UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Anthropology Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Style Manuals

Full-text Databases Full-text

Major Reference Works

Atlas of World Cultures : A Geographical Guide to Ethnographic Literature
REF G 1046 .E1 P7 1989

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution
REF GN 281 .C345 1992

Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology
REF GN 25 .C65 1994

Countries and their Cultures (4 volumes)
REF GN 307 .C68 2001

Dictionary of Anthropology
REF GN 307 .D485 1997

Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology
REF GN 307 .W56 1991

Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity, and Culture
REF HT 1521 .D53 2003

Dictionary of the Social Sciences 
REF H 41 .D53 2002

Dictionary of the Social Sciences [Remote access - UVM only]

Encyclopedia of Anthropology (5 volumes)
REF GN 11 .E63 2006

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology  
(4 volumes)
REF GN 307 .E52 1996

Encyclopedia of World Cultures (10 volumes)
REF GN 307 .E53 1991  

Fieldwork in the Library : A Guide to Research in Anthropology and Related Area Studies
REF GN 42 .W47 1994 

Folklore: Critical Concepts in Literary and Cultural Studies
(4 volumes)
REF GR 45 .F65 2005

Guide (American Anthropological Association): A Guide to Programs, a Directory of Members
REF GN 43 .A44a

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mankind (22 volumes)
REF GN 307 .I44 1989

International Dictionary of Anthropologists
REF GN 20 .I48 1991

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (18 volumes)
REF H 40 .A2 I5

Shamanism: An Encyclopedia of World Beliefs, Practices, and Culture (2 volumes)
REF GN 475.8 .S445 2004 

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
(4 volumes)
REF GN 333 .W67 1998 Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Primary Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Premier [Remote access - UVM Only]
An interdisciplinary index to journal articles and partially full-text database that includes many references and full text articles on anthropological topics.  A highly recommended starting point for accessing journal articles on research areas in anthropology. Coverage: 1970s - present.

Anthropology Plus [Remote access - UVM Only]
Anthropology Plus is a comprehensive index to the journal literature in the broad field of anthropology and archaeology and related disciplines including art history, economics, folklore, linguistics, psychology, and religious studies. Coverage: Late 19th century to present. Combines holdings of Harvard University's anthropology library and holdings of the Museum of Mankind Library (U.K.).

AnthroSource  [Remote access - UVM Only] 
Provides full text access to journals published by the American Anthropological Association, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Medical Anthropology Quarterly,and much more.  Premier online resource that supports the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists.

Expanded Academic ASAP [Remote access - UVM Only]
An interdisciplinary index to journal articles and partially full-text database that includes many references and full text articles on anthropological topics.  A recommended starting point for accessing journal articles on research areas in anthropology. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Social Sciences Abstracts [Remote access - UVM Only]
An interdisciplinary index to journal articles from international, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Coverage: 1983 - present with abstracts beginning in 1994.

Web of Science [Remote access - UVM Only]
An interdisciplinary index to scholarly journal articles, with abstracts. It is a citation index which allows for citation searching and incorporates the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, the Science Citation Index, and the Social Science Citation Index. Coverage: 1982 - present.

Secondary Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

America History and Life  [Remote access - UVM Only] Indexes and abstracts information on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from journals as well as book reviews, film reviews, and the abstracts of dissertations. Coverage: 1964 - present.

GEOBASE  [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts the international literature on cultural and physical geography, geology, ecology, natural resources, international development, and related fields.   Excellent resource for international development related topics.  Indexes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1980 - present.

Historical Abstracts  [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts information on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Includes citations to journal articles as well as books and dissertations. Coverage: 1954 - present.

Sociological Abstracts  [Remote access - UVM Only]
Indexes and abstracts the international literature on sociology and related disciplines. Indexes journal articles as well as books, book reviews, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage: 1963 - present.

** Ask a librarian for advice on additional indexes and abstracts that meet the needs of specific sub-areas of anthropology such as the anthropology of religion, medical anthropology, linguistics, ethnopsychology, and more. ** Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Libraries Electronic Journals
[Remote access - UVM Only]
This takes you to a comprehensive, alphabetical list of journal titles to which UVM has electronic access.  To see a subject breakdown of these journals, click on the Subject tab on the top left of the screen. Please note that anthropology journals may fall under many different subject headings, only one of which is Anthropology.  Here is a direct link to University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Anthropology. However, you may need to look at multiple subject lists, depending on your interests within the broad field of anthropology  Click on the Index tab if you would like to see a list of journal titles by provider; for instance JSTOR or LexisNexis Environmental Universe.  Use the Search tab if you would like to search for a specific journal by its name, publisher, or ISSN #.

AnthroSource  Full-text Databases  [Remote access - UVM Only] 
Provides full text access to journals published by the American Anthropological Association, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Medical Anthropology Quarterly,and much more.  Premier online resource that supports the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists.

JSTOR Full-text Databases  [Remote access - UVM Only]
JSTOR provides an electronic archive of scholarly journals, including a collection of anthropology journals. Users can browse the journals or retrieve articles via full-text searching.  Issues published within the last 2-5 years are generally not covered. The purpose of JSTOR is to provide access to back issues of journals, not current issues.

Project Muse Full-text Databases  [Remote access - UVM Only]
An electronic collection of over 100 journals published by major university presses. The journal collection covers the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.   Many titles related to the field of anthropology are included. Top

Recommended Web Sites

Anthropology in the News
http://anthropology.tamu.edu/news.htm

Anthropology on the Internet for K-12
http://www.sil.si.edu/SILPublications/Anthropology-K12/
Put out by the Smithsonian Institution Libraries, this site is a rich resource for anyone interested in anthropology.  Includes information about subdisciplines of anthropology, careers, virtual exhibits, and much more.  Entries contain many useful and high quality links.

Anthropology Resources on the Internet (American Anthropological Association)
http://www.aaanet.org/resinet.htm

Anthropology Resources on the Internet: History, Archaeology, and Prehistory
http://www.anthropology-resources.net/index.html

Anthropology Review Database (ARD)
http://wings.buffalo.edu/ARD/
Searchable database of full text refereed reviews of all anthropological media (books, audiovisual materials, software & multimedia, exhibits, conferences, and on-line resources); also provides citations for reviews published elsewhere.

ArchNet (WWW Virtual Library for Archaeology)
htttp://archnet.asu.edu

Center for World Indigenous Studies
http://www.cwis.org

Resources in Ethnographic Studies: A Collection of Resources in Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, Folklore, and Folklife (American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress)
http://lcweb.loc.gov/folklife/other.html

Worldwide Email Directory of Anthropologists (WEDA)
http://wings.buffalo.edu/WEDA 

WWW Virtual Library Anthropology
http://vlib.anthrotech.com/
Top

Professional Organizations

American Anthropological Association
http://www.aaanet.org

American Ethnological Society
http://www.aesonline.org/

American Association of Physical Anthropologists
http://www.physanth.org

National Association for the Practice of Anthropology
http://www.practicinganthropology.org

Northeastern Anthropological Association
http://www.neaa.org

Society for American Archaeology
http://www.saa.org

Society for Applied Anthropology
http://www.sfaa.net

Society for Historical Archaeology
http://www.sha.org

Society for Medical Anthropology
http://www.medanthro.netTop

Style Manuals

American Anthropological Association Style Guide
http://www.aaanet.org/pubs/style_guide.pdf

Find out how to format bibliographies (References Cited), how to include in-text citations in your paper, and other basic style rules for writing in the discipline of anthropology.  NOTE: You must have Acrobat Reader installed on your computer to view this document.

Top

Last updated: January 31 2008
By: Laurie Kutner

   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home