UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Art and Art History Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Biography

Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler
REF N 40 .T4 1907

Bryan's Dictionary of Painters and Engravers
REF N 40 .B94 1918

Contemporary Architects
REF NA 680 .C625 1994

Contemporary Artists
REF N 6490 .C6567 1996

Contemporary Canadian Artists
REF N 6548 .C65 1997

Contemporary Women Artists
REF N 8354 .C66 1999

Dictionnaire des Peintres, Sculpteurs, Dessinateurs et Graveurs
REF N 40 .B47 1960

St. James Guide to Black Artists
REF N 40 .S78 1997

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Architecture
REF NA 31 .C86 1999

Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art
REF N 6490 .C54 1998

Oxford Dictionary of Art
REF N 33 .O93 1997

Penguin Concise Dictionary of Art History
REF N 5300 .F64 2000

Directories

American Art Directory
REF N 50 .A54 (latest volume)

Contains names, addresses and information on art organizations, schools, museums, magazines, exhibitions, etc.

Artist's and Graphic Designer's Market
REF N 8600 .A76 (latest volume)

Names, addresses and essential information for book publishers, magazines, galleries and other art markets, plus artists' representatives and Web sites.

Encyclopedias

Grove Art Online Full-text Databases

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Full-text Databases
http://www.britannica.com

Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering & Construction
REF NA 31 .E59 1988

Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art
REF N 7560 .E53 1998

Encyclopedia of World Art (15 volumes and supplements)
REF N 31 .E4833 1959-1987

Guides and Handbooks

Bulfinch Guide to Art History
REF N 380 .B85 1996

Guide to Art
REF N 5970 .G85 1992

Field Guide to American Architecture
REF NA 705 .R53 1980b

Oxford Companion to Art
REF N 33 .O9 1970

Oxford History of Classical Art
REF N 5610 .O84 1993

Painter's Handbook
ND 1500 .G6155 1993

Data on artist's materials, including paints, grounds, solvents, and equipment, plus techniques for using them.

Price Guides

Christie's Review
REF N 8640 .C52 C49 (1996-2000)

Kovels' Antiques and Collectibles
REF NK 1125 .A39 (latest volume)

PrintWorld Directory of Contemporary Prints and Prices
REF NE 491 .P77 (latest volume)

Sotheby's Art at Auction
REF N 8640.A7 (1996-2001)

Scholarships

GrantFinder: the Complete Guide to Postgraduate Funding Worldwide. Arts and Humanities
REF LB 2337.2 .G736 2000

Signatures

American Artists: Signatures and Monograms, 1800-1989
REF N 45 .C37 1990

Classified Directory of Artists Signatures, Symbols and Monograms
REF N 45 .C36 1976

Dictionary of Signatures & Monograms of American Artists
REF N 45 .F35 1988

Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Art Index [Remote access - UVM only]

Indexes over 300 international arts periodicals as well as yearbooks and museum bulletins. Subjects include art history, computer applications, graphics, folk art, and photography. Entries date from 1984 - present. This is the online version of Art Index.

Arts and Humanities Search [Remote access - UVM only]

Arts and Humanities Search indexes articles, reviews, fiction, and poetry from the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It selectively indexes several thousand social science and science journals. Each article citation includes the list of cited references at the end of the article. Entries date from 1980 - present.

Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Fine Arts

ArtSource Art Journals Online
http://www.ilpi.com/artsource/journals.html

JSTOR Full-text Databases

JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization which provides an electronic archive of scholarly journals. Users can browse the journals or retrieve articles via full-text searching.

Project Muse Full-text Databases

A collection of over 100 journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other major university presses. The journal collection covers the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Yahoo > Arts > News and Media
http://dir.yahoo.com/Arts/News_and_Media

Top

Recommended Web Sites

Art History Resources on the Web
http://witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html

A comprehensive list selected and maintained by Chris Witcombe, Professor of Art History at Sweet Briar College.

Museums Around the World
http://www.icom.org/vlmp/world.html

Voice of the Shuttle: Art and Art History Pages
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=3404

Comprehensive lists compiled by Alan Liu, University of California at Santa Barbara.

World Wide Arts Resources
http://wwar.com/

A commercial site, WWAR describes itself as "the largest gateway for online arts information: artists, museums, galleries, quality art, art history, arts education, antiques, dance, theater, and more... over 36,000 original works of art available!"

Top

Professional Organizations

American Institute of Architects
http://www.aia.org/

American Institute of Graphic Arts
http://www.aiga.org/

American Society of Artists
PO Box 1326 Palatine, IL 60078

American Watercolor Society
http://www.americanwatercolorsociety.com

College Art Association
http://www.collegeart.org/

National Academy of Design
http://www.nationalacademy.org/

National Sculpture Society
http://www.nationalsculpture.org/

Top

Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style
http://www.wisc.edu/writetest/Handbook/DocChicago.html

The Chicago or Turabian style, sometimes called documentary note or humanities style, places bibliographic citations at the bottom of a page or at the end of a paper.

MLA (Modern Language Association) Style
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_mla.html

Modern Language Association (MLA) format provides writers with a system for cross-referencing their sources-from their parenthetical references to their works cited page.

Top

Last updated: July 27, 2006
By: Linda Brew

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home