UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  
Book Reviews Subject Guide

Book Reviews Subject Guide

Major Reference Works Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Note: When looking for book reviews you should have the:
  • Author's full name
  • Book's complete title
  • Publication year of the book

General Sources

Academic Search Premier Full-text Databases  [Remote access - UVM only]
Interdisciplinary index to journal and newspaper articles, and book reviews.  Includes some full-text articles.  Coverage: @1969-present (date varies by publication).

Book Review Digest (multi-volume)
REF  Z 1219 .C95
Cites and excerpts reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for adults and children. Includes only reviews that have appeared within 18 months of the book's publication.  Coverage: 1905-present.

Book Review Index (multi-volume)
REF Z 1035 .A1 B6 
Provides citations of reviews of books and periodicals for adults and children from popular media - not scholarly journals. Coverage is more extensive than Book Review Digest.  Coverage: 1965-1968, 1969-1979, 1980-present.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974 (15 volumes)
REF Z 1035 .A1 C64

Current Book Review Citations (7 volumes)
REF Z 1035 .A1 C86
Compiles citations to the reviews that appear in all the Wilson indexes (Readers' Guide, General Science Index, Humanities Index, Social Sciences Index), 1976-1982.

Expanded Academic ASAP Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]
Interdisciplinary index to journal articles and book reviews. Includes some full-text articles. Coverage: @1980-present (date varies by publication).

LexisNexis - Academic Full-text Journals [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides full-text book reviews on various topics in a variety of sources including The New York Times. Coverage: varies by publication, but many may be searched from 1980-present.

New York Times Book Review Index, 1896-1970 (5 volumes)
REF Z 1035 .A1 N411

New York Times Online Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides full-text book reviews.  Coverage: 1851-2003.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (multi-volume)
REF Z 1219 .R48
Provides citations of book reviews in more popular magazines. Reviews are listed alphabetically by author in a separate section following the main body of each index volume.  Reviews did not appear until 1976. Coverage: 1976-present.

Top

By Subject

Business and Economics

ABI/INFORM GlobalFull-text Databases  [Remote access - UVM only]
Coverage: 1971-present.

Business and Management Practices [Remote access - UVM only]
Coverage: 1995-present.

Business Periodicals Index (multi-volume)
 Z 7164 .C81 B983    (3rd floor)
Beginning with v.19 (Aug76/July77), citations are listed alphabetically by author and are found in a section following the main body of each index volume. Reviews did not appear until 1972. Coverage: 1972-present.

EconLit [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides citations of book reviews in the field of economics.  Coverage: 1969-present.

Top

Children's Books

Children's Book Review Index (multi-volume)
REF Z 1037 .A1 C47

Children's Literature Review (multi-volume)
REF Z 1232 .C48 
Provides excerpts from book reviews and criticism on books for children and young adults. There are cumulative indexes to authors and titles in each volume. International in scope.  Coverage: 1976-present.

Top

Humanities

America, History and Life [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides citations of book reviews in the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Art Index   [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides citations of book reviews in art, including art history, computer applications, graphics, folk art, and photography.
Print version:  REF Z 5937 .A78 (multi-volume)
Reviews are found under the author's name as well as under subject headings. Beginning with v.22 (Nov73/Oct74), reviews are listed alphabetically by author in a separate section following the main body of each index volume.  Coverage: 1929-1996.
Electronic version: Coverage: 1984-present. <

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides citations of book reviews in disciplines such as art, classics, history, literature, philosophy, and religion.
Coverage: 1982-present. <

ATLA Religion [Remote access - UVM only]
Coverage: 1949-present.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974 (10 volumes)
REF Z 6265 .C65 1982

Humanities Index (multi-volume)
Z 6941 .H86 (3rd floor)
Provides citations of book reviews from English-language journals in disciplines such as art, classics, history, literature, philosophy, and religion. Citations are listed alphabetically by author and are found in a separate section following the main body of each index volume. Coverage: 1974-1992.

Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities (31 volumes)
REF Z 1035 .A1 I63
Coverage: 1960-1990.

Music Index (multi-volume)
REF ML 118 .M84 
Citations are arranged alphabetically by author under the subject heading "Book Reviews."  Coverage: 1949-2000.

Philosopher's Index  [Remote access - UVM only]
Coverage: 1940-present.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature [Remote access - UVM only]
Coverage: 1967-present.

Top

Sciences

Applied Science & Technology Index [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides citations of book reviews in engineering, mathematics, physics, and computer technology.
Print version: REF Z 7913 .I4 (multi-volume)
Citations are listed alphabetically by author and are found in a separate section following the main body of each index volume.  Coverage: 1976-2000.
Electronic version: Coverage: 1983-present.

Biological & Agricultural Index [Remote access - UVM only]
from 1916-1964, known as Agricultural Index
Print version: Z 5073 .A46   (multi-volume) (3rd floor)
 From 1931/33-1974/75, citations to book reviews are located under the subject heading "Book Reviews." Beginning in 1975/76, citations are listed alphabetically by author and are found in a separate section following the main body of each index volume.  Coverage: 1964/65-1997.
Electronic version: Coverage:1983-present.

Environment Complete Full-text Databases  [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides citations to book reviews in the areas of agriculture, ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, urban planning, etc. Includes some full-text articles and reviews. Coverage: @1950s-present (date varies by publication).

Compendex (Engineering Village) [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides citations to book reviews in engineering and technology. Coverage: 1884-present.

General Science Index (multi-volume)
REF Z 7407 .G46
Provides citations of book reviews in all areas of science from astronomy to zoology. Citations are listed alphabetically by author and are found in a section following the main body of each index volume.  Coverage: 1978-1992.

Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science) [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides access to book reviews in all aspects of biological, technical, and mathematical sciences. Coverage: 1982-present.

Top

Social Sciences

America, History and Life [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides citations of book reviews in the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Book Review Index to Social Science Periodicals (4 volumes)
REF Z 1035 .A1 B63
Coverage: 1964-March 1974.

Education Index (multi-volume)
REF Z 5813 .E23
From 1929-1975, citations to book reviews are located under the subject heading "Book Reviews." Beginning in 1976, citations are listed alphabetically by author and are found in a separate section following the main body of each index volume. .Coverage: 1929-1997.

Index to Legal Periodicals   (multi-volume)
REF K 9 .N32 
From 1926-1937/40, citations to book reviews are located under the subject heading "Book Reviews." Beginning in 1940/43, book reviews are listed by author at the end of each index volume.
Coverage: 1926-2000.

PsycINFO  [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides citations of book reviews in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage: late 1800s-present.

Social Science Abstracts [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides citations of book reviews in fields such as sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, etc.
Print version: (Social Sciences Index)
REF Z 6941 .S62
Citations are listed alphabetically by author and are found in a separate section following the main body of each index volume. Coverage: 1974-1999.
Electronic version: 1983-present.

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides citations of book reviews in disciplines such as anthropology, history, law, library science, psychology, women's studies, etc. Coverage: 1982-present.

Sociological Abstracts [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides citations of book reviews in sociology and related disciplines. Coverage (book reviews): 1970-present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [Remote access - UVM only]
Provides citations of book reviews in journals within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Coverage (book reviews): 1988-present.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals

JSTOR Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]
Electronic archive for journal backfiles, which permits detailed searches of thousands of issues of scholarly journals back to the 19th century. Issues published within the last 2-5 years are generally not covered. The purpose of JSTOR is to provide access to back issues of journals, not current issues.  Note: you do not have access to the full-text article from a journal that UVM does not subscribe to.To search for book reviews, choose the "Advanced Search" mode. Type your search terms in the search box(es). In the "Limit by" section, click in the box to the left of "Review."

Project Muse Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM only]
Electronic collection of journals published by major university presses in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Year coverage is generally for the last 4-5 years. Note: you do not have access to the full-text article from a journal that UVM does not subscribe to. To search for book reviews, use the "Advanced Search" mode. Type your search terms in the search box(es). In the "Limit Search" section, choose "Review" from the list of choices in the "By Type" category.

Top

Last updated: August 28, 2007
By: Patricia Mardeusz

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home