EBP for Nurses: Dana Medical Library

Dana Medical Library

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARIES A-Z
DATABASES & E-BOOKS  |  E-JOURNALS  |  REFERENCE  |  GUIDES  |  SERVICES  |  HELP

Evidence-Based Practice - Resources for Nurses

Evidence-based practice is the conscientious, explicit and judicious use of current best evidence with patient preferences in making decisions about the health care of individuals and groups. Evidence-based practice means integrating clinical expertise with the best available clinical evidence from systematic research and expert panel consensus.

Download This Image


TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database Plus

Simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles -- including most of those listed above and many more. Also searches MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets.


Filtered Resources

Systematic Reviews / Meta-Analyses

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Consists of detailed, structured topic reviews of hundreds of articles. Teams of experts complete comprehensive literature reviews, evaluate the literature, and present summaries of the findings of the best studies. Published by the International Cochrane Collaboration.

The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)

Full-text database containing structured abstracts of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. DARE is produced by the National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.

Also available via Ovid

Systematic Reviews are also searchable in MEDLINE:

  • Ovid MEDLINE: Enter your search query. Click on the "Limits" icon; select "Systematic Reviews” under "Subject Subsets.”
  • PubMed: Click on "Clinical Queries" on the left side of the screen; select "Find Systematic Reviews" and enter your search query.

Critically-Appraised Topics

National Guideline Clearinghouse

A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Updated weekly.

Note: Guideline evidence varies from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.

Critically-Appraised Individual Articles

Bandolier

Bandolier is an independent journal about evidence-based healthcare published in the UK. It includes "information about evidence of effectiveness (or lack of it), and put[s] the results forward as simple bullet points of those things that worked and those that did not: a bandolier with bullets. Information comes from systematic reviews, meta-analyses, randomised trials, and from high quality observational studies."

"Evidence-Based Nursing" journal

Primary research articles within the discipline are selected for quality and clinical relevance. A structured abstract and expert commentary are provided for each study.


Unfiltered Resources

PubMed

To limit your PubMed search to the best evidence-producing studies: Click on "clinical queries" (on the left side of the screen). This specialized search is intended for clinicians and has built-in search "filters." Four study categories--therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis--are provided, and you may indicate whether you wish your search to be more sensitive (i.e., include most relevant articles but probably including some less relevant ones) or more specific (i.e., including mostly relevant articles but probably omit a few).

PsycINFO

International coverage of the professional and academic literature in psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.

To limit your PsycINFO search to the best evidence-producing studies: Under the search boxes, click "systematic reviews" and/or "meta analysis" in the "Methodology" box.

CINAHL

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature

To limit your CINAHL search to the best evidence-producing studies: Click on the 'Limits' icon to use 'Clinical Queries' or limit to 'Research' or other 'publication' types (i.e., systematic review).


Background Information/Expert Opinion

Note: Evidence in these resources may vary from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.

UpToDate

A clinical information resource, which offers up-to-date, fully referenced expert answers to patient-care, diagnosis, and treatment questions. Topic reviews are written by recognized authorities who review the topic, synthesize the evidence, summarize key findings, and provide specific recommendations.

(Access restrictions: UpToDate is licensed for on-site use only at UVM and FAHC. Remote access is not permitted.)

Lippincott's Nursing E books

Full-text electronic books.

DynaMed

Created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic evidence review databases directly and indirectly by using journal review services.

FIRSTConsult

FIRSTConsult offers point of care resources for differential diagnosis, evaluation and management of medical conditions, patient education and medical procedures. Information is based on multiple sources including textbooks, peer-reviewed articles, evidence databases, drug alerts, guidelines, and position papers reviewed and edited by opinion leaders in clinical practice.

Natural Standard

Natural Standard synthesizes evidence-based information on complementary and alternative therapies.


Evidence-Based Medicine Information Sites

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (Oxford University)

The Centre promotes evidence-based health care and provide support and resources to anyone who wants to make use of them. Includes the EBM Toolbox, an assortment of materials which are very useful for practitioners of EBM, and EBM Teaching Materials, including PowerPoint presentations.

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (Toronto)

Includes many resources for practicing and teaching EBM.

Evidence-Based Medicine

A selective list of additional EBM websites developed and maintained by Duke University Medical Center Library.

Netting the Evidence

From the School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR) at the University of Sheffield, UK. Includes a comprehensive list of EBM databases, journals, articles, and other information sources.

Evidence Based Nursing

From the University of Minnesota, includes definitions, models, history, and discussion about the barriers to the practice of EBN.


Evidence-Based Medicine Tutorials

Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine

From Duke University Medical Center Library and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Health Sciences Library.

SUNY Health Sciences Evidence-Based Medicine Course

Nursing Resources: tutorial and refresher

From New York University Libraries, a self-based tutorial on research utilization and evidence based practice.


Local Resources (e.g., Class Handouts, Tip Sheets)

How do I "do" Evidence Based Practice?

Nurses from FAHC describe incorporating evidence into their practice to improve outcomes for their patients.


EBM Pyramid and EBM Page Generator, copyright 2006 Trustees of Dartmouth College and Yale University. All Rights Reserved.
Produced by Jan Glover, David Izzo, Karen Odato and Lei Wang.

   
UVM Libraries Home  |   UVM Home  |   College of Medicine  |   COMET  |   Fletcher Allen Hospital  
College of Nursing and Health Sciences