UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Business Subject Guide

(see also Economics Subject Guide)

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

 

Major Reference Works

Important Note: You will need to know the SIC code and/or NAICS code for your business or industry before you can use some sources. Use the following two manuals to find these codes:

North American Industry Classification System
REF (Index Shelf) HF 1041 .5 .N674 2002
http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html
Outlines the U.S. government's new system for classifying businesses into categories called NAICS codes, beginning with data collected in 1997.

Standard Industrial Classification Manual 1987
REF (Index Shelf) HF 1042 .A55 1987
Outlines the U.S. government's former system for classifying businesses into categories called SIC codes. Still used by many commercial publishers.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

AMA Management Handbook
REF HD 31 .A418 1994

Complete Investment and Finance Dictionary
REF HG 4513 .B66 2001

Dictionary of Accounting and Management [Remote access - UVM Only]

Dictionary of Business [Remote access - UVM Only]

Dictionary of Finance and Banking [Remote access - UVM Only]

Encyclopedia of Small Business (2 volumes)
REF HD 62.7 .H553 1998

IEBM Dictionary of Business & Management
REF HD 30.15 .I33 1998

Marketing, the Encyclopedic Dictionary
REF HF 5412 .M47 1999

New Palgrave Dictionary of Money & Finance (3 volumes)
REF HG 151 .N48 1992

Industry Information

American Fact Finder
http://factfinder.census.gov/java_prod/dads.ui.
homePage.HomePage
Click "Get data" under "Economic Census" to find data for industries in the United States.

Business and Company Resource Center [Remote access - UVM only]
Includes latest edition of Encyclopedia of American Industries.

Current Industrial Reports
http://www.census.gov/cir/www

Information, Finance, & Services U.S.A.
REF (Index Shelf) HD 9999 .I493 U625

Manufacturing & Distribution U.S.A. (3 volumes)
REF (Index Shelf) HD 9724 .M364

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys (3 volumes)
REF (Index Shelf) HC 106.6 .S74 (latest volumes)

Company Information

Business and Company Resource Center [Remote access-UVM only]
Click "Company."

Business Rankings Annual
REF HG 4050 .B87

Corporate Affiliations (8 volumes)
REF HG 4057 .A219

Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries (3 volumes)
REF HG 4538 .A1 D5

Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
REF HG 4057 .A155

EDGAR Database
http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml
[click "Search for Company Filings"]
An electronic archive of reports filed with the U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission by publicly traded companies. Coverage: May 1996 - forward (earlier reports available for some companies).

Hoover's Handbook of American Business 
REF (Index Shelf) HG 4057 .A28617
Offers various lists and rankings along with profiles of 750 public companies.

Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies
REF (Index Shelf) HG 4057 .A28616
Provides facts on 900 privately held firms.

International Directory of Company Histories (76 volumes)
REF HD 2721 .I63 19

Mergent Online [Remote access-UVM only]
Data and facts about 35,000 U.S. and non-U.S. companies. Replaces printed Moody/Mergent manuals.

Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives (2 volumes)
REF (Index Shelf) HG 4057 .A4

Thomas Register
REF QUARTO T 12. T6 (16 volumes)
http://www.thomasregister.com

Ward's Business Directory of U. S. Private and Public Companies (8 volumes)
REF (Index Shelf) HG 4057 .A1 W373

Who Owns Whom (8 volumes covering the world)
REF HG 4009 ...

Operations, Planning, and Law

Business: The Ultimate Resource
REF HD 38.15 .B878 2002

Complete Book of Business Plans
REF HD 62.5 .C68 1994

Complete Office Handbook
REF HF 5548 .J34 2002

Handbook On the Law of Small Business Enterprises
REF KF 1659. W554 1996

Small Business Desk Reference
REF HD 2341 .S568 2004

Small Business Profiles  (2 volumes)
REF HD 2346 .U5 S6377

Ultimate Small Business Guide
REF HD 2340.8 .U48 2004

Marketing

(demographics, market potential, advertising, brands)

Advertising Red Books  (4 volumes)
REF HF 5805 .S7
Profiles advertising agencies and advertisers.

American Fact Finder
http://factfinder.census.gov/java_prod/
dads.ui.homePage.HomePage
Provides census data on population, income, housing, etc.

Brands and Their Companies (2 volumes)
REF T 223 .V4 A22

Burrelle's Media Directory, New England 2004
REF Z 6952 .N49 D 574
Listings for New England broadcast and print media, including circulation figures, some ad prices, and format information.

Business Publication Advertising Source (3 volumes)
REF HF 5905 .S723
Describes business, technical, and trade publications with circulation data and advertising rates.

Community Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics
REF (Index Shelf) HA 203 .S66
Demographic data and spending potential indexes by zip code.

Companies and Their Brands
REF T 223 .V4 A222

Consumer Magazine Advertising Source
REF HF 5905 .C66
Describes consumer magazines and their circulation data and advertising rates.

Encyclopedia of Advertising  (3 volumes)
REF HF 5803 .A38 2003
Agency histories, advertiser/brand/market histories, biographies, and entries on theoretical and practical aspects of advertising.

Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands (3 volumes)
REF HF 5415.3 .E527 1994

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
REF HF 5837 .E53 2000

Household Spending: Who Spends How Much on What
REF (Index Shelf) HC 110 .C6 H68 2005

Lifestyle Market Analyst
REF (Index Shelf) HF 5415.33 .U6 L54 [Latest edition is kept at the Reserves Desk]
Demographic, geographic, and lifestyle information.

Market Share Reporter
REF HF 5415.2 .M336

National Consumer Survey [CD-ROM - Bailey/Howe Library only]
Data on the characteristics of consumers who use various products and about the media that reach these consumers.

Newspaper Advertising Source
REF HF 5905 .N49
Lists newspapers and their circulation data and advertising rates.

Survey of Buying Power and Media Markets
REF HC 106.3 .S16
Ranks regions of the country by population characteristics and sales. Also offers data on retail sales and buying power by county within each state.

Financial Norms and Ratios

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
REF (Index Shelf) HF 5681 .R25 A45

Business Ratios and Formulas: a Comprehensive Guide
REF (Index Shelf) HF 5691 .B73 2002

Financial Ratios Calculator
http://www.lib.washington.edu/business/ratios/
Allows you to input financial data and automatically calculate financial ratios.

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
REF (Index Shelf) HF 5681 .R25 I525

Annual Statement Studies (RMA)
REF (Index Shelf) HF 5681 .B2 R6

Accounting, Auditing, and Finance

Comperio [Available only on computers in Bailey/Howe Library. See a reference librarian to be logged in. (Staff: See staff Web site for log-in instructions.)]
A full-text database of current U.S. and international accounting and auditing standards and guidance from such organizations as American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA), Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB), and Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), plus PricewaterhouseCoopers guidance.

GAAP
REF HF 5616 .U5 G315
Interpretation and application of generally accepted accounting principles.

Handbook of Financial Mathematics, Formulas and Tables
REF HF 5691. V42

Investments and Financial Markets

101 Years On Wall Street : An Investor's Almanac
REF HG 4572 .B74 1991

American Stock Exchange Web Site
http://www.amex.com/

Bond Guide
REF (Index Shelf) HG 4905 .S435
Financial information on over 7,700 domestic and foreign issues.

Directory of World Stock Exchanges
REF HG 4551 .D53 1988

Dow Jones Averages, 1885-1985 : Centennial Edition
REF HG 4915 .D68 1986

Global Stock Markets Factbook
REF HG 5993 .E57 2004

Handbook of Financial Market Indexes, Averages, and Indicators
REF HG 4636 .B49 1990

McGraw-Hill Investor's Desk Reference
REF HG 4527 .C585 2001
Describes investment concepts and vehicles (stocks, bonds, real eastate, etc.)

Mergent Online [Remote access-UVM only]
Includes information about company stock.

Moody's Bond Record
REF (Index Shelf) HG 4905 .M78
Data and ratings for corporate, convertible, government, and municipal bonds.

Morningstar Mutual Funds
REF HG 4530 .M8
Profiles and tracks over 1,000 funds.

NASDAQ Web Site
http://www.nasdaq.com/

Nelson Information's Directory of Investment Research (3 volumes)
REF HG 4907 .N43
Profiles 700 investment research firms and identifies the research analysts who cover various companies.

New York Stock Exchange Web Site
http://www.nyse.com/

Security Owner's Stock Guide
REF (Index Shelf) HG 4921 .S75
Financial data on more than 7,000 issues including common and preferred stocks, mutual funds, and variable annuity/life investments.

Stock Market Encyclopedia
REF (Index Shelf) HG 4057 .A46
Reports on a broad array of large, actively traded stocks, including the Standard and Poor's 500.

Value Line Investment Survey
REF HG 4501 .V27 (for current issues; older issues are in stacks at same call number.)
In-depth coverage of close to 2,000 stocks.

Wall Street Journal Guide to Understanding Money & Investing
REF (Ready Ref) HG 4910 .M67 1993

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

ABI Inform Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]
Covers more than 2,800 business periodical titles, 1,800 of which are full text,and 1,611 of which are scholarly/peer-reviewed. Also offers access to 18,000 doctoral dissertations and master's theses, and full-text access to the Wall Street Journal back to 1984. Coverage: 1971 (for some) - present.

Academic Search Premier Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]
A multidisciplinary database containing full-text articles for nearly 4,650 serials including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications, and indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals. Coverage: 1975 (for some) - present.

Accounting and Tax Index
REF Z 7164 .C81 A42B
Index to the accounting literature. Coverage: 1969 - 2003.

Business and Company Resource Center [Remote access - UVM Only]
Citations, abstracts, and full text of articles in economics, management, international business, and law. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Business and Industry [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts trade magazines, newsletters, general business press, and international business dailies. Covers public and private companies, products, and markets at an international level. Coverage: mid-1994 to present.

Business and Management Practices [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexing and some full-text coverage of management journals and trade publications. With emphasis on case studies and practical applications, this database provides information on business methodology and management issues. Coverage: 1995 - present.

EconLit [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts articles from journals and collected volumes; books and dissertations; and working papers. Subject areas include economic theory and history, quantitative methods, technological change and growth. Coverage: 1969 - present.

Expanded Academic ASAP [Remote access - UVM Only]
A multidisciplinary database containing full-text articles from 2,200 journals and magazines, and indexing of 3,800 journals. Includes 2,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage: 1980 - present.

F & S Index
REF Z 7165 .U5 F23
Indexes articles about U.S. company, product and industry information from financial publications, business newspapers, trade magazines, and special reports. Coverage: 1973 - present.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM Only]
Full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference sources including law reviews, foreign-language newspapers, country and state profiles, company financial data and news, and media transcripts. Coverage: 1980s - present.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Commerce Full-text Databases

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Economic History and ConditionsFull-text Databases

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Economic Theory, DemographyFull-text Databases

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Finance Full-text Databases

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Industries, Land Use, LaborFull-text Databases

CPA Journal
http://www.cpajournal.com

Top

Recommended Web Sites

Accountant's World
http://www.accountantsworld.com

Bureau of Labor Statistics
http://www.bls.gov

ESRI Business Information Solutions
http://www.esribis.com
Enter zip code to find demographic data.

Fortune
http://www.fortune.com
Includes lists of the Fortune 500, Global 500, 100 Best to Work For, and others.

Small Business Administration
http://www.sba.gov

TeachMeFinance.com
http://www.teachmefinance.com/contents.html
Teaches basic financial concepts such as time value of money, cost of capital, etc.

Top

Professional Organizations

Encyclopedia of Associations (4 volumes)
REF (Ready Ref) AS8 .E5

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
http://www.aicpa.org/index.htm

American Management Association
http://www.amanet.org/index.htm

American Marketing Association
http://www.marketingpower.com

Top

Statistical Resources

American Fact Finder
http://factfinder.census.gov/java_prod/dads.ui.homePage.HomePage

Bureau of Labor Statistics
http://www.bls.gov

Business Statistics of the United States
REF HC 101 .A13122

Statistical Abstract of the United States
REF (Ready Ref) HA202 .A1 (latest volume)
http://www.census.gov/prod/www/statistical-abstract.html

U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov

Top

Style Manuals

Business Style Handbook: an A-Z Guide for Writing on the Job with Tips from Communications Experts at the Fortune 500
REF HF 5718.3 .C86

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Management (4 volumes)
REF H 91 .C232

Chicago Manual of Style
REF (Ready Ref) Z 253 .U69 2003
http://www.wisc.edu/writetest/Handbook/DocChicago.html

Economist's Handbook : A Research and Writing Guide
REF HB 74.5 W97 1994

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
REF (Ready Ref) BF 76 .7 A46

Top


Last updated: November 12, 2007
By: Trina Magi
   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home