Tag Archives: EndNote

Thanks for Another Great Funding to Publication Series

ftp

Hilda Alajajian presents “Finding Grant Opportunities: The Search Process”

Mid October represents a lot of things. The leaves are falling. Cooler weather is coming. It also marks the end of another great Funding to Publication series. Funding to Publication is a series of workshops that focus on different aspects of the research process such as tools for finding research, sources of funding, and publication strategies. This year 57 people attended one or more of the workshops, which represents an increase of 42% over last year’s series. In fact, so many people signed up for two workshops (Advanced EndNote and Sources and Databases Beyond PubMed) that we had to add a third day to fit everyone in! Thank you to everyone who attended the workshops and for your help in making it such a great experience for everyone involved. If you missed any part of the series, take a look at its site, http://danaguides.uvm.edu/research2013, for class content and supplemental materials.

Although the Funding to Publication series is over, there are still lots of workshops being offered between now and December. For example, you can learn some new tricks on using images in PowerPoint in the “An Image is Worth a Thousand Words” workshop. Additional topics include EndNote, Google Scholar, The Cochrane Library, and a great session on creating posters. You can find a list of the workshops and when they’ll be offered on the Schedule of Library Workshops page.  How to Stay Up to Date: Alerts, Preparing Posters, and Introduction to Google Scholar are new selections alongside popular standards such as Advanced EndNote and Beyond PubMed.

Don’t see what you’re looking for? Please let us know. We’re always looking for great ideas for future workshops.

Gary Atwood, MSLIS
gary.atwood@uvm.edu

Get Organized! EndNote & Zotero Classes at Bailey-Howe

Come learn about tools that can help you to keep track of research materials, collaborate with classmates and colleagues, take notes, format citations, and create bibliographies for papers in a variety of styles.  All workshops are free and open to UVM students, faculty, and staff.  No registration is required.

Introduction to Zotero

Learn how to keep track of research materials, organize note-taking, and format citations and bibliographies using this easy-to-master, open-source solution.

Location:  Bailey/Howe Library Classroom (Room 123)

Facilitators:  Daisy Benson and Daniel DeSanto

  • January 25 (Friday) 2-3pm
  • January 30 (Wednesday) 4-5pm
  • February 6 (Wednesday) 4-5pm
  • February 8 (Friday) 2:30-3:30pm
  • February 12 (Tuesday) 4-5pm
  • February 20 (Wednesday) 3-4pm
  • March 15 (Friday) 2:30-3:30pm
  • March 22 (Friday) 2:30-3:30pm

 

Advanced Zotero

Come and build on your existing Zotero knowledge.  Learn how to use shared folders for collaboration and more.

Location:  Bailey/Howe Library Classroom (Room 123)

Facilitator:  Daisy Benson

  • March 11 (Wednesday) 4-5pm
  • March 22 (Friday) 3:30-4:30pm

Contact Daisy Benson (daisy.benson@uvm.edu) to arrange for a customized workshop on Zotero for your class, lab, or other group.

 

EndNote workshops

Learn how to use EndNote (a software program) to keep track of research information, organize notes, and insert citations into your papers.

Location:  Bailey/Howe Classroom (Room 123)

Facilitators:  Laurie Kutner and Jake Barickman

  • January 23 (Wednesday) 3-4pm
  • January 29 (Tuesday) 4-5pm
  • February 5 (Tuesday) 4-5pm
  • February 14 (Thursday) 4-5pm
  • February 22 (Friday) 3-4pm
  • February 26 (Tuesday) 4-5pm
  • March 13 (Wednesday) 3-4pm
  • March 19 (Tuesday) 4-5pm
  • March 29 (Friday) 3-4pm
  • April 3 (Wednesday) 3-4pm
  • April 18 (Thursday) 4-5pm

Additional EndNote workshops can be scheduled upon request.  Send requests to: laurie.kutner@uvm.edu

Fall Zotero and EndNote Workshop at Bailey-Howe

Come learn about tools that can help you to keep track of research materials, collaborate with classmates and colleagues, take notes, format citations, and create bibliographies for papers in a variety of styles. All workshops are free and open to UVM students, faculty, and staff. No registration is required.

Introduction to Zotero

Learn how to keep track of research materials, organize note taking, and format citations and bibliographies using this easy to master open source solution.

Location: Bailey/Howe Library Classroom (Room 123)
Facilitators: Daisy Benson and Daniel DeSanto

September 11 (Tuesday) 4-5pm
September 19 (Wednesday) 4-5pm
September 26 (Wednesday) 4:30-5:30
October 9 (Tuesday) 4-5pm
October 19 (Friday) 2-3pm
October 23 (Tuesday) 4-5pm
November 11 (Tuesday) 4-5pm

Advanced Zotero

Come and build on your existing Zotero knowledge. Learn how to use shared folders for collaboration and more.

Location: Bailey/Howe Library Classroom (Room 123)
Facilitator: Daisy Benson

October 25 (Thursday) 4-5pm
November 14 (Wednesday) 4-5pm

Contact Daisy Benson (daisy.benson@uvm.edu) to arrange for a customized workshop on Zotero for your class, lab, or other group.

EndNote workshops

Learn how to use EndNote (a software program) to keep track of research information, organize notes, and insert citations into your papers.

Location: Bailey/Howe Library Classroom (Room 123)
Facilitators: Laurie Kutner and Jake Barickman
September 7 (Fri.) 3-4 pm
September 12 (Wed.) 4-5 pm
September 20 (Thurs.) 4-5 pm
September 26 (Wed.) 3-4 pm
October 2 (Wed.) 4-5 pm
October 10 (Wed.) 4-5 pm
October 16 (Tues.) 3-4 pm
October 24 (Wed.) 4-5 pm
November 2 (Fri.) 3-4 pm
November 13 (Tues.) 4-5 pm

After November 13 please contact Laurie Kutner (laurie.kutner@uvm.edu) for an appointment.

EndNote and Zotero Workshops at Bailey-Howe

All workshops are free and open to all UVM students, faculty, and staff. No registration is required.

EndNote Workshops
Learn how to use EndNote (desktop software) to keep track of research information and insert citations into your papers.

  • Thurs., March 17 4-5 pm (Library Classroom)
  • Wed., April 6 4:30 – 5:50 pm (Library Classroom)

Zotero Workshops
Learn how to use Zotero (a browser plug-in) to keep track of research information and insert citations into your papers.

  • Tues. March 15 4-5 pm (Library Classroom)

Learn more about citation software on our page: Introduction to Managing Information

EndNote X4 Now Available

The latest version of EndNote, X4, is now available to the UVM community. Simply go to the ETS software download site, choose your operating system, enter your NetID and choose EndNote X4 for download. Follow the prompts and instructions.

New Features in EndNote X4:

  • Import and search PDFs
  • Expanded collaboration capabilities
  • Compatible with MS Word 2010
  • Manage your own publication list with ReasearcherID

Need assistance?

Regular Office Hours Available for EndNote Help


Bring your EndNote questions to the Dana Library for individual assistance. We will provide instruction, help solve a citation problem, or assist in getting your library of documents under control.
Dana Librarian Angie Chapple-Sokol has scheduled regular office hours for EndNote help on Tuesdays from 11 – 12.
For best results call ahead to reserve the time. Drop-ins are also welcome! achapple@uvm.edu, 656-9396.

Workshops Available to All at Bailey-Howe

All workshops are free and open to all UVM students, faculty, and staff. No registration is required.

Tools to Make Formatting Citations Easier

Come learn about simple online tools that can help you to format citations and learn more about citation management software (EndNote, RefWorks, or Zotero).

  • February 4 (Thursday): 4-5pm, Bailey/Howe Room 123
  • February 23 (Tuesday): 4-5pm, Bailey/Howe Room 123
  • March 16 (Tuesday): 4-5pm, Bailey/Howe Room 123
  • April 21 (Wednesday): 4-5pm, Bailey/Howe Room 123
  • April 22 (Thursday): 4-5pm, Bailey/Howe Room 123

EndNote Workshops

Learn how to use EndNote (desktop software) to keep track of research information and insert citations into your papers.

  • February 17 (Wednesday): 4-5pm, Bailey/Howe Room 123
  • March 23 (Tuesday): 4-5pm, Bailey/Howe Room 123
  • April 20 (Tuesday): 4-5pm, Bailey/Howe Room 123

RefWorks Workshops

Learn how to use RefWorks (online software) to keep track of research information and insert citations into your papers.

  • March 2 (Tuesday): 4-5pm, Bailey/Howe Room 123
  • April 7 (Wednesday): 4-5pm, Bailey/Howe Room 123

Zotero Workshops

Learn how to use EndNote (a browser plug-in) to keep track of research information and insert citations into your papers.

  • February 11 (Thursday): 4-5pm, Bailey/Howe Room 123
  • February 24 (Wednesday): 4-5pm, Bailey/Howe Room 123
  • March 17 (Wednesday): 4-5pm, Bailey/Howe Room 123
  • March 24 (Wednesday): 4-5pm, Bailey/Howe Room 123

Learn more about citation software on our page: Introduction to Managing Information.