Dana Medical Library

LIBRARY CATALOG | COURSE RESERVES | LIBRARY HOURS | LIBRARIES A-Z
DATABASES & E-BOOKS  |  E-JOURNALS  |  REFERENCE  |  GUIDES  |  SERVICES  |  HELP

Introduction to CINAHL

What is CINAHL?

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is an online index to the professional literature in nursing and the health sciences, with selected coverage of medicine, consumer health, and complementary/alternative medicine.  It provides citations, abstracts, and links to online articles, when available.  

CINAHL covers the following disciplines, plus many more:

  • Nursing, including all areas of advanced and specialized nursing
  • Athletic Training
  • Clinical Laboratory Science
  • Dental Hygiene
  • Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physician Assistant
  • Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation
  • Radiologic Technology
  • Respiratory Therapy
  • Surgical Technology

CINAHL facts:

  • CINAHL is available online by license from Ovid Technologies, Inc., a commercial vendor, covering 1982 to present.

  • CINAHL is also available in hard copy in the reference collection at Dana Medical Library, from 1956 to the present.
  • CINAHL indexes over 1800 scholarly and professional journals, many of them peer-reviewed.
  • In addition to journals, CINAHL covers many other types of publications such as books, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, websites, legal cases, software, and audiovisual materials.
  • CINAHL indexes primarily English language materials.

How to access CINAHL

  • Go to Dana Medical Library's homepage
  • Click on the CINAHL link under Databases & E-Books. 
  • To access CINAHL from off-campus, you must be a UVM or FAHC faculty, staff, or student. See the Connect from Off-Campus link on the Dana Medical Library homepage for details.
  • Unaffiliated patrons may use CINAHL on site at Dana Medical Library. 

Back to Main Menu

 

 

 

 

   
UVM Libraries Home  |   UVM Home  |   College of Medicine  |   COMET  |   Fletcher Allen Hospital  
College of Nursing and Health Sciences