UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Botany Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Wildflowers: Eastern Region
REF QK112 .N53 1979

Complete Trees of North America: Field Guide and Natural History
REF QK481 .E38

Dictionary of Plant Pathology
REF SB 728 .H65 1989

Dictionary of Plant Sciences [Remote access - UVM only]

Eastern North America's Wildflowers
REF QK115 .L56 1978

Encyclopedia of Herbs and Herbalism
REF SB 351 .H5 .E52 1979b

Encyclopedia of Mushrooms
REF QK 617 .D53 1979

Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants of Eastern and Central North America
REF QK 98.5 .U6 .P47

Field Guide to Ferns and Their Related Families: Northeastern and Central North America, 2nd edition
REF QK 525 .C749 2005

Field Guide to Medicinal Plants and Herbs of Eastern and Central North America, 2nd edition
REF QK 99 .U6 .F68 1999

Field Guide to the Grasses, Sedges and Rushes of the United States
REF QK 495 .G74 .K718 1977

Field Guide to Trees and Shrubs: Field Marks of All Trees, Shrubs, and Woody Vines That Grow Wild in the Northeastern and North-Central United States and in Southeastern and South-Central Canada, 2nd edition
REF QK 482 .P43 1972

Flora of North America: North of Mexico (9 volumes)
REF QK110 .F55 1993

Flowering Plants of the World, updated edition
REF QK 495 .A1 .F58 1993

Gray's Manual of Botany: A Handbook of the Flowering Plants and Ferns of the Central and Northeastern United States and Canada, 8th. ed.
REF QK117 .G75 1970

Guide to the Genera of the Plants of Eastern North America, 3rd edition
REF QK 115 .B37 1984

How to Know the Lichens
REF QK 587 .H25

How to Know the Mosses and Liverworts, 2nd edition
QK 533.84 .N67 .C66 1979

How to Know the Weeds, 3rd edition
SB 612 .A2 .W54 1979

Manual of Vascular Plants of Northeastern United States and Adjacent Canada, 2nd edition
REF QK 117 .G49 1991

Muenscher's Keys to Woody Plants: an Expanded Guide to Native and Cultivated Species
REF QK115 .C69 2001

Mycology Guidebook
REF QK 604 .M9 1974

New Royal Horticultural Society Dictionary of Gardening
REF SB 450.95 .D53 1992

Newcomb's Wildflower Guide: An Ingenious New Key System for Quick, Positive Field Identification of the Wildflowers, Flowering Shrubs and Vines of Northeastern and North Central North America
QK 118 .N42

Plant Life
REF QK 101 .P55 1991

Plant Taxonomy, 2nd edition
QH 301 .I595 no. 5 1976

Timber Press Dictionary of Plant Names
REF QK 9 .C66 1985

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

AGRICOLA [Remote access - UVM only]
Produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library, this database indexes the world literature on agriculture, covering related subjects such as forestry and botany.

Biological and Agricultural Index [Remote access - UVM only]

Biology Digest [Remote access - UVM only]
Indexes articles from a group of journals covering health, medicine, botany, zoology, life sciences, and environmental science. The journals are chosen for their non-technical writing and their appeal to a general audience. Article contents are presented in length summaries.

BIOSIS Previews [Remote access - UVM only]
This database includes the full files for Biological Abstracts and the references to meetings, reviews, books, and monographs from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings).

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) [Remote access - UVM only]

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Botany

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Natural History

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Plant Culture

JSTOR [Remote access - UVM only] Full-text Databases
JSTOR provides an electronic archive of scholarly journals in biological sciences. Users can browse the journals or retrieve articles via full-text searching.

Top

Recommended Web Sites

BiologyBrowser
http://www.biologybrowser.org/

Botany: The Encyclopedia of Plants
http://www.botany.com/

Flora of North America
http://hua.huh.harvard.edu/FNA/

GRIN Taxonomy for Plants
http://www.ars-grin.gov/cgi-bin/npgs/html/tax_search.pl

Integrated Taxonomic Information System
http://www.itis.usda.gov/index.html
Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.

International Plant Names Index
http://www.ipni.org/index.html

Internet Directory for Botany
http://www.botany.net/IDB/
Searchable directory of internet resources in the botanical sciences.

Plant Pathology Online
http://www.apsnet.org/online/

Plant Systematics Collection (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
http://botit.botany.wisc.edu/courses/systematics/

Science.gov: FirstGov for Science
http://www.science.gov/
Developed by a government interagency working group from 11 major science agencies, this website includes information on biology.

USDA Plant Database
http://plants.usda.gov/

Virtual Library: Biosciences
http://vlib.org/Biosciences

Top

Professional Organizations

American Bryological and Lichenological Society (ABLS)
http://www.unomaha.edu/abls/

American Phytopathological Society (APS)
http://www.apsnet.org/

American Society of Plant Biologists
http://www.aspb.org

Botanical Society of America (BSA)
http://www.botany.org

Mycological Society of America (MSA)
http://www.msafungi.org/

Top

Style Manuals

Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 6th edition
REF T 11 .S386 1994

Short Guide to Writing About Biology, 5th edition
QH 304 .P43 2004

Top

Last updated: July 31, 2006
By: Elizabeth Hassemer
   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home