Introductory Endnote Guide
What is EndNote?
- EndNote is a software program that allows you to store and manage your references and images.
- EndNote will format your references in whatever style you choose -- APA, MLA, Chicago Manual of Style, etc.
- EndNote works with word processing software to allow you to
insert citations directly into your paper, building your bibliography
as you insert your citations.
- You can import references into EndNote from many online databases.
- EndNote has a search interface that allows you to search library
catalogs and selected bibliographic databases and retireves results
from them directly into your EndNote library.
- EndNote allows you to create your own searchable database
of references, and any additional information you choose to add
about each resource.
Note: EndNote should not be considered a
shortcut to having to learn proper citation style. In order to use
EndNote effectively, it is important to understand the elements of a
bibliographic citation. When entering references into EndNote manually,
your output will only be as good as your input. When importing
references into EndNote by either using a biliographic database or
EndNote's search interface, it is necessary to check the data that has
been imported and edit the citations when necessary. Editing is an
important part of using EndNote.
Downloading EndNote Onto Your Computer
- As a UVM affiliate, you can download Endnote 9 to your computer from the UVM Software Archive
- It appears that for EndNote to work with Word's "Cite While
You Write" feature, you need to have Word on your computer BEFORE you
download EndNote.
- A Complete Install is recommended for the program to work properly.
Using the EndNote Program
Getting Started with EndNote
Select: Create a New EndNote Library
Decide where you want to save it and name the library.
Tip: A library is a file. Only create a new
library for completely unrelated projects. Do not create separate
libraries for separate parts of an ongoing project.
Setting Up Your Output Style (APA, MLA, Chicago Manual, etc.)
EndNote will format your references in whatever style you
choose, and allows you to choose from a list of over 1,100 different
styles. It is useful to start by selecting an output style (the style
in which you would like your citations to appear), so that you can see
what your citations look like in your chosen style as you enter them
into EndNote. You can change the style of your citations at any point.
To set up an output style:
- Select Edit
Output Styles Open Style Manager
- Select your preferred bibliographic style from the LONG list of styles (i.e. APA 5th)
- Go back to Edit
Output Styles
- Click on the style you selected (i.e. APA 5th) for it to become your default style
Entering References into EndNote
There are 3 ways to enter references into EndNote. Each is
explained below. You can enter references in manually, import
references from bibliographic databases, or use EndNote's search
interface to import bibliographic records from library catalogs and
databases.
A. Entering References Manually
- From the top menu select: References
New Reference
- From the pull-down list select the reference type that you would like to enter.
- Enter the bibliographic information in the appropriate fields.
Tip: To enter a web site, select "Electronic Source" as your Reference Type.
** Remember that in order to create good citations in EndNote, you must
know what the proper elements of a citation are for books, journal
articles, web sites, etc. **
B. Importing References into EndNote From Bibliographic Databases
Note: Some databases, but not all, allow you to
do this. Make sure the database you are in has an Export feature. These
are some general instructions to follow when importing into EndNote
from a database. Instructions for importing will vary by database.
- Get into the database you want to search and enter your search.
- Select records to export by marking the ones of interest. (Make sure you choose to export only the marked records.)
- Select: Export (There may be an option for Direct Export or Export into EndNote. If so, make sure that option is selected.)
- Choose the library you want to import it into.
- You may be prompted to choose an import filter at this
point. If so, choose the import filter that is the same version of the
database from which you are exporting.
- Look at the references once they've been imported; they may require some editing on your part (or they may look good.)
For further assistance, see the detailed instructions for importing references from specific databases, by database name.
C. Using EndNote's search interface to import records
EndNote has a basic search interface built into it, that
allows you to search databases and import records directly into
EndNote. Using EndNote's search interface requires the use of EndNote connection files. These files provide the connection between the database you are searching and EndNote.
- Connection files may be problematical when attempting to use them to connect to our subscription bibliographic databases; therefore, we generally recommend using the database's own search interface and export features whenever possible.
- At this time, Bailey/Howe Library is unable to support the customization of EndNote connection files.
You can, however, search the following databases from
on-campus, using the EndNote connection files (this may require some
minor editing of the connection files; questions about this may be
addressed to Laurie Kutner (phone: 656-2213, e-mail: laurie.kutner@uvm.edu)
- Agricola (OCLC)
- ATLA Religion (OCLC)
- Dissertation Abstracts (OCLC)
- ERIC (CSA)
- GeoRef (CSA)
- Medline (Ovid)
- MLA Bibliography (OCLC)
- PubMed
- Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
- Water Resources Abstracts (CSA)
- Web of Science (ISI)
- WorldCat (OCLC)
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (CSA)
Also, this option works especially well for searching the University of Vermont's Library Catalog.
To see whether the University of Vermont Libraries Catalog is in your connection files, do the following:
- Go to Tools
Connect Connect U of Vermont
** If U of Vermont Libraries does not appear in the list of connection files, download it here:
U of Vermont.enz
- Save U of Vermont.enz to the connection file folder in EndNote. For Windows users this will typically be:
c:\Program Files\EndNote 9\Connections
How to Use EndNote's Search Interface
Once you have successfully connected using an EndNote connection file, you will see EndNote's search interface.
- Type in your search.
Note: The search capabilities of this interface are not as
sophisticated as the interface of the database you are searching, so
your searches might need to be more simplistic.
- From your list of search results select the ones you'd like
to import by clicking on them individually while holding down the
Control key.
- Click: Copy References To ...
- Select the library to which you would like to copy them.
Creating a Stand-Alone Bibliography From Your EndNote Library
Once you have entered references into EndNote, you can create a
bibliography using some or all of your references. The following
represents one, easy way to create your bibliography using Word or
other word processing software.
- Select all the references you want to include in your
bibliography by clicking on the first one, then: Ctrl-Click for each
additional one (or Shift-Click for all of them).
- Go to: Edit
Copy Formatted
- Open the Word (or word-processed) document into which you would like to insert the bibliography.
- Place the cursor where you want the bibliography and paste it in (Ctrl-V).
Tip: Once your bibliography is in Word (or
word-processed format) , it is a good time to make any additional
editorial changes that you need to make, such as adding a line about
retrieval from a bibliographic database. It is always a good idea to
review your bibliography for edits at this time.
Using the "Cite While You Write" feature in Word
EndNote is designed to work alongside Word, to allow you to insert
citations into your document as you compose it, using a feature called,
"Cite While You Write." As these citations are inserted, a bibliography
reflecting these citations is automatically generated.
To use this feature, type your paper in Word, and when you are ready to
insert a citation (and simultaneously a bibliographic entry), do the
following:
- In Word, go to Tools
EndNote 9 Find Citation (search by author or words in title) Insert
Additional Help With EndNote
- EndNote maintains its own very useful support page, that includes detailed support information, at: http://www.endnote.com/support/ensupport.asp
- An extremely helpful introductory tutorial on using
EndNote, created by the University of North Carolina Health Sciences
Library, is at: http://www.hsl.unc.edu/Services/Tutorials/ENDNOTE/intro.htm
- Introductory workshops in EndNote at UVM:
- General workshops are offered each semester through the Center for Teaching and Learning, taught by Hope Greenberg, Academic Computing Services. Please check the Center for Teaching and Learning Events Calendar for dates and times; advance registration is required and these classes fill up regularly.
- Workshops for groups of individuals from specific
disciplines, departments, or schools, can be scheduled upon request, by
contacting Laurie Kutner, Information and Instruction Services, Bailey/Howe Library.
- For general questions about EndNote and to arrange
individual consultations, please contact Laurie Kutner (phone:
656-2213, e-mail: laurie.kutner@uvm.edu), Information and Instruction Services, Bailey/Howe Library.
Last updated:
August 29, 2006
By: Laurie Kutner
|