UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Biology Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

American Insects: a Handbook of the Insects of America North of Mexico
REF QL474 .A76 1985

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America

Biology Data Book, 2nd ed., (3 vols.)
REF QH310 .A392

Birds of North America
REF QL681 .B625
Index to the collection

Concise Encyclopedia Biochemistry, 2nd. ed.
Dana Medical Library (reference) QU 13 C744 1988

Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior
REF QL 750.3 .E53 2004

A Dictionary of Biology

A Dictionary of Plant Sciences

A Dictionary of Zoology

Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology, 3rd ed.
REF QH575 .D5 1999

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity (5 volumes)
REF QH541.15.B56 E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Bioethics (5 volumes)
REF QH332 .E52 1995

Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology (3 volumes)
QH540.4 .E52 1995

Encyclopedia of Human Biology, 2nd ed. (8 volumes)
REF QP11 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Microbiology
Dana Medical Library Dana (reference) QW 13 E56 1992

Encyclopedia of the Life Sciences (20 volumes)
REF QH 302.5 .E525 2002

Flora of North America: North of Mexico (9 volumes)
REF QK110 .F55 1993

Gray's Manual of Botany, 8th. ed.
REF QK117 .G75 1970

Good for taxonomy.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (17 volumes)
REF QL3 .G7813

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Birds : the Definitive Reference to Birds of the World
REF QL673 .I45 1990

Some 9,300 species from every family of living birds with each entry providing common and scientific name, range, habitat, and size.

Mammals of North America, 2nd. ed.
REF QL715 .H15 1981

Muenscher's Keys to Woody Plants: an Expanded Guide to Native and Cultivated Species
REF QK115 .C69 2001

Synopsis and Classification of Living Organisms
REF QH83 .S89 v.1-2

Taxonomy, with brief summaries of the biology, ecology, and distribution of all groups of living organisms.

Walker's Mammals of the World, 6th ed. (2 volumes)
REF QL703 .W222 1999

Water Science and Issues

Wild mammals of New England
REF QL719.N35 G63

Field Guides

Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Birds: Eastern Region
REF QL681 .B77

Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Insects and Spiders
REF QL473 .M541980

Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Reptiles and Amphibians
REF QL651 .K56 1979

Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Wildflowers: Eastern Region
REF QK112 .N53 1979

Butterflies East of the Great Plains
REF QL549 .O64 1984

Complete Trees of North America: Field Guide and Natural History
REF QK481 .E38

Eastern North America's Wildflowers
REF QK115 ;L56 1978

Field Guide to Freshwater Fishes: North America North of Mexico
REF QL627 .P34 1991

Field Guide to Moths of Eastern North America (Peterson's)
REF QL551 .A75 C68 1984

Field Guide to Reptiles and Amphibians Eastern/Central North America
REF QL651 .C65 1998

Field Guide to the Birds of Eastern and Central North America (Peterson's)
REF QL681 .F53 1983

Field Guide to the Birds of North America, 2nd ed.
REF QL681 .P45 1980

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Agricola

Indexes the world literature on agriculture, including articles, audiovisual materials, books, book chapters, serials, and sound recordings. It also covers related subjects such as forestry, biochemistry, nutrition, etc. Very good for botany. It is produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library. Entries date from 1970 - present.

Biology Digest

Indexes articles from a group of journals covering health, medicine, botany, zoology, life sciences, and environmental science. The journals are chosen for their non-technical writing and their appeal to a general audience. Article contents are presented in lengthy summaries.

Biosis Previews [Remote access - UVM Only]

Updated weekly, BIOSIS Previews includes the full files for Biological Abstracts and the references to meetings, reviews, books, and monographs from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings), but only for January 2000 to the present.

Medline

The National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, human biology, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Abstracts are included for about 2/3 of the records. Coverage is 1966 - present.

PubMed

National Library of Medicine's Web access to MEDLINE and pre-MEDLINE (without abstracts). PubMed indexes over 3,900 international biomedical journals and provides access to genetics research databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information.

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide

Indexes literature on mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, and their habitats. It covers all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management, including endangered species, habitat management, and population ecology. It comprises Wildlife Review Abstracts (1935 - present), Swiss Wildlife Information Service (1974 - present), U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's Wildlife Database (1960 - present), and several smaller databases. Records from these databases describe journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, theses, and government reports.

Zoological Record

Indexes articles from over 6,000 journals as well as books, newsletters, as well as citations for books, newsletters, selected dissertations, annual reviews, and conference proceedings. All areas of zoology are included, such as biochemistry, behavior, ecology, evolution, genetics, and others. Entries date from 1978 - present.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Animal Biochemistry

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Animal Culture

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Aquaculture and Fisheries

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Biology

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Botany

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Human Anatomy

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Microbiology

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Natural History

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Physiology

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Plant Culture

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Zoology

JSTOR Full-text Databases [Remote access - UVM Only]

JSTOR provides an electronic archive of scholarly journals, including a collection of anthropology journals. Users can browse the journals or retrieve articles via full-text searching.

Science Direct Web Editions
http://www.sciencedirect.com/web-editions

The Library subscribes to numerous other electronic journals in the biological and biomedical sciences from various publishers. Search for these journals by journal title in the UVM Library Catalog and follow the hypertext links to the electronic text.

Top

Recommended Web Sites

Botany.com: the Encyclopedia of Plants
http://www.botany.com

Cell & Molecular Biology Online
http://www.cellbio.com

Center for Conservation Biology Network
http://conbio.net/

Flora of North America
http://hua.huh.harvard.edu/FNA

Human Genome Project
http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis

International Plant Names Index
http://www.ipni.org

Iowa State Entomology Index
http://www.ent.iastate.edu/List

National Library for the Environment
http://www.cnie.org/nle

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
http://www.fws.gov

Virtual Library: Biosciences
http://www.vlib.org/Biosciences.html

Top

Professional Organizations

American Fisheries Society
http://www.fisheries.org

American Institute of Biological Sciences
http://www.aibs.org/index.html

American Physiological Society
http://www.the-aps.org

American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
http://www.asbmb.org/

American Society for Cell Biology
http://www.ascb.org

American Society for Microbiology
http://www.asm.org

American Society of Human Genetics
http://www.faseb.org/genetics/ashg/ashgmenu.htm

American Society of Plant Biologists
http://www.aspb.org

Animal Behavior Society
http://www.animalbehavior.org

Association of College and University Biology Educators
http://acube.org

Botanical Society of America
http://www.botany.org

Ecological Society of America
http://www.esa.org/

Entomological Society of America
http://www.entsoc.org

European Molecular Biology Organization
http://www.embo.org

Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology
http://www.faseb.org

Genetics Society of America
http://www.faseb.org/genetics/gsa/gsamenu.htm

Linnean Society of London
http://www.linnean.org

Microscopy Society of America
http://www.microscopy.org

Mycological Society of America
http://www.msafungi.org/

Physiological Society
http://www.physoc.org

Society for Conservation Biology
http://conbio.net/

Society for Experimental Biology
http://www.sebiology.com

Society for Mathematical Biology
http://www.smb.org

Society of Wetland Scientists
http://www.sws.org

Zoological Society of London
http://www.zsl.org

Top

Style Manuals

Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers 6th ed.
REF T11 .S386 1994
http://www.lib.ohio-state.edu/guides/cbegd.html

Top

Last updated: July 28, 2006
By: Original guide by Doug Lehman, updated by reference staff.

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home