Dana Medical Library

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARIES A-Z
DATABASES & E-BOOKS  |  E-JOURNALS  |  REFERENCE  |  GUIDES  |  SERVICES  |  HELP

CINAHL Results

Viewing and selecting citations

The results of your search will be displayed in batches of ten, listed in reverse chronological order (most recent first). From the Main Search Page, click on the Display button for the set you wish to view, or just scroll down to view the first ten results.

The results are provided in brief format, which includes the author, title, source information, publication type, number of references, and accession number (AN). The source information provided in italics is the minimum information needed to locate an article.

To read the abstract of the article, click on the View Abstract button under the citation or the Abstract link on the right margin. Not all articles have abstracts, but when present they are very helpful in determining the content of the article. The "Complete Reference" link provides the full CINAHL record (not the full-text of the article.) It includes many additional fields, including the CINAHL subject  headings that were used to index the article. The subject headings are hyperlinked, and can be used to launch new searches. Many CINAHL records also list the references cited at the bottom of the record, which can be very helpful in expanding your search.

Navigate through the set, checking the boxes on the left margin to mark records you wish to save for printing or emailing. When you are finished browsing the set, click on Main Search Page.  A new set will have been created consisting of the records you selected. 

 

 

 

Print, email, or save results

When you are ready to print or email your saved citations, go to the Results Manager on the left sidebar. Decide which citations you want and the desired fields (the default is Citation + Abstract).  Always check the Include Search History box so you can duplicate your search at a later date if necessary. 

To print the results, click on Print Preview, followed by your browser's print function.  To e-mail or save the citations, click on the appropriate button and follow the prompts. 

 

 

 

Getting the full-text of the article

After reviewing your list of selected citations, you are ready to print the actual articles. In the results display, notice the additional links on the right margin for each citation located below the links for Abstract and Complete Reference.

If the Library subscribes to the journal through Ovid Technologies, it will have an Ovid Full Text link, which will provide access to the full-text (HTML) of the article. The document will include a topic outline, all tables and graphics, and navigational links. The link for the PDF file will provide the article with its original formatting. To view a list of journals subscribed to through Ovid, go to Dana Library's home page and click on Electronic Journal Packages under the Electronic Journal heading.

 

 

 

 

For journals that do not have an Ovid Full Text button, click on the "Find it @ UVM" button to determine if the university subscribes to the journal through other vendors.

 

If the journal is not available online, check the UVM Libraries online catalog to determine if the library has the journal in print. Journals available in print are shelved alphabetically by title in the periodicals section of Dana Medical Library. Unbound issues from the current year will be on the shelves in the lounge area. Journals dated 1985 and earlier are housed in the Library Research Annex, located on Catamount Drive next to UVM Police Services on the east side of East Avenue. 

 

Back to Main Menu

   
UVM Libraries Home  |   UVM Home  |   College of Medicine  |   COMET  |   Fletcher Allen Hospital  
College of Nursing and Health Sciences