UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Chemistry Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT NMR Spectra
REF QD 96 .N8 .P67 1993 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Beilstein Guide: A Manual for the Use of Beilstein's Handbuch de Organischen Chemie
REF QD 251 .B43 .W4413 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry
QD 151.2 .C64 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Comprehensive Organic Chemistry
QD 245 .C65 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry II
REF QD 411 .C652 1995 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
REF QD 65 .H3

Desk Reference for Organic Chemists
REF QD 257.7 .E28 1995 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Dictionary of Organic Compounds, 5th edition
REF QD 246 .D5 1982 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Gardner's Chemical Synonyms and Trade Names, 11th edition
REF TP 9 .G286 1999 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Gmelin's Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie
REF QD 151 .G52 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Handbuch der Organischen Chemie
REF QD 251 .B42 .B45 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 4th edition
REF TP9 .E685 1991 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, 11th edition
REF QD 65 .L362 1992

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 7th edition (20 volumes)
REF Q 121 .M3 1992

Merck Index, 12th edition
REF RS 356 .M555

Methoden der Organischen Chemie (Houben-Weyl)
REF QD 258 .M44 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Reagents for Organic Synthesis (17 volumes)
REF QD 258 .M44 (Cook Chemistry/Physics Library)

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Applied Science & Technology Index [Remote access - UVM only]

Bellstein via CrossFire [Library use only - located on desktop in Cook Chemistry/Physics Library]

SciFinder Scholar [Library use only - located on desktop in Cook Chemistry/Physics Library]

SPIN Web [Remote access - UVM only]

STN Easy [Remote access - UVM only]
Chemical Abstracts accessible only between 5:00pm and 7:00am.

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) [Remote access - UVM only] Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Chemistry

Science Direct Web Editions
http://www.sciencedirect.com/web-editions

The library subscribes to numerous other electronic journals published by the American Chemical Society, the Royal Society of Chemistry, Springer Verlag, Verlag Chemie, John Wiley and others, which can be found by doing a journal title search in the UVM Library Catalog.
Top

Recommended Web Sites

ChemDex Index
http://www.chemdex.org/
A directory of several thousand chemistry websites.

ChemFinder.com
http://chemfinder.cambridgesoft.com/

Chemical Acronyms Database (Indiana University)
http://www.oscar.chem.indiana.edu/

ChemIDPlus
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/chemidplusfs.html
This database contains over 368,000 chemical records, of which over 247,000 include chemical structures.

CHEMINFO (Indiana University)
http://www.indiana.edu/~cheminfo/

NIST Chemistry WebBook
http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/
Search for thermochemical data, reaction thermochemistry data, IR spectra, Mass spectra, Gas chromatography and much more

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
http://www.aist.go.jp/RIODB/SDBS/cgi-bin/cre_index.cgi
A free site organized by National institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, contains spectra for 32,000 organic compounds.

Visual Interpretation of the Table of Elements
http://www.chemsoc.org/viselements/

WebElements Periodic Table
http://www.webelements.com/

Wired Chemist: A Collection of Web Resources
http://wulfenite.fandm.edu/

World Wide Web Chemistry Resources
http://www.chem.ucla.edu/chempointers.html
Top

Professional Organizations

American Chemical Society (ACS)
http://acswebcontent.acs.org/home.html

International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC)
http://www.iupac.org/

Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
http://www.rsc.org/
Top

Style Manuals

ACS Style Guide: A Manual for Authors and Editors, 2nd edition
QD 8.5 .A25 1997
Top


Last updated: September 7, 2006
By: Elizabeth Hassemer

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home