UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Civil Engineering Subject Guide

(see also Environmental Engineering Subject Guide)

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Handbooks, Manuals, and Tables

Civil Engineering Handbook
REF TA 151 .C57 1995

Concrete Construction Engineering Handbook
TA 681 .C743 1997

Construction Databook
QUARTO TH 151 .L48 1999

Engineering Geology Field Manual, 2nd edition
I 27.19/2:EN 3/2/998/V.1 (Government Documents)

Engineering Formulas, 7th edition
REF TA 151 .G4713 1997

Engineering Mathematics Handbook, 4th edition
REF TA 332 .T85 1998

Field Engineer's Manual, 2nd edition
REF TA 151 .P35 1995

Guide to Stability Design Criteria for Metal Structures, 5th edition
TA 660 .C6 .G85 1998

Hydraulic Handbook, 8th edition
REF TJ 843 .W37 1983

Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, 7th edition
REF TA 407.2 .R6 2001

Shock and Vibration Handbook, 2nd edition
TA 335 .H35 1976

Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers, 3rd edition
REF TA 151 .S8 1983

Standard Handbook of Engineering Calculations, 3rd edition
REF TA 332 .S73 1995

Stress and Strain Data Handbook
REF TA 648.3 .H78 1986

Structural Engineering Handbook, 2nd edition
REF TA 635 .G3 1979

Structural Steel Designers' Handbook, 2nd edition
REF TA 684 .S79 1994

Wiley Engineer's Desk Reference: A Concise Guide for the Professional Engineer, 2nd edition
REF TA 151 .H424 1998

Wood Engineering and Construction Handbook, 3rd edition
TA 666 .W63 1999

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (15 volumes)
Q 123 .E497 1987

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering
REF TA 9 .M35 1984

VNR Dictionary of Civil Engineering, 4th edition
REF TA .S35 1993

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts [Remote access – UVM only]

ASCE's Civil Engineering Database
Provides online access to bibliographic and abstracted records published by ASCE.

Compendex (Engineering Village) [Remote access - UVM only]
Comprehensive, interdisciplinary engineering database that includes abstracts of international journals, conference papers, and technical reports.

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) [Remote access - UVM only]

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Bridge Engineering

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Building Construction

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Civil Engineering

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Geology

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Highway Engineering

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Hydraulic Engineering

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Physical Geography

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Mining Engineering

Top

Recommended Web Sites

4 Specs.com
http://www.4specs.com/
Provides free listings for product manufacturers and trade organizations. It links materials, specifications, and companies.

A Dictionary of Measures, Units, and Conversion
http://www.ex.ac.uk/cimt/dictunit/dictunit.htm

Civil Structural Engineering Resource Web
http://web.singnet.com.sg/%7Eicyh1955/civil.html

United States Geological Survey (USGS)
http://www.usgs.gov

Land Surveying Rules, Regulations, Statutes and Minimum Standards
http://www.lsrp.com/statinfo.html

Online Ethics Center for Engineering and Science
http://onlineethics.org/

Top

Professional Organizations

American Society for Civil Engineers (ASCE)
http://www.asce.org

Canadian Society for Civil Engineers (CSCE)
http://www.csce.ca

Geological Society of America
http://www.geosociety.org

National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)
http://www.nsbe.org

Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
http://www.swe.org

Top

Style Manuals

Effective Writing for Engineers, Managers, Scientists
PE 1408 .T5

Guide to Writing as an Engineer, 2nd edition
T 11 .B396 2005

Pocket Manual of Technical Writing for Engineers and Scientists, 2nd edition
T 11 .F53 2003

Top

Last updated: August 17, 2006
By: Elizabeth Hassemer

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home