com/cla/index.htm
Archive of copy-right permitted full-text books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric. Under "Topics," choose "Classics." Access the books by browsing or by using the intra-website search engine.

Top

Recommended Web Sites

Beazley Archive
http://www.beazley.ox.ac.uk/BeazleyAdmin/Script2/default.htm
Provides three databases of images of Ancient Greek gems, pottery, and sculpture. Detailed descriptions of each artifact are provided, as is a dictionary which explains the technical terms, names, and myths used in the descriptions. Also includes an extensive bibliography on various topics in Ancient Greek art. Use of the databases is free, but registration is required to gain access to some (not all) areas of the site.

British Academy PORTAL: Archaeology
http://www.britac.ac.uk/portal/bysection.asp?section=H7

British Academy PORTAL: Classical Antiquity
http://www.britac.ac.uk/portal/bysection.asp?section=H1

British Museum: Greece
http://www.thebritishmuseum.ac.uk/world/greece/greece.html

British Museum: Rome
http://www.thebritishmuseum.ac.uk/world/rome/rome.html

Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women a Gender in the Ancient World
http://www.stoa.org/diotima/

Electronic Resources for Classicists
http://www.tlg.uci.edu/index/resources.html

Forum Romanorum
http://www.forumromanum.org/index2.html

Greeks: Crucible of Civilization (PBS)
http://www.pbs.org/empires/thegreeks/

NESTOR
http://classics.uc.edu/nestor/
Bibliography of classical archaeology, covering works written 1957-2004

Oxford Classical Mythology Online
http://www.classicalmythology.org/
Click on "student resources" to find summaries and analyses of myths, related maps, and glossaries.

Perseus Digital Library
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/
Digital library of text and image resources for the study of the ancient world. While primarily covering the Archaic and Classical Greek world, the website also includes Latin text and tools.

Roman Empire: In the First Century (PBS)
http://www.pbs.org/empires/romans/

TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journal of Interest to Classicists
http://www.chass.utoronto.ca/amphoras/tocs.html

Voice of the Shuttle: Archaeology
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2704

Voice of the Shuttle: Classical Studies
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2708

Top


Professional Organizations

AIA - Archaeological Institute of America
http://www.archaeological.org/

American Classical League
http://www.aclclassics.org/index.html

American Philological Association
http://www.apaclassics.org/

Association of Ancient Historians
http://www.trentu.ca/academic/ahc/aah/welcome.shtml

Classical Association
http://www.classicalassociation.org/

Classical Association of New England (CANE)
http://www.caneweb.org/index.asp

Joint Association of Classical Teachers
http://www.jact.org/

Society for the Promotion of Hellenic Studies
http://www.hellenicsociety.org.uk/

Society for the Promotion of Roman Studies
http://www.romansociety.org/

Women's Classical Caucus
http://www.wccaucus.org/

Top

Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style
REF (Ready Ref) Z 253 .U69 2003
http://www.wisc.edu/writetest/Handbook/DocChicago.html

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
REF (Ready Ref) LB 2369 .G53 2003
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_mla.html
Standard guide for undergraduate students in the humanities. Offers guidance in all aspects of writing a paper, including preparing citations using the MLA documentation style, for print and electronic works.

Top


Last updated: April 13, 2007
By: Patricia Mardeusz

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home