Hours Today: 04/17/14
8 am - Midnight | see all hours

Ask a Librarian

Importing Citations into Endnote from Specific Databases (for Macs)

Need more specific help importing citations into EndNote? Scroll down the list to find instructions for importing or exporting with a particular database. Some databases do not support Endnote; these are noted below.

Please note that these directions are browser specific to FireFox. Some of these directions may not apply when using Safari.


ABI/INFORM Global (Proquest)

Import Filter: N/A

  1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the box to the left of each desired citation.
  2. When finished selecting citations, click Export/Save in the horizontal menu.
  3. Choose to export to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager then click continue.
  4. In the new dialog box, make sure open with is selected. Choose to open with the program EndNote.
  5. Select the Endnote library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your refences will be exported into your Endnote library.


  6. ABSEES (EBSCO)

    Import Filter: N/A

    1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the Add to Folder button below each link. You can also click the Export button on the right-hand side of the screen if you are viewing an individual link.
    2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View under folder has items to view your marked citations.
    3. Select items and click Export.
    4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager then click save.
    5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
    6. Choose to open with EndNote.
    7. Select the Endnote library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your refences will be exported into your Endnote library.


    8. Academic OneFile (Gale)

      Import Filter: N/A

      1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the box to the left of each citation.
      2. Click View All next to Saved Documents.
      3. Click Citation Tools from the Tools box.
      4. Choose to export to EndNote.
      5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected. Choose to open with Endnote.
      6. Select the Endnote Library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

      Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

      Import Filter: N/A

      1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking Add to Folder button below each link.
      2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View under Folder has items  on the right-hand side of the screen to view your marked citations.
      3. Select items and click Export.
      4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
      5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
      6. Select the Endnote Library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


      Acta Sanctoram

      No Export option available.



      AGRICOLA (EBSCO)

      Import Filter: N/A

      1. Perform search. Mark selected citations by the Add to Folder button below each link.
      2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View under Folder has items to view your marked citations.
      3. Select items and click Export.
      4. Click Direct Export to RIS Format (Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager), then click Save.
      5. In the new dialogue box, make sure Open With is selected.
      6. Select the Endnote Library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

      Alt-Press Watch (Proquest)

      Import Filter: N/A

      1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
      2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles.
      3. Choose to export to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager. Then click continue.
      4. A dialog box appears, make sure Open with is selected and choose to open with Endnote.
      5. Select the Endnote library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your refences will be exported into your Endnote library.


      Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)

      Import Filter: N/A

      1. Perform search. Mark selected citations by clicking the Add to Folder button below each link.
      2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View under Folder has items to view your marked citations.
      3. Select items and click Export.
      4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
      5. In the new dialogue box, make sure Open With is selected.
      6. Select the Endnote Library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

      America History and Life (EBSCO)

      1. Perform search. Mark selected citations by clicking the Add to Folder button below each link.
      2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View under Folder has items to view your marked citations.
      3. Select items and click Export.
      4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
      5. In the new dialogue box, make sure Open With is selected.
      6. Select the Endnote Library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

      American State Papers, 1789-1838 (Readex)

      1. Perform search. Mark selected citations by clicking Add to My Collection.
      2. When finished marking citations, click View My Collection in the top, right-hand corner of the screen.
      3. Click Full Citation below each link. Then click Export Citation.
      4. A new dialog box will appear, make sure Open With Endnote is selected. 
      5. Select the Endnote Library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your references will be exported into your Endnote Library.

                Anne philologique (APh) 

                Import Filter: N/A

  1. Perform search. Mark selected citations by clicking in boxes to the left of each.
  2. When finished marking citations, click the Save button from the Records menu at the top of the list.
  3. Choose Selcted records. Then select RIS Format
  4. Then click Save. A dialog box will appear.
  5. Choose to open with Endnote
  6. EndNote starts automatically. 
  7. Citations are imported into your library.

      Anthropology Plus (OCLC)

      Import Filter: OCLC

      1. Perform search. Mark selected citations by clicking in boxes to the left of each.
      2. When finished marking citations, view marked list by clicking the Marked Records button along the top of screen.
      3. Click the Export button.
      4. Select the Endnote option (depending on which Endnote you are running, you may need to download latest filter). Click Export.
      5. EndNote starts automatically. Open your library when prompted.
      6. Select the appropriate filter from the import filter file folder when prompted. Choose OCLC.
      7. Citations are imported into your library.

      Anthrosource

      Import Filter: N/A

      1. Perform search.  Mark desired citations by selecting the article. A new page will pop up. Select HTML version and more information.
      2. Click Export Citation for this Article located in the article tools box on the right-hand side of the page. 
      3. Select Endnote as the format and click Submit
      4. A dialog box appears.  Make sure you are opening the program with Endnote.  Click OK.
      5. Select the library to which you’d like to send the citations.  Click OK.
      6. Citations are imported into your library.


      Applied Science and Technology Full Text (EBSCO)

      Import Filter: N/A

      1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking Add to Folder button below each link.
      2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View under Folder has items  on the right-hand side of the screen to view your marked citations.
      3. Select items and click Export.
      4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
      5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
      6. Select the Endnote Library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

      Art Full Text (EBSCO)

      Import Filter: N/A

      1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking Add to Folder button below each link.
      2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View under Folder has items  on the right-hand side of the screen to view your marked citations.
      3. Select items and click Export.
      4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
      5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
      6. Select the Endnote Library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

      ARTFL Project

      No export option is available.


      ATLA Religion (EBSCO)

      Import Filter: N/A


        1. Perform search. Mark selected citations by clicking the add button next to citations in the results list or by clicking the Add to Folder button in the detailed citation screen.
        2. When finished adding citations, click Folder has items to view your marked citations.
        3. Select items and click Export.
        4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
        5. In the new dialogue box, make sure Open With is selected.
        6. Select the Endnote Library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

                         Bibliographie de Civilisation Mdivale (BREPOLiS)

                         Import Filter: Brepolis

        1. Perform search. Mark desired citations by clicking the checkbox to the left of each citation.
        2. When finished, click Export in the upper-right-hand corner of the screen.
        3. Set the method of export to Download.
        4. Choose .txt-Endnote as the format. Click Export.
        5. In the new dialogue box, choose to open with Endnote.
        6. Choose the appropriate import filter when prompted (Brepolis).
        7. Citations are imported into your library.

        Biography & Genealogy Master Index (Thompson Gale)

        No export option is available.


        Biography in Context (Gale)


        1. Perform a search. Click on the name of the person whom you are looking for.
        2. Mark selected articles by clicking Saved to the left of the citation.
        3. When finished, click Saved Items in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
        4. Select the articles you want to export by clicking the checkbox to the left of each article.
        5. Click Citation Tool. Choose MLA 7th edition and export to EndNote.
        6. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
        7. Select the Endnote Library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

        Biological and Agricultural Index (EBSCO)

        Import Filter: N/A


          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the Add to Folder button below each link. You can also click the Export button on the right-hand side of the screen if you are viewing an individual link.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View under folder has items to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager then click save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Choose to open with EndNote.
          7. Select the Endnote library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your refences will be exported into your Endnote library.

          Biology Digest (OCLC)

          Import Filter: OCLC

          1. Perform search. Mark selected citations by clicking in boxes to the left of each.
          2. When finished marking citations, view marked list by clicking the Marked Records button along the top of screen.
          3. Click the Export button.
          4. Select Endnote (depending on which Endnote you are running, you may need to download latest filter). Click Export.
          5. Select the EndNote library to which you'd like to send your citations. EndNote starts automatically.
          6. Select the appropriate filter from the import filter file folder when prompted. Choose an OCLC option, like WorldCat.
          7. Citations are imported into your library.


          BIOSIS Previews (ISI)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark desired citations by checking the box to the left and clicking the Add to Marked List symbol at the top of the list.
          2. When finished marking citations, click on Marked List at the top of the screen.
          3. Click on View Marked Records.
          4. Keep the default settings and in Step 3 save to Endnote.
          5. A dialog box appears, select EndNote.exe to open with.  (If a dialog box does not automatically pop up, click Export).
          6. Select the library to which you'd like to send your citations.
          7. Citations are imported into your library.


          Books in Print (Bowker)

          No export option available.



          Burlington Free Press / Rutland Herald Archive

          No export option available.



          Business and Company Resource Center (Gale)

          No export option available.



          Business & Industry/RDS Business Suite

          No export options available.


          CAB Direct (CABI)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform search. Mark selected citations by clicking the star to the left of each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click Export Marked Citations located in the Tools box on the right-hand side of the screen.
          3. Choose Full Record and export to EndNote (RIS) format.
          4. Select EndNote for the software to export your marked citations to.
          5. Click the Export button.
          6. A dialog box appears, select EndNote.exe to open with.
          7. Find and open your library when prompted.
          8. Citations are imported into your library.


          Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (Gale)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search.  Mark selected citations by clicking the box to left of the citation. This saves the articles.
          2. Click on View All (Saved Documents folder) in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
          3. In the Tools box, click Citation Tools.
          4. A pop-up box will appear.  Select EndNote and click Export.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Canadian Research Index (Proquest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.


          CATQuest

          Import Filter: N/A


          1. Perform search. From the CatQuest results list, select (by clicking on the star to the left of the titles) the references you wish to export.
          2. Click on e-Shelf (at the top right of the screen).
          3. Click on boxes next to references you wish to export to EndNote.
          4. From the right-side pull-down menu, select: Push to RisPushTo (Go).
          5. In the window that opens and says "Import to Citation Manager," select: Encoding UTF-8 (OK).
          6. Make sure that your desired destination EndNote library is open.
          7. In the Primo_RIS_Export.ris window, click on: Open.
          8. Results will be imported into your open EndNote library.


          CINAHL (EBSCO)

          Import Filter: N/A


          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking Add to Folder button below each link.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View under Folder has items  on the right-hand side of the screen to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

          Classical Music Library

          No export option available.



          College Source Online

          No export option available.



          Communication Abstracts (EBSCO)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking Add to Folder button below each link.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View under Folder has items  on the right-hand side of the screen to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

          Comperio

          No export option available. Library use only.



          Compendex (Engineering Village)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking in the checkbox to the left of each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the download button from the top of the list.  Select the option including EndNote from the pop-up window. Click download.
          3. A dialog box appears, select EndNote.exe to open with.
          4. EndNote starts automatically and you are prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your specified library.


          Computer Database (Gale)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search.  Mark selected citations by clicking the box to left of the citation. This saves the articles.
          2. Click on View All (Saved Documents folder) in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
          3. In the Tools box, click Citation Tools.
          4. A pop-up box will appear.  Select EndNote and click Export.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

          CQ Researcher 

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search.  Click on the page you want to be directed to.
          2. Select CiteNow! from the horizontal menu bar at the top of the page.
          3. A new dialog box appears. Select Endnote from the drop down bar.
          4. Select the Endnote Library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. You references will be exported into your Endnote library.



          CRS Reports

          No export option available.



          Current Index to Statistics

          No export option available.



          EconLit (Proquest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles.
          3. Choose to export to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager. Then click continue.
          4. A dialog box appears, make sure Open with is selected and choose to open with Endnote.
          5. Select the Endnote library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your refences will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Educator's Reference Complete (Gale)

                          Import Filter: N/A
          1. Perform a search.
          2. Mark selected articles by clicking Saved to the left of the citation.
          3. When finished, click Saved Items in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
          4. Select the articles you want to export by clicking the checkbox to the left of each article.
          5. Click Citation Tool. Choose MLA 7th edition and export to EndNote.
          6. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          7. Select the Endnote Library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Environmental Impact Statements: Digests (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles.
          3. Choose to export to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager. Then click continue.
          4. A dialog box appears, make sure Open with is selected and choose to open with Endnote.
          5. Select the Endnote library to which you'd like to export. Click Open. Your refences will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Encyclopedia Britannica

          Not listed on database page. 



          Encyclopedia of Religion (Gale)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search.  Mark selected citations by clicking the box to left of the citation.
          2. Click on the Marked Items folder in the upper left-hand corner of the screen.
          3. In the Tools box, click Citation Tools.
          4. A pop-up box will appear.  Select EndNote and click Export.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Environment Abstracts (ProQuest)

                          Import Filter: N/A
          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.


          Environment Complete (EBSCO)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the add button next to citations in the results list or by clicking the Add to Folder button in the detailed citation screen.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.


          Entomology Abstracts (ProQuest)

                          Import Filter: N/A

      1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
      2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
      3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
      4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
      5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.

          ERIC (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.

          Ethnic News Watch (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.

          Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search.  Mark selected citations by clicking the box to left of the citation.
          2. Click on the Saved Documents folder in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
          3. In the Tools box, click Citation Tools.
          4. A pop-up box will appear.  Select EndNote and click Export.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Facts on File World News Digest

          No Export option available.


          Family and Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCOhost)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the add button next to citations in the results list or by clicking the Add to Folder button in the detailed citation screen.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder view to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

          Film & Television Literature Index (EBSCOhost)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the add button next to citations in the results list or by clicking the Add to Folder button in the detailed citation screen.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Film Literature Index

          No import options available.

          Gender Studies Database (EBSCOhost)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the add button next to citations in the results list or by clicking the Add to Folder button in the detailed citation screen.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

          GenderWatch (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.

          GEOBASE (Engineering Village)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking in the checkbox to the left of each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the download button from the top of the list.  Select the option including EndNote from the pop-up window. Click download.
          3. A dialog box appears, select EndNote.exe to open with.
          4. EndNote starts automatically and you are prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your specified library.


          GeoRef (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.


                          Google Scholar

                          Import Filter: N/A
      1. When you go to the GoogleScholar webpage, selecte Scholar Preferences
      2. Scroll down to Bibliography Manager. Click the box next to "Show links to export citations into" and choose EndNote from the dropdown menu.
      3. Click Save Preferences. Then begin your search.
      4. Each record displayed will have an Import into EndNote link.  Clicking on the link will launch a < Opening EndNote > window that that allow you to open the file with EndNote. Press OK.
      5. You will then be asked to choose which EndNote Library you wish to import the citation into. You may need to navigate to where your EndNote libraries are located. Choose a library.
      6. The citation should be imported into the EndNote library.
      7. Note: if you have Zotero installed, your citations will funnel into Zotero. If this occurs, you may want to turn off the Zotero Preference that dicatates Zotero is to be used for downloaded RIS/Refer files.

          Grove Art

                          Import Filter: N/A
          1. Perform a search. 
          2. Once you have found an article, select the Cite button found on the upper-right hand corner of the screen.
          3. Scroll down to export a citation and select Export Citation
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.EXE to open with. 
          5. Citations are imported into your library.

          Grove Music Online

                          Import Filter: N/A
          1. Perform a search. 
          2. Once you have found an article, select the Cite button found on the upper-right hand corner of the screen.
          3. Scroll down to export a citation and select Export Citation
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.EXE to open with. 
          5. Citations are imported into your library.


          Handbook of Latin American Studies

          No export option available.


          Health and Psychosocial Instruments (OvidSP)

          Import Filter: HAPI (OvidSP)

          1. Perform a search and mark desirable citations by checking the box to the left of each.
          2. When finished marking citations, click export found in the toolsbox. 
          3. Make sure it says Export to Endnote
          4. Select the field you wish to display.
          5. Click Export Citation(s).
          6. A dialog box appears, select EndNote.exe to open with.
          7. Open your library when prompted.
          8. Citations are imported into your library.


          Health & Wellness Resource Center (Gale)

          No export option is available



          Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the add button next to citations in the results list or by clicking the Add to Folder button in the detailed citation screen.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Historical Statistics of the United States

          No export option is available.



          Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.

          IEEE Xplore 

                          Import Filter: N/A
          1. Perform a search. Mark records of interest by clicking the box to the left of each record. 
          2. When finished, click the download citations link, just above the search results. 
          3. Select Endnote, Procite, RefMan format on the right.
          4. Click the download citiation button.
          5. A dialog box appears, select EndNote.exe to open with. 
          6. EndNote starts automatically.
          7. Citations are imported into your library.

          Information Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost)

                          Import Filter: N/A

      1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the add button next to citations in the results list or by clicking the Add to Folder button in the detailed citation screen.
      2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View to view your marked citations.
      3. Select items and click Export.
      4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
      5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
      6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

          InfoTrac Newsstand (Gale)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search.  Mark selected citations by clicking the box to left of the citation.
          2. Click on View All in the Saved Documents folder in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
          3. In the Tools box, click Citation Tools.
          4. A pop-up box will appear.  Select EndNote and click Export.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          IngentaConnect (PT)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search and mark desired records by clicking in the checkbox to the left of each.
          2. To the right of the page, click Export Options under the Tools menu.
          3. Select Endnote.
          4. A dialog box appears, select EndNote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.


          INSPEC (Web of Knowledge)

                          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search and mark desired records by clicking in the checkbox to the left of each.
          2. Click the EndNote button at the top of the search list.
          3. A dialog box appears, select EndNote.exe to open with.
          4. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.

          International Index to Performing Arts (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.


          Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages

          Can export to RefWorks.



          JSTOR

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search or browse for items of interest. Mark selected records by clicking the box to the left of each citation.
          2. Click Export Citation above the searched reports. 
          3. Select a format and choose the RIS file (Endnote, Procite, Reference Manager).
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open file with.
          5. Endnote starts automatically. Open you library when prompted.
          6. Citations are imported into your Endnote library.

          Junior Edition (Gale)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search.  Mark selected citations by clicking the box to left of the citation.
          2. Click on View All in the Saved Documents folder in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
          3. In the Tools box, click Citation Tools.
          4. A pop-up box will appear.  Select EndNote and click Export.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Kid's Edition

          No export option is available.



          Latin America Database

          No export option is available.



          LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions

          1. Perform search. Mark desired citations by clicking the checkbox to the left of each citation.
          2. When finished, click on the Export Bibliographic References icon (the open book) located in the uper-righthand corner of the screen above the search list.
          3. In the pop-up window, where it asks for Export type, select Download Bibliographic Data for other generators, e.g. EndNote.
          4. Click Export.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Library Literature and Information Science Full Text (EBSCOhost)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the add button next to citations in the results list or by clicking the Add to Folder button in the detailed citation screen.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the add button next to citations in the results list or by clicking the Add to Folder button in the detailed citation screen.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

          Literature Resource Center (Gale)

                          Import Filter: N/A

      1. Perform a search.  Mark selected citations by clicking the box to left of the citation.
      2. Click on the Marked Items folder in the upper left-hand corner of the screen.
      3. In the Tools box, click Citation Tools.
      4. A pop-up box will appear.  Select EndNote and click Export.
      5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
      6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A


          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.


          MEDLINE Plus 

          No export option available.

          Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the add button next to citations in the results list or by clicking the Add to Folder button in the detailed citation screen.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Mergent WebReports

          No export option available.



          Middle English Compendium

          No export option available.



          MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the add button next to citations in the results list or by clicking the Add to Folder button in the detailed citation screen.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

          National Consumer Survey

          No export option available.



          New York Times: Proquest Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.


          Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

          Import Filter: N/A


          1. Perform a search.  Mark selected citations by clicking the Save button to the left of each citation.
          1. When finished, click on the Saved Items folder in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
          1. In the Tools box, click Citation Tools.
          1. A pop-up box will appear.  Select EndNote and click Download.
          1. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          1. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

          PAIS (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.

          Patrologica Latina

          No export option is available.


          Perkins Geology Museum Digital Archive

          No export option is available.



          Philosopher's Index (EBSCOhost)

          Import Filter: N/A


          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the add button next to citations in the results list or by clicking the Add to Folder button in the detailed citation screen.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Professional Collection (Gale)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search.  Mark selected citations by clicking the box to left of the citation.
          2. Click on the View All button in the Saved Documents folder in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
          3. In the Tools box, click Citation Tools.
          4. A pop-up box will appear.  Select EndNote and click Export.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Project Muse

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark desirable citations by clicking Save Citation below each item.
          2. When finished, click the Saved Citations button in the upper-right corner of the screen.
          3. Select Export to EndNote.
          4. A dialog box appears, select EndNote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote opens automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are automatically imported into your specified library.


          PsycINFO (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.

          PubMed (NLM)

                          Import Filter: PubMed
          1. Perform a search. Click the checkbox to the left of each desired article. 
          2. Click Send To in the upper-right-hand corner of the screen.
          3. Choose destination File.
          4. Choose MEDLINE as the format. Click Create File.
          5. A dialog box appears, select EndNote.exe to open with.
          6. EndNote will automatically start. Choose the PubMed filter file
          7. Citations are imported into your library.

          Repere

          No export option is available.


          RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.


          Safari Tech Books Online

          No export option available.



          ScienceDirect

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search.  Select citations to be exported by checking the box to the left of each citation.
          2. Click Export Citations above the list of artices.
          3. Set the buttons to Citations Only and RIS format (for Reference Manager, ProCite, EndNote).  Click Export.
          4. A dialog box appears, select EndNote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote starts automatically.
          6. Citations are imported into your library.


          SciFinder Scholar

          You need an account in order to access this database.



          Scitation

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Register with Scitation.
          2. Perform a search. Click on desired article.
          3. Choose to export to EndNote (RIS) from the horizontal menu bar above the article information.
          4. Choose to download to EndNote (generic).
          5. Select Endnote (generic) for view.
          6. A dialog box appears. Choose Endnote.exe to open with.
          7. Open your EndNote library when prompter.
          8. Citations are imported into your library.



          Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCOhost)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the add button next to citations in the results list or by clicking the Add to Folder button in the detailed citation screen.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

          Social Sciences in Forestry Bibliography

          No export option available.



          Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.


          Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.



          Student Edition (Gale)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search.  Mark selected citations by clicking the box to left of the citation.
          2. Click on the View All button located in the Saved Documents folder in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
          3. In the Tools box, click Citation Tools.
          4. A pop-up box will appear.  Select EndNote and click Export.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.


          Toxline (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.

          Tropical Forest Conservation & Development

          No export option available.



          Ulrich's Periodical Directory

          No export option available.



          Urban Forestry

          No export option available.


          Water Resources Abstracts (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.


          Web of Science (Web of Knowledge)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search and mark desired records by clicking in the checkbox to the left of each.
          2. Click the EndNote button at the top of the search list.
          3. A dialog box appears, select EndNote.exe to open with.
          4. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.


          Westlaw Campus Reserach

          No export option available.



          Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (EBSCOhost)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the add button next to citations in the results list or by clicking the Add to Folder button in the detailed citation screen.
          2. When finished adding citations, click Folder View to view your marked citations.
          3. Select items and click Export.
          4. Click Direct Export Format to Endnote, Procite or Ref Manager, then click Save.
          5. In the new dialog box, make sure Open With is selected.
          6. Select the Endnote Library to which you’d like to export.  Click Open.  Your references will be exported into your Endnote library.

          World Development Indicators

          No Export option available.



          WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)

          Import Filter: WorldCat (OCLC)

          1. Perform search. Mark selected citations by clicking in boxes to the left of each.
          2. When finished marking citations, view marked list by clicking the Marked Records button along the top of screen.
          3. Click the Export button.
          4. Select the EndNote option (depending on which EndNote you are running, you may need to download latest filter).  Click Export.
          5. EndNote starts automatically. Open your library when prompted.
          6. Select the appropriate filter from the import filter file folder (World Cat OCLC) when prompted.
          7. Citations are imported into your library.


          Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search. Mark selected citations by clicking the checkbox next to each citation.
          2. When finished marking citations, click the Export/Save button located above the listed articles, and chose to export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
          3. Click the Export directly to Procite, Endnote, or Reference Manager.
          4. A dialog box appears, select Endnote.exe to open with.
          5. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.

          Zoological Record (Web of Knowledge)

          Import Filter: N/A

          1. Perform a search and mark desired records by clicking in the checkbox to the left of each.
          2. Click the EndNote button at the top of the search list.
          3. A dialog box appears, select EndNote.exe to open with.
          4. EndNote will start automatically and you will be prompted to open your library. Citations are imported into your library.


      Bailey / Howe Library

      538 Main Street · Burlington VT, 05405-0036

      ph: 802.656.2023 · fax: 802.656.4038

      Problems with this page? Contact the Library Webmasters