Searching the UVM Libraries Catalog
Searching the UVM Libraries Catalog
What information is contained in the UVM Libraries Catalog?
Accessing
the Libraries Catalog
Quick Search
Guided Keyword search
Limits
Results
Print/Save or Email results
Patron information
Renew
an item
Hold or Recall an item
Retrieving items from the LRA
Course Reserves
For more help
What information is contained in the UVM Libraries Catalog?
The UVM Libraries Catalog
supplies information about items owned, housed, or subscribed to by the University of
Vermont. It contains records for items owned by all UVM libraries:
Bailey/Howe Library, Dana Medical Library, Cook Chemistry/Physics Library, and
the Library Research Annex (LRA).
The Catalog provides title, author, publisher,
and date information for books, and comparable information for non-book items.
It indicates in which library the item is located, what collection it is in,
its call number (if applicable), and its availability.
In some cases and to a limited degree, the
contents of the item may be searchable as well. For example, the Catalog
indexes the chapter titles of some books. However, it does NOT have the
capability of searching for articles within journals. Instead, use an online index to the journal literature such as
MEDLINE, PsycINFO, or CINAHL to search for articles. For journals to which UVM has an electronic
subscription, a link will be provided to the publisher's or vendor's website in
the Catalog record.
Accessing the Libraries Catalog
The UVM Libraries Catalog may be accessed
through http://voyager.uvm.edu via any
computer with an internet connection, regardless of UVM affiliation.
The Dana Medical Library homepage
http://library.uvm.edu/dana has a link
for the Catalog on the top green toolbar. It also has a search box
available for quick entry at the bottom of the homepage.
Quick Search
Enter a word or phrase, select the desired
field from the drop-down box, and click Search. You may select limits from
the drop-down box in this screen, or you can run the search and perform a "post-limit" after
previewing the results. Limits apply only to title, journal title, and
keyword searches. Refer to the section on Limits for
additional information.

Title
- Enter the exact title, or one or more
consecutive words from the title.
- hursts
- infectious
diseases
- Omit leading articles such as
"A", "An",
"The", "Les", "Los", "El", etc.,
- old man and the sea
- end of an era
- miserables
- Case insensitive; caps optional
- Apostrophes optional
- grays anatomy
- goodman & gilmans
Author
-
Enter last name, a space, and the first name or
initial, if known
- Case insensitive; caps optional
- Apostrophes optional
- omalley charles or o'malley
charles
- Hyphens optional
- scheper-hughes n or scheper hughes n
- If the "author" is an organization or
other corporate body, enter its name in natural word order.
- american heart association
Journal Title
Use this option to search for titles of
journals, magazines, newspapers, and other periodicals owned or subscribed to
by the university. The Catalog does not have the capability of searching
for articles within journals.
- Enter the exact title, or one or more
consecutive words of the title of the journal.
- american journal of clinical pathology
- Omit leading articles such as
"A", "An",
"The", "Les", "Los", "El", etc.,
- For many journals, the NLM abbreviations
are searchable.
-
am j clin pathol
- int j pediatr nephrol
- Records for journals available electronically will have a link to the publisher or
vendor's website. No passwords are required.
Note the years covered by the libraries' subscription.
- If you have trouble accessing an electronic journal, please call the
Reference Desk at 656-2201 Mon-Fri 08:30 am-5:00 pm, or the Circulation Desk
at 656-2200, for assistance.
Subject Heading
- Enter a Library of Congress ("LC") subject
heading or Medical Subject Heading ("MeSH"), omitting hyphens.
If you don't know the exact subject heading, you may prefer to use the
"Guided Keyword" search method instead. You may search on a personal
name as a subject.
- cardiology periodicals
- physicians biography
- osler william sir
Call Number
- Enter the exact call number, including
punctuation.
- RC522 .E86 2004
- HE 1.2:C 43/9
Keyword (and, or, not)
- Perform a keyword search by entering words or phrases, and combining them
with the Boolean
operators "AND", "OR", and "NOT". Enclose phrases in quotation marks.
The truncation symbol is a "?".
- (child? or adolescent?) and abuse and "united states"
- ethic? and "palliative care"
- If you'd like to learn more about Boolean operators, check out this web
page from Creighton University:
TOP
Guided Keyword Search
The Guided Keyword search provides greater flexibility
than the Quick Search. It is helpful when the exact title or
author name is not known, or for searching on several closely related
terms.
One or more terms may be entered into each of the three query
boxes. Each search box offers the option to select a relationship between
the terms, i.e., "all of these", "any of these", or "as a phrase". Each
search box also provides the option of dictating the field in which the terms
shall occur, i.e., keyword anywhere, title, subject, author name, standard
number (ISBN or ISSN), or publication facts.
The term(s) in the first search box may be connected to those in
subsequent search boxes through use of the Boolean operators "AND", "OR", and
"NOT".
If you'd like to learn more about Boolean operators, check out this web
page from Creighton University:
http://www.hsl.creighton.edu/hsl/Searching/Boolean_operations.html

TOP
Limits
- Limits apply only to Title, Journal Title, and Keyword searches.
- To set limits from the Quick Search screen, make a selection from the
Title/Keyword Quick Limits drop-down box.
- To limit after running your search, click on the
button on the upper right corner of the results screen. Select limits for language,
location, date, etc., from the drop-down boxes, then click the
button.
- Limits remain in effect until you cancel them or close the session, or the
system times out.
Results
Suppose you do a Quick Search on "williams hematology".
The system will bring up a list of records that fit your search criteria.
The list will be presented in brief form, which includes title, author,
location, call number, publication dates, and other details. To access
more detailed information, click on the link for the desired record.


The records in the Catalog are
created using a standard format, whereby the first section contains generic
information, followed by sections for UVM library holdings. In
some cases there may be more than one record for a particular item.
For example, consider this Catalog record for a book. The first
section provides general facts about the book such as title, author, edition,
publisher, etc., The next section provides information specific to UVM
libraries such as where the item is shelved, its call number, and whether it is
currently available for checkout.
Compare this with a typical record for a journal.
Although journal records are somewhat more complicated because of multiple formats and
different locations, the same record structure is utilized.

TOP
Print/Save or Email results
- Check the appropriate boxes to select records.
- To save selections as you navigate to subsequent pages, click on Retain
Selected.
- To print, email, or save results, scroll to the bottom of the results
screen to the Record Options box.
- Choose the records and download format.
- Click on the appropriate button.
- You can also save the results for later use by clicking Save to Bookbag.
TOP
Patron Information
This feature allows you to:
- view a list of materials you currently have checked out and
their due dates
- renew items
-
place a hold or recall on an item
-
save results to the Bookbag
To access your personal information, log on with your UVM NetID
and password, or your last name and 14-digit UVM barcode number. If you
are using a library computer, be sure to logout and close the browser after your session for privacy.
TOP
To Renew an Item
-
Click on Patron Info on the top toolbar, and log in with your
UVM NetID and password, or your last name and 14-digit UVM barcode number.
-
Check the box next to the item you wish to renew, and click
Renew Items.
-
Note the new due date.
-
Be sure to logoff and close the browser after your session.
-
You may also renew a book by calling the Dana Library
Circulation desk at 656-2200 or sending an email to
danacirc@uvm.edu
-
You will not be able to renew an item if another patron has
placed a Recall on the item, if you have reached the maximum number of renewals,
or if you have a lost item or an outstanding fine. If you are unable to
renew an item, please call the Circulation desk at 656-2200 to resolve the
problem.
TOP
To Hold or Recall an Item
-
If an item you want is checked out, you may
place a Hold or Recall on that item.
- A "Hold" will prompt the Circulation desk to hold the item for
you upon its return.
-
A "Recall" will prompt the Circulation desk to notify the patron to whom the item is currently checked out, requesting that
they return the item.
-
Log on through Patron Info using your
UVM NetID and password or your last name and UVM barcode.
-
To place a Hold or Recall, run a search in the Catalog and
identify the desired item.
-
From the item record, click on Hold/Recall on the top toolbar.
-
Select either Hold or Recall from the pull-down box, and click OK.
-
Indicate at which library you would like to pick up the item,
when the request will expire, and any additional comments.
-
Click Submit Request.
-
Be sure to logoff and close the browser after your session.
TOP
Retrieving items from the LRA
-
The Library Research Annex (LRA) houses
lesser-used items such as duplicate copies, superceded items, and older issues
of journals. Any patron, regardless of affiliation, may request an item
from the LRA.
-
In general, Dana Library journal issues from 1985 or earlier are housed at
the LRA. Before placing a request for material from the LRA, please check
the UVM Libraries Catalog to verify the item's location.
-
To place a request, go to the Dana Library homepage, and click
on Services. Then choose Material from LRA.
-
There is no cost for retrieval of a book or bound journal.
-
There is a $5 charge for a photocopy of a journal article,
payable in cash or via UVM budget number or FAHC cost center number.
TOP
Course Reserves
TOP
For more help
For help in using the UVM Libraries Catalog, or for other
library-related questions, please contact us:
-
Dana Medical Library Circulation desk 802-656-2200, or email
danacirc@uvm.edu
-
Dana Medical Library Reference desk 802- 656-2201 (Mon-Fri, 8:30
am - 5:00 pm), or email danaref@uvm.edu
fd 03/17/06
|