Endnote Basics
What is Endnote?
Endnote is software that can help you organize your references, produce bibliographies, and help in the preparation of papers and grants.
Where to get Endnote
UVM has a campus site license to Endnote. All faculty and staff may download Version 8 or X for free from the UVM software site:
http://www.uvm.edu/software/
College of Medicine faculty and staff should contact COMIS regarding downloading or upgrading Endnote on their computers.
In addition you can get a connection file which will allow you to search and import records from UVM's library catalog at:
http://library.uvm.edu/guides/tips/endnote.html
An online version of Endnote is available at Endnote Web. See Endnote X vs Endnote Web for help in deciding which version to use.
How to Use Endnote – Basic Skills
Establish a library
- Open Endnote
- Choose Create New or Open Existing.
- If you choose Create new, a dialog box will open asking for the name of your new library (*.enl) and where to save it.
- A library box will appear showing 0 out of 0 references.
Note: The library column headings can be altered to better suit your needs. For example, you may want citation information to appear in the library window (e.g., volume, page) rather than journal name or keyword. Go to Edit/Preferences/Display Fields and then choose which fields you want shown and in what order.
Enter references manually
- Go to References/New; choose reference type, (book, journal, etc.) Enter information in appropriate fields.
- Use mouse, arrow or tab buttons to travel between fields. Scroll down, more fields are available.
- . X out of the record when done; it is saved automatically.
Note: Other than capitalization, entries require no special formatting. Carriage returns are the delimiters between multiple authors or keywords.
Import references using Direct Export
OvidWeb (Medline, CINAHL, PsycInfo)
- Perform an Ovid search using UVM's Ovid Web interface.
- At the bottom of the Ovid Main Search page find the Results Manager. Select the set (or the particular citations) you wish to save; choose Citation + Abstract + Subject Headings in the Fields box; and select Direct Export in the Result Format box. Click Save in the Actions box.
- A dialog box will open; choose the Endnote library into which the citations will go.
- Your library will then display just the newly downloaded citations. If you want to view your complete library, go to References/Show All.
Import references from PubMed by connecting through Endnote
Note: You can connect through Endnote only to free and non-proprietary databases such as PubMed, Library of Congress, and most library catalogs. For this example PubMed will be used.
- Go to Tools/Connect. The Choose a Connection File dialog box will open; scroll to find PubMed (NLM). Highlight and click Connect. A search box will open. Type in your search terms, changing fields as necessary. Click Perform Search.
- Review the downloaded PubMed records by clicking OK in the Confirm Remote Search dialog box. Select those citations you want to import by clicking the titles while holding down the Control key, and then click in the box that says Copy References to: and choose your Endnote library.
- Note: You can use that same search capability in Endnote to search for particular citations within your Endnote library. Click on References, then Search.
Note: Citations downloaded from PubMed have URLs associated with them that are deposited in the URL field in the Endnote record. The URL links to the NLM record associated with that reference.
Import references using a text file
Note: this technique is used when you can neither import references by doing a direct export from a database nor connect to a database through Endnote. In that circumstance you can save your results as a text file and use the import command. PubMed will be used as an example.
- Connect to http://PubMed.gov. Perform your search and select the articles you wish to save.
- Change the Display to Medline and the Send to box to File.
- A File Download box will open and the file will be automatically named pubmed-result.txt. When you click Save a dialog box will open; you may rename your file and where you want to save it. Name it anything you want, but always include .txt as the file extension (*.txt).
- Now open Endnote and the Endnote library into which you want to import these citations. Click File, Import.
- The Import File dialog box will open. First, choose your file, and then click on the drop down box in “Import Option.” change the Import Option: Click on the button for options. Choose Other Filters. In the Choose an Import Filter dialog box, scroll to PubMed (NLM).
- Return to Import box and click Import. A box will open indicating that records are being processed. Your library will then display just the newly downloaded citations. If you want to view your complete library, go to References, Show All.
Link to images or PDF files on your hard drive
Note: It's possible to save links in your Endnote library to indicate the location of files on your hard drive or on the Web. Endnote also inserts URLs into records when downloading from some, but not all databases. PubMed and Web of Science are examples of databases that include URLs in downloaded records.
To have Endnote create the link to your local file:
- Choose a record in your Endnote library.
- Right click inside the URL field.
- Click Link to.
- In the dialog box that opens, find the file to which you want the reference to be linked.
- Click OK.
- Endnote will create a path and hot link to that document.
Create bibliographies & writing papers
Note: Upon download, Endnote installs a toolbar in the Word program on your computer that contains common Endnote commands. This communications software allows you to draw citations from your Endnote library into the paper or bibliography you're writing in Word.
To create a simple bibliography
- In Endnote select those citations you want to appear in a bibliography by clicking the titles while holding down the Control key.
- Right click.
- In the dialog box that opens, choose Copy formatted.
- Open a blank Word document and paste citations in. Citations will appear in the Output Style that is set in Endnote and can be changed (see step 6 in Subject bibliographies, below).
Note: Output styles are formatting templates that will apply to both in-text citations and bibliographic entries for all types of references. The “annotated”style is different from the “Chicago” style. If the paper for which you're preparing a bibliography is to be submitted for publication, the journal's Instructions for Authors will indicate which bibliographic style authors are to use.
To create a subject bibliography
- Open an Endnote library.
- In Endnote go to Tools/Subject Bibliography.
- Then choose a field or fields by which criteria you want to structure your bibliography. (In the following example “Keyword” will be used.) Click OK.
- The following window will display all keywords in the database. Choose the keywords you want to appear in your subject bibliography by holding down the Ctrl key as you click each one. You may also 'select all.' Click OK.
- The subject bibliography will appear in the next window. You can alter the layout, the titles included and the Output Style at this point.
- To choose another style choose the Output Style dropdown box and choose Select Another Style. A dialog box will open asking you to choose another output style. If you know the style you want (e.g. APA or Chicago) or the journal name, scroll to it on the alphabetic list. Alternatively, you can sort the list by specialty or field or even by a word in a title (e.g. pathology.)
- If you are satisfied with the style and content of your bibliography, select Print on the Subject Bibliography page and print as you would any other document
- If you are not satisfied, change the style and preview it again.
Write a paper using the library you created
- Open your Endnote library.
- As you write your paper in Microsoft Word and when you are ready to insert your first citation, place your cursor where you want the citation to be placed.
- Still in Word, click on the Tools drop down menu, click on EndNote 8, and then click on Find Citations. In the dialog box that appears type in the author's name or phrase you want to use to find the citation. Click Search.
- When you identify the appropriate reference click Insert. The reference will be inserted into the paper and automatically appended to the end of the paper in a bibliography.
Note: Instant Formatting is turned on by default. This means that each time you insert a citation it is instantly formatted and the bibliography is updated at the end of your document.
Note: You may want to leave your citations unformatted. Unformatted citations are placeholders, generally give the author's name and year, and may be helpful in identifying particular references.
- The in-text citations and bibliography will be formatted according to the output style chosen. If you want to alter the output style you may do so in Word by going to Tools/Endnote 8/Format Bibliography. You must then choose a different output style (see note in “To create simple bibliographies”, above.)
Submit papers for publication or grants
Note: Once you know the specific journal to which you will be submitting a manuscript, you might want to use the template associated with that journal. It provides all the manuscript requirements of that publisher and you need only type in your particulars. The formatting is done automatically. See Endnote/Tools/Manuscript Templates.
Note: Each formatted citation in your Word document contains field codes, which are hidden embedded codes that enable Endnote to format, unformat and reformat citations. Most publishers will require that you remove field codes and supply an electronic copy and a print copy of your submission. Removing field codes is not necessary if you wish to simply print your paper for a colleague.
To remove field codes from your document:
- Open your document.
- In Word, go to Tools/Endnote 8/Remove Field Codes. A copy of the document without the codes will appear in a new window.
- Click Save.
For more help
This covers the basic features of Endnote. This software has many levels of complexity and is easily customized. The Help file is thorough and well-organized, and the Endnote web site (http://www.endnote.com) offers newly-created filters and connection files, as well as excellent support and tips.
If you have questions about using Endnote, please contact:
Angie Chapple-Sokol, Dana Medical Library
656-9396 or achapple@uvm.edu.
9/05
|