UVM Libraries

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARY A-Z
FIND BOOKS  |  FIND ARTICLES  |  ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF  |  GUIDES & HELP  |  SERVICES  |  ABOUT  

Agriculture Subject Guide

Major Reference Works
Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases
Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections
Recommended Web Sites
Professional Organizations
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals

Major Reference Works

Agricultural Handbook
REF S 411 .A37 1988

Agriculture: A Glossary of Terms, Programs, and Laws
http://www.cnie.org/nle/AgGlossary/AgGlossary.htm

Agriculture Factbook
DOCS A 1.38/2:
http://www.usda.gov/factbook/

Black's Agricultural Dictionary
REF S 411 .D245 1985

Careers in Focus: Agriculture
REF S 494.5 .A4 C27 2001

County Agents Directory (latest volume)
REF S 544 .c65

CRC Dictionary of Agricultural Sciences
REF S 411 .L39 2002

Dictionary of Agriculture
REF S 411 .D573 1998

Dictionary of Agriculture : From Abaca to Zoonosis
REF S 411 .L55 1995

Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science (4 volumes)
REF S 411 .E713 1994

Encyclopedia of American Agricultural History
REF S 441 .S36

Encyclopedia of Soil Science
REF S 592 .E52

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Food, Agriculture & Nutrition
REF TX 349 .M2

Practical Handbook of Agricultural Science
REF S 501.2 .P73 1990

Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary
REF S 592 .S59 2001

State of Food and Agriculture (latest volume)
REF S 401 .U6 A317

United States Department of Agriculture, Yearbook of Agriculture (53 volumes)
DOCS A 1.10:
Top

Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Databases

Agricola [Remote access - UVM Only]

Produced by the National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA provides coverage of world literature on agriculture, including articles, audiovisual materials, books, book chapters, computer databases & software, maps, manuscripts, serials, and sound recordings. It also covers related subjects such as forestry, chemistry, entomology, food & nutrition, etc. Coverage is from 1970 - present.

Agricola
http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/

Produced by the National Agricultural Library, this is a free, web version of the above Agricola. This web site provides access to searching the NAL catalog for books and journal article index. Agricola encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Coverage is from 1970-present.

Biosis Previews [Remote access - UVM Only)

Indexes and abstracts publications in the area of biology, covering journal articles, reports, review articles and conference papers. BIOSIS includes materials in the areas of agriculture, botany, zoology, microbiology, ecology, biochemistry, bioengineering, medicine, and biochemistry. Entries date from 2000 - present.

CABDirect [Remote access - UVM Only)

Indexes and abstracts research on agriculture, forestry, environment and allied disciplines, including agricultural economics and rural sociology, aspects of human health, veterinary medicine, crop protection and biotechnology. Coverage is from 1973-present.

In addition to CABDirect, the Bailey/Howe Library has an extensive collection of print CAB indexes dating back to the 1920s, depending on the index. Consult the Library catalog for titles and call numbers.

Web of Science [Remote access - UVM only]

A multi-disciplinary database, Web of Science contains indexing from Science Citation Index, as well as Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It indexes research on fields such as agriculture, biotechnology, plant sciences, veterinary science, and zoology. As a citation database it allows a researcher to trace the citation history of articles forward and backward in time. Coverage is from 1982-present.
Top

Electronic Journal and Electronic Text Collections

University of Vermont Electronic Journals in Agriculture

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
http://chla.library.cornell.edu/

This is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Maintained by the Mann Library, Cornell University.

The Hive and the Honeybee
http://bees.library.cornell.edu

This collection consists of the full-text of several rare titles from the Phillips' Beekeeping Collection at Cornell University's Albert R. Mann Library. Maintained by the Mann Library, Cornell University.

USDA Economics and Statistics System
http://usda.mannlib.cornell.edu/usda/usda.html

A collection of reports and datasets from the USDA economics agencies. Maintained by the Mann Library, Cornell University.
Top

Recommended Web Sites

Web site produced by CABI, producers of CABDirect. Some parts of the site require access via subscription.

Agricultural Network Information Center (AgNIC)
http://www.agnic.org/

AgNIC is a guide to quality agricultural information on the Internet as selected by the National Agricultural Library, Land-Grant Universities, and other institutions.

AgNIC Partnership on Agricultural Biotechnology
http://agnic.umd.edu

This site provides access to agricultural biotechnology on the Web. It includes biotechnology resources relating to domestic animinals, plants, and food processing.

AgriSurf!
http://www.agrisurf.com/
AgriSurf! claims to be the world's largest searchable agricultural WWW index. Sites are selected by agricultural experts. Currently indexing over 19,000 sites categories include: apiculture, aquaculture, crops, forestry, markets and marketing and organic farming, among others.

American Farmland Trust
http://www.farmland.org

American Morgan Horse Association
http://www.morganhorse.com

The official website of the State Horse of Vermont. Provides information and resources on the breed.

Center for Rural Affairs
http://www.cfra.org/default.htm

The Center for Rural Affairs, a private, non-profit organization, has the goal of strengthening small businesses, family farms and ranches, and rural communities.

Congressional Research Service Reports
http://cnie.org/NLE/CRS/

As part of the National Library for the Environment, this site provides Congressional Research Service reports on the environment, agriculture, natural resources, and related subjects. Search by topic, title, keyword, or code. Reports date from 1991 - present, and new reports are added regularly.

Current Research Information System
http://cristel.csrees.usda.gov/

CRIS contains description of research projects funded by the United States, Department of Agriculture.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
http://www.fao.org/

The FAO is the major international agriculture organization. Web site contains information about their programs and news from around the world.

Internet Glossary of Soil Science Terms
http://www.soils.org/sssagloss/

Provided by the Soil Science Society of America, this site provides soil science terminology. Includes additional information in appendices, tables and figures.

National Agricultural Library
http://www.nal.usda.gov/

NOFA Vermont
http://www.nofavt.org/

Web site of the Northeast Organic Farming Association-Vermont Chapter.

Proctor Maple Research Center, University of Vermont
http://www.uvm.edu/~pmrc/

United States Department of Agriculture
http://www.usda.gov/

University of Vermont, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
http://www.uvm.edu/cals/

University of Vermont, Extension
http://www.uvm.edu/extension/

Vermont Maple
http://www.vermontmaple.org/

Web site of the Vermont Maple Sugar Maker's Association.

Top

Professional Organizations

American Agricultural Economics Association
http://www.aaea.org/

American Dairy Science Association
http://www.adsa.org

American Fisheries Society
http://www.fisheries.org/html/index.html

the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE)
http://www.asabe.org/

American Society of Agronomy
http://www.agronomy.org/

American Society of Animal Science
http://www.asas.org/

Crop Science Society of America
http://www.crops.org/

Poultry Science Association
http://www.poultryscience.org/

Soil Science Society of America
http://www.soils.org/

Top

Statistical Resources

Agricultural Statistics
REF HD1751 .A43 (latest volume)
DOCS A 1.47: (previous volumes)
http://www.usda.gov/nass/pubs/agstats.htm

Available in Reference and Documents, this resource is also available via the web.

Census of Agriculture
Ask in the Government Documents and Maps Department for assistance with this resource.

The Government Documents and Maps Department in the Bailey/Howe Library has an extensive print and electronic collection of the Census of Agriculture. The Census of Agriculture is also available from various web sites. The census of agriculture is the leading source of statistics about the Nation's agricultural production and the only source of consistent, comparable data at the county, state, and national levels. Census statistics are used to study historical trends, assess current conditions, and plan for the future.

Economic Research Service
http://www.ers.usda.gov/

The Economic Research Service (ERS) is the main source of economic information and research from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

National Agricultural Statistics Service
http://www.usda.gov/nass/

The NASS serves as the statistical arm of the USDA. In addition to the Census of Agriculture, the NASS provides a wide range of U.S., state and county agricultural statistics and data on their web site.

New England Agricultural Statistics Service
http://www.nass.usda.gov/nh/

A part of the NASS, this web site provides data specific for New England. Information for other states may be accessed as well. A variety of publications provide data and information on New England agriculture.

Top

Style Manuals

Publications Handbook and Style Manual
REF S494.5.A96 P83 1998

Published jointly by the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America and the Soil Science Society of America, this publication provides guidance to authors preparing manuscripts form publication in the journals of this societies.

Top

Last updated: July 28, 2006
By: Elizabeth Hassemer
   
UVM Libraries Home | Library Hours | UVM Home