Dana Medical Library

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARIES A-Z
DATABASES & E-BOOKS  |  E-JOURNALS  |  REFERENCE  |  GUIDES  |  SERVICES  |  HELP

Consumer Health Information

Vermont Go Local

Vermont Go Local is a joint project of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), University of Vermont Dana Medical Library, the Frymoyer Community Health Resource Center of Fletcher Allen Health Care, and the United Ways of Vermont, Vermont 2-1-1. MedlinePlus, the premier consumer database from the NLM and National Institutes of Health, provides information about medical conditions and diseases and links to the Vermont Go Local website which finds local health facilities, health care providers, support groups and programs throughout Vermont.
For more information, see the description at MedlinePlus, the premier consumer database from the NLM and National Institutes of Health.
Please direct questions and comments to Shiela Phillippe at: shiela.phillippe@uvm.edu

Health & Wellness Resource Center

Health & Wellness Resource Center is an online index and full-text database for health and medical related articles in professional journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical resources. Other features include a reference library, drug & herb finder, health organization directory, and health assessment tools. UVM and FAHC affiliates may access this database through Dana Medical Library, and members of the general public may access it on-site at Dana or remotely through the Vermont Online Library. Many local Vermont libraries offer access to the Health & Wellness Resource Center through the Vermont Online Library. For a list of these local libraries, see Vermont Online Library.

Consumer Health Borrowing Privileges at the Dana Medical Library

The general public is welcome to use the library materials within the library. Online materials are available, but many require that you be in one of the libraries to use them. Please Note: Some materials, such as course reserves and some online databases, are restricted to use by UVM faculty, students and staff.
A Consumer Health Borrower's card will be issued to any member of the general public wishing to borrow materials from the Dana Medical Library's Consumer Health Collection.

Vermont Cancer Center Videos

Vermont Cancer Center Image
View this collection of eight videos directly in your web browser to learn about cancer prevention strategies and treatment methods from University of Vermont faculty. Specific topics include cancer of the breast, skin, prostate, colon, ovaries, and cervix.

Videos are available in both Windows Media Player and RealPlayer formats (you need to download this free software before viewing the videos). The files may take several minutes to download, depending on your Internet connection speed. Hard copies of the videos can also be borrowed from the Dana Consumer Health Collection.

   
UVM Libraries Home  |   UVM Home  |   College of Medicine  |   COMET  |   Fletcher Allen Hospital  
College of Nursing and Health Sciences