UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Biography Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes and Abstracts
Biographical Dictionaries and Encyclopedias by Discipline
Recommended Web Sites

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

International

Biography Resource Center Full-text Databases [Remote access – UVM only]
Subscription database containing full-text biographical information on people from all periods, locations and subject areas. Includes 427,000 biographies from numerous reference sources, plus more than 538,000 full-text articles from nearly 300 magazines.

Current Biography (multi-volume)
REF CT 100 .C8
Published 1940-present, contains about 150 biographies annually of people who are prominent in the news and popular culture (emphasis on Americans). Also contains obituaries for people whose biographies were previously published. Includes portraits.

Encyclopedia of World Biography (22 volumes)
REF CT 103 .E56 1998
Contains articles on nearly 7,000 people from ancient times to the present whose decisions, philosophies, inventions, artistic and literary creations and medical breakthroughs have shaped the world. Includes some portraits. Published 1998.

Merriam-Webster’s Biographical Dictionary
REF DESK CT 103 .M47 1995
Short biographical sketches on 30,000 important, celebrated, or notorious figures from the last 5,000 years. Does not include living persons.

Pseudonyms and Nicknames Dictionary (2 volumes)
REF CT 120 .P8
Identifies 55,000 original names behind 80,000 pseudonyms, stage names, aliases, nicknames, and other assumed names of prominent individuals throughout the world, across a wide variety of fields, and over time.

Who’s Who. . .
Various call numbers
Who’s Who publications provide basic information on people by geography, occupation, sex, and other categories. To see a list of these publications, go to the library catalog, click “Quick Search,” and type whos who in the search box.

United States

American National Biography (24 volumes)
REF E 176 .D565 1999
Includes about 17,500 signed biographies of people whose significant actions occurred during their residence in what is now the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history. Published 1999; successor to the Dictionary of American Biography.

Appleton’s Cyclopedia of American Biography (9 volumes)
REF E 176 .A655
Information on about 15,000 prominent native and adopted citizens of the United States from earliest settlement of the country, plus several thousand eminent citizens of other countries in North and South America and persons of foreign birth closely associated with American history. Includes some portraits. Published 1887.

Dictionary of American Biography (19 volumes)
REF E 176 .D563
Scholarly essays on 19,173 deceased, noteworthy persons of all periods who lived in the territory now known as the United States. Narrower in scope than Appleton’s Cyclopedia of American Biography and National Cyclopedia of American Biography, but articles are of greater distinction. First ten volumes originally published 1928-1937; ten supplements published 1941-1980.

National Cyclopaedia of American Biography (63 volumes)
REF E 176 .N27
Biographical sketches of persons prominently connected with the history of the United States. More comprehensive than Dictionary of American Biography and more up to date than Appleton’s Cyclopedia of American Biography. Not arranged alphabetically; use indexes to find articles. Includes portraits. Published 1992-1978.

Notable American Women, 1607-1950: A Biographical Dictionary (3 volumes)
REF CT 3260 .N57
Profiles of 1,359 prominent women who were alive at the founding of the American colonies up to end of 1950, including the wives of presidents.

Notable American Women, the Modern period: A Biographical Dictionary
REF CT 3260 .N573
A supplement to Notable American Women, this volume covers 442 women who died between January 1951 and January 1976.

Great Britain

Dictionary of National Biography (63 volumes plus supplements)
REF DA 28 .D4
Scholarly, signed articles about deceased men and women of the British Isles and the colonies, including noteworthy Americans of the colonial period. Published 1885-1990.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (60 volumes)
REF DA 28 .O95 2004
Signed , scholarly essays on 49,705 deceased, noteworthy persons from the earliest times to the year 2000 who were born and lived in the British Isles or its territories or who visited or settled in the British Isles for significant periods. Also contains 408 entries for family and group names. Includes some portraits. Published 2004.

Top

Index and Abstracts

Almanac of Famous People (2 volumes)
REF CT 104 .B56
Index to biographical information about more than 36,000 famous and infamous people from Biblical times to the present. Published 2004.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index [Remote access – UVM only]
A good place to begin a search for biographical information. It indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Coverage: 1975-present.

Biography Index (21 volumes)
REF Z 5301 .B5
A cumulative index to English-language biographical material in books and magazines. Coverage: 1946-1996.

New York Times Obituaries Index (2 volumes)
REF CT 213 .N47
Volume 1 lists over 353,000 names entered under the heading “Deaths” in the New York Times Index from September 1858 through December 1968. (For some years, may not include the victims of murders, accidents, and suicides.) Volume 2 adds 36,000 names of people listed between 1969 and 1978.

Top

Biographical Dictionaries and Encyclopedias by Discipline

Art and Architecture

Bryan's Dictionary of Painters and Engravers (5 volumes)
REF N 40 .B94 1918

Contemporary Architects
REF NA 680 .C625 1994

Contemporary Artists
REF N 6490 .C6567 1996

Dictionary of Art (34 volumes)
REF N 31 .D5 1996
Electronic: Grove Art Online Full-text Databases [Remote access – UVM only]

Dictionary of Women Artists (2 volumes)
REF N 8354 .D53 1997

St. James Guide to Black Artists
REF N 40 .S78 1997

Business

Biographical Dictionary of American Business Leaders
REF HC 102 .5 .A2 I53 1983

Historical Encyclopedia of American Women Entrepreneurs: 1776 to the present
REF HF 3023 .A2 O64 2000

Movers & Shakers: The 100 Most Influential Figures in Modern Business
REF HF 3023 .A2 M68 2003

Economics

Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists
REF HB 76 .B5 1992

Fifty Major Economists
REF HB 76 .P74 1999

Great Economists Before Keynes: An Introduction to the Lives & Works of One Hundred Economists of the Past
REF HB 76 .B54 1986

Great Economists Since Keynes: An Introduction to the Lives & Works of One Hundred Modern Economists
REF HB 76 .B55 1985

Education

Biographical Dictionary of American Educators (3 volumes)
REF LA 2311 .B54

Directory of American Scholars (6 volumes)
REF LA 2311 .C32 2002

National Faculty Directory (3 volumes)
REF L 901 .N34 (latest volumes)

Patterson's American Education
REF L 901 .P3 (latest volume)

Environmental Studies

American Nature Writers (2 volumes)
REF PS 163 .A6 1996

Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists
REF QH 26 .B535 1997

Environmentalists: A Biographical Dictionary from the 17th Century to the Present
REF S 926.A2 A94 1993

Film

Directors and their Films: A Comprehensive Reference, 1895-1990
REF PN 1998 .B85 1993

Great Movie Stars (3 volumes)
REF PN 1998 .A2 S54 1995

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (5 volumes)
REF PN 1997.8 .I58 1990

Women Filmmakers & their Films
REF PN 1998.2 .W66 1998

Literature (in English)

African American Writers (2 volumes)
REF PS 153 .N5 A344 2001

American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies (multi-volume)
REF PS 129 .A55
17th century to the present.

British Writers (multi-volume)
REF PR 85 .B688
14th century to the present.

International Literature in English: Essays on the Major Writers
REF PR 9080 .I57 1991

Literature Resource Center Full-text Databases [Remote access – UVM only]
Covers all eras and genres.
Print counterparts: Contemporary Authors (REF Z 1224 .C6) and Dictionary of Literary Biography (REF PN 41 .D42)

Native North American Literature: Biographical and Critical information on Native Writers and Orators from the United States and Canada from Historical Times to the Present
REF PS 508 .I5 N38 1994

Mathematics

Mathematicians from Antiquity to Today
REF QA 28 .F3

Notable Women in Mathematics: A Biographical Dictionary
REF QA 28 .N68 1998

Music

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
REF ML 105 .B16

Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
REF ML 105 .H38 1996

International Encyclopedia of Women Composers (2 volumes)
REF ML 105 .C7 1987

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (29 volumes)
REF ML 100 .N48 2001
Electronic: Grove Music Online Full-text Databases [Remote access – UVM only]

Contemporary Musicians (42 volumes)
REF ML 385 .C645

Philosophy

Fifty Major Philosophers: A Reference Guide
REF B72 .C59 1987

One Hundred Twentieth-Century Philosophers
REF B 804 .O55 1998

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (10 volumes)
REF B 51 .R68 1998

Women Philosophers
REF B 105 .W6 K47 1989

Political Science and Government

American Political Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present
REF E 176 O27 1991

Dictionary of Political Biography
REF D 412 .D53 1998

Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Modern Political Biography
REF D 412.6 .H88 1999

Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Political Thinkers
REF JA 83 .R725 1998

Science

American Men and Women of Science (8 volumes)
REF Q 141 .A474

Dictionary of Scientific Biography (18 volumes)
REF Q141 .D5

Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists (5 volumes)
REF Q 141 .N73 1995

Sociology

Beyond the enlightenment: Lives and thoughts of social theorists
REF HM 478 .S35 2004

Sociological Theory: Classical Statements
REF HM 24 .A77 1995

Women in Sociology: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook
REF HR 19 .W59 1991

Top

Recommended Web Sites

Biography.com
http://www.biography.com/

Infoplease Almanac: Biography
http://www.infoplease.com/people.html

LibrarySpot: Biographies
http://www.libraryspot.com/biographies/

PBS Biographies
http://www.pbs.org/history/history_biographies.html

Top


Last updated: August 29, 2007
By: Trina Magi
   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home