Business Research Assistant
How to Cite Your Sources
When you write your research paper,
you’ll include lots of information from many sources. You must indicate
where you found that information. This is called “citing your
sources.”
Why is this important?
Citing your sources gives credit to the
people who provided the information, and it tells the person reading your
paper where you found the information.
Do I have to cite my sources?
Yes, this is not optional! You MUST
cite your sources. Otherwise, you could be guilty of plagiarism or
academic dishonesty, which means taking someone else’s ideas and making it
look as if they are your own.
How do I cite my sources?
To cite your sources (in the style
established by American Psychological Association), you’ll need to do two
things:
FIRST, YOU MUST INCLUDE "CITATIONS" TO YOUR SOURCES
THROUGHOUT YOUR PAPER, wherever you have included information that
came from a source. Here's how:
In the body of your text, provide
the author last name(s) followed by the publication year, enclosed in
parentheses. This enables the reader to refer to your list of references
in the back of your paper to learn more about the source of information.
Example:
One theory of strategy (Lawrence, 1994)
states that. . .
When you include a direct quote in your
paper, you should also include the page number of the source from which
you took the quotation.
Example:
"Whenever an organization succeeds in
functioning within the TQM paradigm, its performance improves in every
respect" (Barrett, 1994, p. 19).
If you name the author in the
text of your paper, you don't need to repeat his/her name in parentheses.
Example:
Herzberg and Wang (2002) offer the
following advice on choosing stocks. . .
If the source has no
author, place the first few words of the title along with the publication
year in parentheses.
Example:
The word "commodity" is defined as "an
article of commerce" (Webster's New Collegiate, 1981, p.
224).
SECOND, PROVIDE A LIST OF "REFERENCES" AT THE END OF
YOUR PAPER. This is a list of the sources you cited in your
paper—books, journal articles, personal communication with experts, Web
sites, or other materials.
Arrange your references in alphabetical
order. Put the heading “References” centered at the top of the
page.
For each item on your list, you should include information
that would help the person reading your paper locate your source (e.g.,
title, author, publication date, etc.). The examples below show you how to
format references for various types of materials.
Book with one
author:
Quinn, B. (1998). How Wal-Mart is destroying America:
and what you can do about it. Berkeley, CA: Ten Speed
Press.
Book with multiple authors:
Covello, J. A. &
Hazelgren, B. J. (1994). The complete book of business plans.
Naperville, IL: Sourcebooks.
Book with an editor rather than an
author:
Lawrence, M. (Ed.). (1994). Field guide to strategy.
Boston: Harvard Business School Press.
Book with no
author:
Associations yellow book. (2003). New York:
Leadership Directories.
Chapter or section of a book (or
industry survey within a book):
Wilson, G. W. (1978). Economic
systems. In L. R. Bittel & M. A. Bittel (Eds.), Encyclopedia of
professional management (pp. 325-330). New York:
McGraw-Hill.
Levy, J. (2004, Dec. 23). Autos & Auto Parts. In
E. Bossong-Martines (Ed.), Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
(Vol. 1). New York: Standard and Poor's.
Chapter or section of a
book (or industry survey within a book)--with no
author:
Snack and nonalcoholic beverage bars (2001). In A. Darnay
(Ed.), Information, Finance and Services USA (pp. 768-770).
Farmington Hills, MI: Gale Group.
Journal article from a printed
publication:
Herzberg, M. & Wang, S. (2002, Summer).
Identifying lead analysts for stock selection. Journal of Investing.
11(2), 25-35.
Journal article from an online version of a
publication:
Herzberg, M. & Wang, S. (2002, Summer).
Identifying lead analysts for stock selection [Electronic version]. Journal of Investing.
11(2), 25-35.
Journal article from a full-text library
database:
Herzberg, M. & Wang, S. (2002, Summer). Identifying
lead analysts for stock selection. Journal of Investing. 11(2),
25-35. Retrieved October 27, 2002, from LexisNexis
database.
Journal article from a free Web site (not a
library database):
Kharif, O. (2003, December 30). Intel: King of
the Wi-Fi frontier? Business Week. Retrieved December 30, 2003,
from http://www.businessweek.com
Newspaper article from a
printed publication:
Feder, B. J. (2002, July 18). I.B.M. beats
forecasts but with signs of weakness. The New York Times, p.
C1.
Newspaper article from a library database:
Feder, B.
J. (2002, July 18). I.B.M. beats forecasts but with signs of weakness.
The New York Times, p. C1. Retrieved October 27, 2002, from
LexisNexis database.
Newspaper article from a free Web site
(not a library database):
Turner, S. (2003, December 30).
Downtown camera shop closes. Burlington Free Press. Retrieved
December 30, 2003, from http://www.burlingtonfreepress.com
Web
site with a stable URL:
Basic
Form:
Author/editor/organization. (Last update or copyright date
listed on the Web page). Page Title. Retrieved [date you accessed the
page] from [URL]
Example:
Foster Business Library.
(2002). Financial Ratios Calculator. Retrieved August 28, 2002, from
http://www.lib.washington.edu/business/ratios
Example for page
with no author:
Financial Ratios Calculator. (2002). Retrieved
August 28, 2002, from
http://www.lib.washington.edu/business/ratios
Example for page
with no date:
Foster Business Library. (n.d.). Financial Ratios
Calculator. Retrieved August 28, 2002, from
http://wwww.lib.washington.edu/business/ratios
SEC report from a
database:
Green Mountain Coffee Roasters. (2003). Form 10-K for the
Fiscal Year Ended September 27, 2003. Retrieved December 30, 2003, from
EDGAR database.
Page from an interactive database:
NOTE:
Sometimes a database asks you to enter information such as a company name
and then generates "custom" pages or reports based on what you entered. In
this case, use the database name as the author, provide the title of the
page generated, indicate that you viewed a custom report, and give the
date you accessed the database and the database
name.
Examples:
Factiva. (2003). Vermont Teddy Bear Co.
[Custom report]. Retrieved September 3, 2003, from Factiva
database.
Mergent Online. (2003). Vermont Teddy Bear Co., Company
Financials. [Custom report]. Retrieved December 30, 2003, from Mergent
Online database.
Personal communication with
someone:
Personal communication includes letters, memos, and e-mail
messages you personally receive or telephone conversations and interviews
you have with people. Because personal communications are not recoverable
by the person reading your paper, they are not included in the reference
list. Simply cite your communication in the text of your paper, as shown
in the following examples:
Examples:
According to W.
Gates (personal communication, August 20, 2002), Microsoft has done
nothing wrong.
Microsoft is the best software company in the world
(W. Gates, personal communication, August 20, 2002).
© Trina Magi, University of Vermont Libraries, 2002
Page last updated March 24, 2005